English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 May 2016, 11:17   #1
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,921
PCMCIA network

Now that we have PCMCIA massstorage and SRAM, could we have network, too? Something which is compatible to either cnet.device or 3c589.device.

Putting an A2065 into an A1200 or A600 is not really authentic, is it?
thomas is offline  
Old 29 May 2016, 12:37   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,576
If PCI NE2000 emulation is close enough to PCMCIA variants. I haven't checked..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 07 June 2016, 17:14   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,576
First requirement: I need config info from any cnet compatible NE2000 PCMCIA card.

Insert the card, don't run any tcp/ip stack (card must stay in unconfigured state), dump address range from $a00000 to $a20000 to a file.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 07 June 2016, 17:25   #4
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,929
How do I dump address?
idrougge is offline  
Old 07 June 2016, 17:53   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,576
For example: download mon165.lha from aminet, run it, type "] a00000 20000 path:to/output/file" (without quotes)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 07 June 2016, 20:01   #6
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,929
Here's a dump from an original CNet card.
Attached Files
File Type: lha cnet.lha (956 Bytes, 87 views)
idrougge is offline  
Old 07 June 2016, 20:19   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,576
Thanks. Contents look perfect
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 08 June 2016, 18:17   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,576
PCMCIA NE2000 emulation works. NE2000 PCI and PCMCIA (and ISA) have identical registers.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 08 June 2016, 18:36   #9
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,168
Would it be worth adding ISA NE2000 emulation for Bridgeboards? [Also, it looks like the Golden Gate 2+ supported NE2000 cards.]
mark_k is offline  
Old 08 June 2016, 19:27   #10
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,439
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
I can sent you a 3com PCMCIA Network card if that's any use (compatible with A1200/A600)
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 08 June 2016, 20:02   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,576
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
Would it be worth adding ISA NE2000 emulation for Bridgeboards? [Also, it looks like the Golden Gate 2+ supported NE2000 cards.]
I guess it would make tiny sense with PC bridgeboards. But usual first step: someone needs to do dos/windows 3.x installation with networking (win95 does not count)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
I can sent you a 3com PCMCIA Network card if that's any use (compatible with A1200/A600)
No need. NE2000 PCMCIA was only added because it was practically identical to existing PCI NE2000 emulation. I don't think I'll bother with yet another totally different network chip.

I also have 3com PCMCIA somewhere..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 08 June 2016, 20:54   #12
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I guess it would make tiny sense with PC bridgeboards. But usual first step: someone needs to do dos/windows 3.x installation with networking (win95 does not count)
Not sure I'll ever get around to that, hopefully someone will though. Microsoft made Internet Explorer 5 for Windows 3.1 if I recall... http://www.hpcfactor.com/downloads/msie/ie50/
mark_k is offline  
Old 08 June 2016, 22:48   #13
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,576
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
Not sure I'll ever get around to that, hopefully someone will though. Microsoft made Internet Explorer 5 for Windows 3.1 if I recall... http://www.hpcfactor.com/downloads/msie/ie50/
I don't need any full TCP/IP stack. Just some program that sends some ethernet packet, it does not even need to be IP packet or need any response.

If transmitted packet contains expected data: it works, done
Toni Wilen is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NE2000 PCMCIA Network JeroenVandezand support.Hardware 0 28 September 2015 14:44
Need help with PCMCIA network card(s) ancalimon support.Hardware 16 31 July 2014 21:57
PCMCIA network problems (again). Thorham support.Hardware 11 14 October 2009 13:52
PCMCIA Squirrel + PCMCIA Network Card tootoid support.Hardware 1 18 April 2007 13:13
PCMCIA Network kit Rogueraven support.Hardware 1 22 March 2006 20:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08029 seconds with 16 queries