English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 September 2018, 14:00   #1
Marle
Pixel Vixen

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 212
Maximum FPS for DPaint Anim on stock A600?

Heya,

A question that's running through my mind at the moment, but what is the maximum FPS that say a Dpaint III animation in lores 320x256 in 32 colours on a stock Amiga 600 (or any other 7MHz 68000 Amiga).

I was thinking it's probably not 25fps!

I can't remember from back in the day. I want to do something which will involve at least animating with a reasonable chunk of that screen.

Thanks!
Marle is offline  
Old 04 September 2018, 15:12   #2
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 42
Posts: 5,638
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
There is Set Frame Rate param, it should be the same on any Amiga, it is not influenced by CPU clock.
Predseda is offline  
Old 04 September 2018, 15:16   #3
Marle
Pixel Vixen

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
There is Set Frame Rate param, it should be the same on any Amiga, it is not influenced by CPU clock.
Thanks - yes I am aware of that, I was just wondering can the Amiga change the entire screen 25fps for the entire 320x256x5 area, or does it actually run slower that what is specified there? To be fair, I don't think I'll be animating a whole 25fps, I was just curious

Thanks!
Marle is offline  
Old 04 September 2018, 18:22   #4
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,582
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marle View Post
Thanks - yes I am aware of that, I was just wondering can the Amiga change the entire screen 25fps for the entire 320x256x5 area, or does it actually run slower that what is specified there? To be fair, I don't think I'll be animating a whole 25fps, I was just curious

Thanks!
Well, animations like these are CPU bound (which does the decoding and drawing). Naturally, exact performance will depend on the complexity of the animation and decoder. However, we can still assume the answer is going to be <25fps.

This is because a 320x256x5 screen is 50kb in memory and the theoretical CPU limit on a basic A600 for copying data to a screen is a maximum of about 17KB/frame*. So, the max frame rate for an animation that changes every pixel is about 16-17fps. Luckily, animations that need to change every pixel every frame are extremely rare. So actual frame rates might get higher.

*) It can write a single 16x1 pattern at rates up to about 34KB/frame, but this is only really useful for clearing the screen.
roondar is offline  
Old 04 September 2018, 22:37   #5
Marle
Pixel Vixen

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by roondar View Post
Well, animations like these are CPU bound...
Thanks roondar that's super helpful, my recollection of Amiga animation was that it did run fluidly enough on a stock OCS/ECS 68000 Amiga but those recollections are from 20 years ago!

Hopefully I will have a chance soon to get on with some animation

Many thanks,
Marle is offline  
Old 05 September 2018, 00:08   #6
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,582
It's not all bad - my figures assume the entire picture gets changed between frames. This is usually not what Amiga animations do. If you look carefully, you'll note that most tend to only update a fairly minor part of the screen between frames, usually less than half the screen.

At which point the frame rate goes up as this is tied to number of pixels drawn
roondar is offline  
Old 05 September 2018, 13:43   #7
Marle
Pixel Vixen

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by roondar View Post
It's not all bad...
Indeed not, my recollection was that Amiga animation was pretty smooth.

I'm not doing this for anything in particular other than to have a bit of fun creating the graphics from one of my favourite animes (neon genesis evangelion) and animate certain segments sort of like a game cut scene demonstration. Although the likelihood is I'll be stitching the demonstration together with Amiga Vision rather than coding a Blitz BASIC specific demo, unless of course I end up going way OTT and creating some kind of demo!

Still mustn't get ahead of myself, I've only got pencil sketches at the moment and that's a long way off having these drawn, coloured and animated even for a short sequence!

Marle is offline  
Old 05 September 2018, 16:43   #8
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 40
Posts: 1,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marle View Post
...Although the likelihood is I'll be stitching the demonstration together with Amiga Vision rather than coding a Blitz BASIC specific demo...
Why you don't use AnimatED 1.52 from Aminet? It is an editor made in Blitz BASIC for playing animations sync'ed with external sound files. It is easy to use and it's way of operation ressembles that of a non linear editor. I guess it does just what do you need.

http://aminet.net/package/gfx/edit/AnimatED1_52

EDIT: Uh, it is for 68020 machines with 2 MB memory or better, sorry. But you can use it on WinUAE like me.

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 05 September 2018 at 22:12.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 06 September 2018, 00:46   #9
Marle
Pixel Vixen

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
Why you don't use AnimatED 1.52 ...
EDIT: Uh, it is for 68020 machines with 2 MB memory or better, sorry. But you can use it on WinUAE like me.
Yep great suggestion, but as you say, 68020+ only. My A600 has 4MB RAM but I have been sticking to keeping it simple with it's stock 68000, my days of running an expanded Amiga are long long behind me and I'm enjoying the fairly apart from RAM and CF HDD standard Amiga experience.

But yes I spotted AnimatED a few weeks ago and thought yay I found a solution and then realised I hadn't, but in another thread someone suggested Amiga Vision which I so happen to have a full copy of from my Amiga 3000 owning days back in the late 90s, so for knocking up something that will load an anim into RAM, play it, wait a few ticks, then load another anim or wait for mouse clicks, it should do the job great!

Thanks for the great suggestion though!
Marle is offline  
Old 06 September 2018, 20:24   #10
scuzz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: New Forest
Posts: 153
I use MainActor and change from Anim5 to Anim8. Also use Main Actor viewer plus DOpus to check animations. Saved MainActor files improve greatly the fluidity of animations. Also gives you the opportunity to save in different screen modes. I have a MainActor key so avoids the popups. Came on a cover disk with Amiga Computing Dec 95 plus VillageTronic Picasso install software.
scuzz is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Future plans for stock A600 Reb New to Emulation or Amiga scene 9 19 March 2018 01:06
Not enough memory for DPaint anim Predseda support.Apps 6 18 January 2013 00:03
FS: White Stock A600 PowerPie5000 MarketPlace 6 21 October 2010 17:44
WTB: Stock, White, A600 unit Smiley MarketPlace 0 23 April 2009 20:39
WTB: Nice *white* stock A600 Smiley MarketPlace 6 12 November 2008 14:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07204 seconds with 15 queries