English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 May 2013, 01:42   #1
direktorn
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 21
WinUAE and IP/DHCP

Hi,
I have used bsdsocket emulation in the past and that works great for outbound traffic.

Now I'd like to create inbound traffic, meaning I'd have to give my WinUAE emulator a DHCP address or a fixed address on my LAN

I have tried A2065 and ueanet emulation but have not had any success at all getting online.

None of them are able to request a address from my DHCP server nor allow me to enter a fixed IP.

Will these emulation methods create a bridged interface on my NIC (Ethernet not wifi) or is there some NAT involved on the host windows box?

I have installed Winpcap.
direktorn is offline  
Old 09 May 2013, 09:09   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,570
bsdsocket should work with inbound connections. IP is shared with Windows side.

A2065 and uaenet are network drivers, they are useless without Amiga side TCP/IP stack installed.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 09 May 2013, 10:35   #3
direktorn
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
bsdsocket should work with inbound connections. IP is shared with Windows side.
So how does that work? I can access any open port on my amiga using the PC IP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
A2065 and uaenet are network drivers, they are useless without Amiga side TCP/IP stack installed.
Of course, without a TCP/IP stack how did you expect I would manage to send a DHCP request?
direktorn is offline  
Old 09 May 2013, 10:39   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,570
Quote:
Originally Posted by direktorn View Post
So how does that work? I can access any open port on my amiga using the PC IP?
Yes. (Which also means port must be free in Windows size)

Quote:
Of course, without a TCP/IP stack how did you expect I would manage to send a DHCP request?
You said only "<a2065/uaenet> does not allow fixed IP". That does not make much sense, does it?

winpcap stuff rarely works without second NIC that does not have Windows assigned IP.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 09 May 2013, 11:38   #5
direktorn
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Yes. (Which also means port must be free in Windows size)
Understood.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
You said only "<a2065/uaenet> does not allow fixed IP". That does not make much sense, does it?

winpcap stuff rarely works without second NIC that does not have Windows assigned IP.
I said I didn't mange to set a fixed ip, that's a bit different from what you wrote If I would use Miami (My prefered stack) it did not get any answer on the DHCP req, nor would it allow me to specify a fixed IP (Just says I'm not in the same subnet)

I'm trying to get telnetd.device working and so far without luck. I changed to AmiTCP and need to see if I'd can use bsdsocket emulation there.
direktorn is offline  
Old 10 May 2013, 21:25   #6
direktorn
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 21
I'm stuck. Has anyone managed to get telnetd or amiser to work within WinAUE using bsdsocket.library? They both require AmiTCP and I have no clue on how to get amitcp running when the bsdsocket.library already exists in memory.

I have also tried A2065 and ueanet but without success using a separate (wifi) nic on the windows side where I have disabled all services on the nic to avoid conflict. Wincap is installed (latest version)

Running latest beta on Windows 7 64-bit.
direktorn is offline  
Old 10 May 2013, 21:33   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,570
Quote:
Originally Posted by direktorn View Post
I'm stuck. Has anyone managed to get telnetd or amiser to work within WinAUE using bsdsocket.library? They both require AmiTCP and I have no clue on how to get amitcp running when the bsdsocket.library already exists in memory.
I guess they need TCP: handler.

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?p=267888

Quote:
I have also tried A2065 and ueanet but without success using a separate (wifi) nic on the windows side where I have disabled all services on the nic to avoid conflict. Wincap is installed (latest version)

Running latest beta on Windows 7 64-bit.
AFAIK winpcap only support wired nics. (and only way to debug this is to run wireshark on another PC)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 10 May 2013, 21:53   #8
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 648
I think what he is really saying is he wants a virtual UAE adapter windows side ala virtual box bridged mode style.
Vot is offline  
Old 10 May 2013, 21:59   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,570
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vot View Post
I think what he is really saying is he wants a virtual UAE adapter windows side ala virtual box bridged mode style.
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=745002&postcount=9

(and don't say virtualbox is open source. It won't help.)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 10 May 2013, 22:00   #10
direktorn
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I guess they need TCP: handler.
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?p=267888
They'd need to be initiated on inbound connections and afaik the emulated bsd can't do that. There are no services or deamon that listens to port 23 and could forward that traffic to the fake serial device that the BBS programs would use.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
AFAIK winpcap only support wired nics. (and only way to debug this is to run wireshark on another PC)
Could be true, tried to reverse my NICs on the win box, letting my WiFi belong to windows and the fixed nic to winuae, still fails. I'm able to load the NIC driver (ethernet.device, a2065.device) in AmiTCP but when i try to add a default route it just says it cant find that address. Can't ping any address on the LAN either (with the correct subnetmask) so something is not happening as far as ethernet packets. What should I run to debug for example the a2065 driver "emulation" in WinUAE? Should i try to sniff packages from winside?
direktorn is offline  
Old 10 May 2013, 22:01   #11
direktorn
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vot View Post
I think what he is really saying is he wants a virtual UAE adapter windows side ala virtual box bridged mode style.
Yes that would be really nice I'm really used to Vmware ESX servers and sub-interfaces is a nice thing
direktorn is offline  
Old 12 May 2013, 01:10   #12
direktorn
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 21
Guess WinUAE is not really for the hardcore TCP folks.
direktorn is offline  
Old 12 May 2013, 01:40   #13
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 50
Posts: 1,549
Quote:
Originally Posted by direktorn View Post
They'd need to be initiated on inbound connections and afaik the emulated bsd can't do that. There are no services or deamon that listens to port 23 and could forward that traffic to the fake serial device that the BBS programs would use.
From my poor understanding of BSDsocket and TCP in general, is that BSDsocket emulation in Winuae is an always on thing (if active) within Winuae.

