English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > Games images which need to be WHDified

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 December 2007, 03:31   #1
StarEye
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Age: 42
Posts: 987
Ruff'n'Tumble

I hardly want to sound rude, but will this game someday support a second button for jump, like Giana Sisters? It's such a fantastic game that could be even better without having to push up to jump. I figured since it was possible in Giana Sisters, it'd be possible in this as well.
StarEye is offline  
Old 03 December 2007, 05:21   #2
StrategyGamer
Total Chaos AGA is fun!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 873
I second this motion.
StrategyGamer is offline  
Old 03 December 2007, 08:18   #3
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 41
Posts: 3,313
Just map the button to joyup, and presto!.


Jeez, do I have to think about everything ... but then again, I'm so clever.


.


Well, assuming you use WinUAE .
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 03 December 2007, 10:59   #4
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 11,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironclaw View Post
Well, assuming you use WinUAE .
Well, not all of us do

Anyway, agreed, second button support is a great idea.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 03 December 2007, 11:40   #5
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 37
Posts: 2,485
I agree, and I dont use Winuae either
kriz is offline  
Old 03 December 2007, 11:55   #6
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 41
Posts: 3,313
Yet another drawback of not using WinUAE
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 03 December 2007, 14:29   #7
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 37
Posts: 2,485
Well main advantage is that I dont need to see more Windows (after
8hours at work, its enough).
kriz is offline  
Old 03 December 2007, 15:55   #8
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,048
Here's one more for the second button support from a REAL amiga user!
Shoonay is offline  
Old 03 December 2007, 16:17   #9
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 7,956
How would you implement it though?

Would you stop up also activating jump?

If so, you'd have to ensure that up could still be used for climbing ladders and shooting up as well.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 03 December 2007, 16:31   #10
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,875
I want a jump button and 50 fps.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 03 December 2007, 17:33   #11
StarEye
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Age: 42
Posts: 987
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
How would you implement it though?

Would you stop up also activating jump?

If so, you'd have to ensure that up could still be used for climbing ladders and shooting up as well.
Well, in Giana Sisters, it is possible to use both at any time. Up on the joystick isn't deactivated, you just have an second jump button.
StarEye is offline  
Old 03 December 2007, 17:35   #12
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 7,956
Ah right.

With ya now.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 03 December 2007, 22:34   #13
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 3,434
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
How would you implement it though?

Would you stop up also activating jump?

If so, you'd have to ensure that up could still be used for climbing ladders and shooting up as well.
Try Toki with CUSTOM2=1 set, you jump with 2nd button and are still able to climb ropes and such.
Something similar like that would indeed be a great feature.
Toki is a way better experience with controls like that and I know Ruff 'n' Tumble would be too.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 03 December 2007, 22:55   #14
StrategyGamer
Total Chaos AGA is fun!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 873
Can I use a 2nd button on my Sega Genesis control pad? (It has 3 big buttons A, B, C, and 3 thin buttons + a thin start button)
StrategyGamer is offline  
Old 03 December 2007, 23:00   #15
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 11,061
I think that is possible but I'm not 100% sure. You'll just have to try it I guess
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 03 December 2007, 23:20   #16
StrategyGamer
Total Chaos AGA is fun!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 873
My Sega Genesis controllers have always worked with games which naturally support 2 buttons. I have never tried it with a WHDloadified game.
StrategyGamer is offline  
Old 03 December 2007, 23:21   #17
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 11,061
Well I'd imagine it would work if the game was modified to use two buttons with WHDLoad, I doubt there will be any problems.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 06 December 2007, 00:55   #18
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,527
I had a tough time making Toki work this way. I did this to match the arcade version controls. I guess the same stuff could be done on Ruff but yes the "avoid the ladder" part is a pain in the neck.

On the other hand, mapping 2nd button to "up" is rather easy.
jotd is offline  
Old 06 December 2007, 00:57   #19
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 41
Posts: 3,313
So, why not just map jump to second button and leave "up" to "up"... then there's no problem with ladders and stuff... There's no need to remove jump by pressing up.... keep it.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 06 December 2007, 01:43   #20
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 37
Posts: 2,485
I agree
kriz is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ruff `n` Tumble rips gifgit project.Sprites 21 04 October 2017 12:01
Ruff 'n' Tumble Vs. Ruff n' Tumble killergorilla AMR data problems 6 07 March 2007 20:48
Ruff n Tumble killergorilla HOL suggestions and feedback 8 08 December 2006 18:23
Ruff 'n Tumble LaundroMat request.Old Rare Games 6 25 March 2002 13:41
Found -> Ruff 'N' Tumble LaundroMat Looking for a game name ? 13 24 March 2002 23:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13316 seconds with 13 queries