English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 January 2014, 15:42   #1
Claz
 
Posts: n/a
Ambermoon help

Greetings,
I'm new to the Amiga scene and I'm having a great time discovering and running an os that is new to me. Unfortunately, back in the 80's/90's I never had the opportunity to experience the Amiga (was always running pc's)

I'm currently running WinUAE via Wine on a Linux box with great success.

Hopefully someone can help me with a small problem I'm having with Ambermoon, which I have been wanting to play for years. Problem is that I can never get the option to load for ceiling/floor textures, otherwise the game runs flawlessly. I have tried with multiple configurations A1200, A4000 and followed the memory/proc/fpu recommendations I've found around the web. I've had great performance with most other games (All the Ishars, DM & DM2, etc)

Any ideas would be appreciated.

Regards
 
Old 11 January 2014, 15:48   #2
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,326
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
click on the disk icon (where you save, and click on OPTIONS. If you use an a1200, you will get the textures floor and ceiling proposed.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 11 January 2014, 15:56   #3
Claz
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the quick reply...I'm sorry I wasn't clear...I do get to the options screen but the option for floor/ceiling texture is "greyed out", I can't select it. I'm figuring there must be a problem somewhere with my configuration.
 
Old 11 January 2014, 16:12   #4
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,326
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
if it's greyed out, this means you use an A500 config.

The floor/ceiling confing is only available to A1200 config and accelerated amigas.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 11 January 2014, 16:28   #5
Claz
 
Posts: n/a
Hmmm...maybe that is why since I'm currently using an A4000 config.
I'll have to try a A1200 config.

Thanks again
 
Old 11 January 2014, 17:46   #6
Claz
 
Posts: n/a
Still no texture option available on an A1200 config. I reviewed all my settings and they match other folks recommended settings for Ambermoon. My A4000 config seems to run the game better all in all. According to the Ambermoon manual the A4000 is supported. Am I missing something here? I'm still an Amiga dummy remember!! I do have a nice workbench installed and I have managed to get some programs installed so I am making some progress...now for this Ambermoon...I'm on a mission. Thanks again for the hep.
 
Old 11 January 2014, 17:52   #7
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,875
Add some Fastram to your config. Or maybe you have not enough Chipram free.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 11 January 2014, 18:02   #8
Claz
 
Posts: n/a
solved



Slap me on this one....the option for textures magically appeared when I entered a 3D area. I was trying to set it when in a 2D area. I guess that answered my question regarding the A4000 compatibility. It works fine with my A4000 config.
 
Old 11 January 2014, 21:06   #9
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,326
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Lol
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 11 January 2014, 22:00   #10
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,132
Was there ever a bug fixed v1.07 to correct all the problems with it? I've seen several 'projects' that attempted to do so but never saw any releases only known workarounds like those on the Thalion Webshrine.
BarryB is offline  
Old 11 January 2014, 23:05   #11
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,246
All the files have been identified and many patches made. The only one available today is the one by Meynef. I'd like to do a 100% English patch but I need some good beta testers to play test all the way through.
alexh is offline  
Old 11 January 2014, 23:29   #12
Claz
 
Posts: n/a
After reading most of the huge Ambermoon thread in the Retrogaming forum I see ya'll have put a lot of effort into de-bugging Ambermoon, especially the English version.

It seems that some have played through the English version with only minor problems, while others have experienced game killing bugs. I'm wondering if it's worth investing my time playing through? I guess for now I'll continue playing, saving often unless something really pisses me off.

I see what some folks were saying about the translations...the first riddle in the cellar really made no sense in English...maybe I'm a bit dense, but it didn't seem like a riddle at all lol.
Onward....
 
Old 12 January 2014, 01:09   #13
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,132
I guess by good beta testers you mean people that have actually completed it and know the game better that a n00b and can be trusted not to leak it!!

Has anyone played Meynefs version enough to verify it fixes the known bugs?
BarryB is offline  
Old 27 February 2014, 20:56   #14
Wolfus
Registered User
Wolfus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Slovakia
Age: 37
Posts: 84
Send a message via ICQ to Wolfus
I am going to to it this year but I don't know when
Wolfus is offline  
Old 27 February 2014, 21:38   #15
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,326
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Ambermoon is the longuest game ever made for an amiga. Even with the solution, you need at least 6 months if not more to finish it. It's as long as a playstation game.

The english version has some bugs which need to be corrected otherwise, some texts with hints you must get aware of are not displayed (text wrongly formatted).

This is what i have discovered when translating the game to french. This has to be also patched in the beta english.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 27 February 2014, 22:04   #16
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,246
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
Ambermoon is the longuest game ever made for an amiga. Even with the solution, you need at least 6 months if not more to finish it.
You really must be a rubbish gamer. ;-) I finished it in about a week first time I played. But I did have the advantage of being able to fast forward the combat sequences as I was using WinUAE
alexh is offline  
Old 01 April 2014, 19:43   #17
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,326
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
i'm playing on a real amiga, you cheater :P !
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 02 April 2014, 10:00   #18
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,246
It was 1998 and I was at University when I played it. No space in my room for a 2nd computer.
alexh is offline  
Old 02 April 2014, 10:36   #19
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,326
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Cheater even lol
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 12 June 2014, 19:03   #20
PiCiJi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: germany
Age: 41
Posts: 265
What I always wanted to know, is it possible to activate floor/ceiling with A500 + 68000 turbo card ?
I wonder if the game checks if 68020 instructions are present to decide if floor/ceiling is available or is it a question of processing power only ?
PiCiJi is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ambermoon frikilokooo Retrogaming General Discussion 648 17 July 2018 20:07
Ambermoon rmcin329 support.Games 17 27 December 2010 23:59
Need help in Ambermoon tralli support.Games 3 05 December 2010 22:01
Ambermoon PiCiJi HOL data problems 34 22 May 2008 15:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08930 seconds with 15 queries