English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware pics

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 January 2006, 00:53   #1
BinoX
Miggy Man
BinoX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cornwall, United Kingdom
Age: 36
Posts: 831
CDTV Project 99% Completed

Sorry if this is the wrong forum, but feel free to move it

My CDTV Specs are now as follows:

Commodore CDTV (in original case) {With replacement outer casing due to height}
Version 2.3.0 motherboard
Version 2.3.0 EPROMs (CDTV custom roms)
Kickstart 3.1
SCSI Controller (Don't know which one)
2GB SCSI Hard Drive
12MB Fast RAM (8MB Elbox expansion + 4MB on accelerator)
68020 @ 16.2MHz (Will be 33MHz when I get a suitable processor)
Running... wait for it... OS3.9 (The goal of the project.. OS3.9 on a CDTV!)


Still to come:
Mini-Mega (Have to buy) {to take it up to 2MB chip ram}
ECS Chipset (Have it, just have to fit it)
Keyboard (Hopefully one from Mick_AKA if he gets back to me )

Optional Extras:
Proper CDTV Mouse (Maybe.. using joypad as mouse for now)
Port converter (So it has standard amiga joystick and mice ports)
Any other accessories I find that I want

Last edited by BinoX; 17 January 2006 at 12:55.
BinoX is offline  
Old 17 January 2006, 01:45   #2
Miggy2TheMax
Junior Member

Miggy2TheMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 41
Posts: 375
neat, I was thinking about doing something similar when I saw a CDTV up for sale. my thought was to use a 520CD http://www.amiga-hardware.com/showha....cgi?HARDID=66
which has KS3.0+ 4way IDE + 8mb ram + 020 @33mhz, btw those things
work great in 500! But then I heard that CDTV does not have a standard joystick port/keyboard port... so I wimped out. Good on you for putting it all together would love to see some shots!
Miggy2TheMax is offline  
Old 17 January 2006, 02:35   #3
BinoX
Miggy Man
BinoX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cornwall, United Kingdom
Age: 36
Posts: 831
Only happy to oblige:


CDTV without it's lid...
The large extra circuit board is the accelerator + 4MB ram and it is attached on top of the elbox 8MB


Just a pic of it running OS3.9
BinoX is offline  
Old 17 January 2006, 04:29   #4
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 2,034
Very impressive CDTV you have there, well done.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 17 January 2006, 09:01   #5
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 46
Posts: 1,536
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
But, but ... how he close the case?
Chain is offline  
Old 17 January 2006, 09:41   #6
TheBoss
Registered User
TheBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 839
Send a message via ICQ to TheBoss
Maybe he can just sit on it and it will work?
cool setup!
TheBoss is offline  
Old 17 January 2006, 10:20   #7
BinoX
Miggy Man
BinoX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cornwall, United Kingdom
Age: 36
Posts: 831
I've made an outer case to go on the top out of tough black acrylic so it'll still all fit under
BinoX is offline  
Old 17 January 2006, 12:48   #8
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
nice going! keep us informed!
keropi is offline  
Old 17 January 2006, 14:20   #9
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,247
Based in Cornwall eh? I am just down the road in Plymouth. I too have a super CDTV.

Latest PROM's
KS3.1
ECS Chipset
2Mbyte Chip (Mini-Mega)
AmiTrix SCSI-TV
2Gbyte 2.5" SCSI drive
CDTV Keyboard, Mouse, Floppy drive
Graffiti GFX card

I've also got an A500 030 accelerator which replaces the 68000 CPU which I may or maynot fit.

I did want to try to replace the CD drive with a tray loading one, but never found if there was one.
alexh is offline  
Old 17 January 2006, 14:25   #10
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,247
You got a CD drive from an ACORN RISC PC there?
alexh is offline  
Old 17 January 2006, 15:39   #11
BinoX
Miggy Man
BinoX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cornwall, United Kingdom
Age: 36
Posts: 831
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh
You got a CD drive from an ACORN RISC PC there?
Afraid not... Why?
(I will see if I can find one somewhere)
BinoX is offline  
Old 17 January 2006, 16:16   #12
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,247
No the Amiga 2000 below your CDTV looks like it has an Acorn RISC PC CD drive in it, because they have those rotating shutters over the drive bay
alexh is offline  
Old 17 January 2006, 16:55   #13
BinoX
Miggy Man
BinoX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cornwall, United Kingdom
Age: 36
Posts: 831
Not a clue I'm afraid then.. heh..

I got the A2000 very recently and it was already in it...
The only thing I've done on that is replaced the 68EC030 at 40MHz with a Full 68030 at 50MHz...

Got a good deal on it though
Swapped it for a P4 2.4GHz processor that's been sitting on my shelf for the last year
BinoX is offline  
Old 03 February 2006, 12:05   #14
BinoX
Miggy Man
BinoX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cornwall, United Kingdom
Age: 36
Posts: 831
New Picture...

Badly fitting prototype casing now semi-fitted.

Mouse and keyboard on the way
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Image(79).jpg
Views:	2981
Size:	85.0 KB
ID:	10118  
BinoX is offline  
Old 01 March 2006, 18:54   #15
Felix
Music at its Best
Felix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 42
Hi BinoX

I recently got a A solid state A5000 020 accellerator off ebay in a amiga 500+ and don't know much about this accelerator Ive looked on the net and posted messages asking for help on a amiga hardware newsgroup and they have forwarded me onto you which I can see that you have one fitted in your amiga CDTV

Does it need any driver software?
Have you got a manual for it?
and any other information would be gratefully recieved?
Felix is offline  
Old 01 March 2006, 23:13   #16
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 35
Posts: 2,731
Was I the only one to assume this would be something about CDTV emulation being worked upon in WinUAE?

Still, very impressive set-up you've made there, BinoX.
MethodGit is offline  
Old 01 March 2006, 23:20   #17
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 8,941
Considering it is in the prb.hardware section and not winuae section I'd guess it wasn't cdtv emulation
BippyM is offline  
Old 12 July 2006, 00:59   #18
BinoX
Miggy Man
BinoX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cornwall, United Kingdom
Age: 36
Posts: 831
CDTV Project The Continuation

For those that remember my upgraded CDTV a while ago... a new, blurry, pic of the inside has been taken..



The subway has been detached for the photo as it's clipped to the top case...

(Yes.. the subway DOES work on an 020.. just slowly very slowly... unusably so really.. but it does work... it's only on there 'cause I pinched it off the A1200 motherboard I sent to bippym heh)
Will be updating to an 030 when I get the chance..
BinoX is offline  
Old 15 July 2006, 20:14   #19
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
I've found your other thread and merged them together. Also moved to the new ‘prb.Hardware pics’ forum
Paul is offline  
Old 15 July 2006, 21:47   #20
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
wow, the new case rox!
keropi is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has anyone actually completed Project-X without cheating? diablothe2nd Retrogaming General Discussion 25 07 April 2013 01:00
Has anyone completed Transarctica?? patoch support.Games 7 21 January 2012 10:40
WTB: CDTV laser, or CDTV drive, or CDTV chiark MarketPlace 15 09 February 2010 12:04
A1200 Restoration & Hot Rod Project- Completed TheCorfiot Hardware pics 17 17 September 2008 14:19
Anyone completed Pang? Dalai support.Games 24 12 January 2002 20:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09184 seconds with 14 queries