Now, if the Operating system is loaded (AmigaOS), and the BBS software is loaded, then it will be listening on Port 23 (IF it supports Telnet). Any incoming packets forwarded to the host PC by the router (if that is your network setup of choice) will be picked up by BSDsocket and passed to AmigaOS (As well as other programs listening to that port, Amiga or Windows), now this is the issue here, TelnetD needs AMITCP to work, but you cannot have a TCP stack (AmiTCP), as well as BSDSocket emulation, conflict (and hair pulling) ensues. Think about it, you cannot have TWO programs listening to the one port at any one time (or Devices), they start to have arguments as to who gets to respond and it all falls over in a heap.

My guess is TelnetD needs to be rewritten (or updated) to recognize the fact that there are other TCP stacks, than just AmiTCP for it to work in an emulated environment.

Last edited by whiteb; 12 May 2013 at 01:51.
whiteb is offline  
Old 12 May 2013, 02:19   #14
direktorn
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 21
There is nothing wrong with telnetd.device, it requires to be activated from a TCP stack deamon, inited and that is a regular UNIX listening service used by loads of linux tcp/udp services. bsdsocket.library has nothing to do with listening ports, its just a layer.

If you want to run Apache on your Amiga in WinUAE or any other services you rely on inted. bsdsocket does not have any of these functions.

And I have not got A2065 or ueanet to work, nor any help. There are no documentation around this at all so I have no place to look for ideas about how this actually works.
direktorn is offline  
Old 12 May 2013, 09:57   #15
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,570
Apache does not need to be a service. AFAIK telnet drivers can also work without being a service that gets automatically started by amitcp. It also may be possible to use amitcp service stuff with uae bsdsocket emulation.

"Documentation" = search this forum. There is at least one large thread about a2065/uaenet debugging using wireshark.

I don't really care about network software side and network is "unsupported" without enough debug logging, sorry. (because this winpcap method is ugly hack but there is no other easy ways)

ADDED: I have heard WinUAE + telser (or similar serial emulation handler) has been used by others successfully with bsdsocket emulation.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 12 May 2013 at 12:03.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 12 May 2013, 23:11   #16
direktorn
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 21
I have searched to forms for telnetd.device and a2065 and even the whole internet as i normally search before asking questions, been surfing the net for almost 20 years.

Understood, if we like networking we are on our own, fair. But is there a thread about someone has actually got it to work, there are, a number of threads about telnetd.device but only two talks about it in contest of WinUAE and the last one is 5 years old. Maybe it's not working well together with Windows 7? I do not know, the only think i know is that none of the TCP stacks I have tried on the amiga side works for me with either a2065 or ueanet!
direktorn is offline  
Old 13 May 2013, 09:38   #17
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,570
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=58393 should help with a2065/uaenet debugging.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 13 May 2013, 13:38   #18
direktorn
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 21
Have seen that thread, enable logging with -netlog has been done.

Snippings:
wpcap.dll 4.1.0.2980
uaenet: WinPcap version 4.1.3 (packet.dll version 4.1.0.2980), based on libpcap version 1.0 branch 1_0_rel0b (20091008)
uaenet: detecting interfaces
rpcap://\Device\NPF_{9C167C3A-2CA8-4EEF-B8C6-49036B6B3067}
- Network adapter 'Microsoft' on local host
- MAC 94:DB:C9:A9:72:F7 (0)
rpcap://\Device\NPF_{C6554638-A6DC-418E-A5D0-3BB7457B7EC3}
- Network adapter 'Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller' on local host
- MAC 00:01:2E:49:62:95 (1)
uaenet: end of detection


55-050 [0 000-000]: A2065: 'rpcap://\Device\NPF_{C6554638-A6DC-418E-A5D0-3BB7457B7EC3}' 00:01:2E:49:62:95

44-136 [2739 000-000]: winuae_inactive(0)
2013-05-13 12:29:02
02-122 [3806 000-155]: winuae_active(0)
06-866 [4081 045-044]: A2065: Initialization block2:
06-866 [4081 045-044]: .00.00.00.80.10.49.62.95.FF.FF.FF.FF.FF.FF.FF.FF.38.80.E9.80.18.80.E9.40
06-867 [4081 045-044]: A2065: 0000 000000 0 0 16 4 E98038 E98018 00:80:10:49:62:95
06-868 [4081 045-044]: uaenet_win32 initialized


Rpcap reports two NICs, and the A2065 emulation seems to use the right card ('Realtek').

Where would my netlog go? Can only find two logs, boot and winuae but the log parameter is correct:

EXE: 'C:\Program Files (x86)\WinUAE\', DATA: 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\Amiga Files\WinUAE\', PLUGIN: 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\Amiga Files\WinUAE\'
'-netlog'
params:
1: '-netlog'


Last edited by prowler; 13 May 2013 at 23:18. Reason: Added <noparse></noparse> tags.
direktorn is offline  
Old 13 May 2013, 13:56   #19
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,570
-a2065log -a2065log2 is also needed (It is possible -a2065log was -netlog previously)

All log information goes to winuaelog.txt.
Toni Wilen is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 0.9.92 "WinUAE 1.0 public beta #3" Released! Jim News 2 23 December 2004 12:29
WinUAE - HD, and WinUAE Beats me Mr.B support.WinUAE 19 26 October 2003 18:49
WinUAE 0817r3-GUI dissappears/ WinUAE freezes. 7-Zark-7 support.WinUAE 2 23 December 2001 15:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09834 seconds with 15 queries