English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 March 2013, 21:52   #1
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 47
Posts: 834
Network troubles

So I have Sky Internet at hime, and recently-ish we had to get a new router as the old one died.

However, it seems the new router does not support 10Mb/sec wired, nor "amiga-speed" wireless.

So I was thinking of trying to hook it up against the iMac and get access through that route, but I'm kinda lost as to how. Now, I CAN just download whatever on the iMac and burn to a CD to take over to the Amiga (got a SquirrelSCSI with a nice external SCSI-unit, which also double as the main Amiga PSU) but it's a bit of a hassle, especially when you could just download directly.

Any ideas for solving?
Doc Mindie is offline  
Old 19 March 2013, 11:43   #2
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 47
Posts: 834
Okays... I've got an idea, but don't know where to start. I've got an old laptop, with a serial port on it. It also have a 10/100MBit NIC. Is it possible to SLIP into the laptop and use it as a gateway for wider access to the World Wild Web?

And how?
Doc Mindie is offline  
Old 09 April 2013, 11:32   #3
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 47
Posts: 834
Noone?
Doc Mindie is offline  
Old 09 April 2013, 14:50   #4
Cymru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Dorathea/AT
Posts: 371
Network troubles

How can the router not support 10 Mbps? What is Amiga-speed wireless?

Could you send us the make and model of the router to check?
Cymru is offline  
Old 09 April 2013, 16:04   #5
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 46
Posts: 863
He could get cheap wired network switch which supports 10/100Mbps.
Do you mean wireless "Amiga speeds" as 11b instead 11g/n, mabe is time to upgrade the wireless card to 11g which is 54Mb.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 09 April 2013, 16:45   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Mindie View Post
nor "amiga-speed" wireless.
I'd guess this is more likely "amiga-encryption" wireless (a.k.a. WEP). Have you tried the new prism2.device V2 which supports WPA/WPA2?
thomas is offline  
Old 10 April 2013, 13:16   #7
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 47
Posts: 834
the router is Sagemcom F@ST2504n.

It refuses to connect the Amiga with Wired 3com 3CXE589DT card, but connect the PC Dull laptop fine with the same card.

The wireless card is the same one as provided with EasyNet Wireless from AmigaKit.com

Both cards connects and work perfectly with the redmond 2k commercial virus, but refuses to connect with MiamiDX, Genesis AND Easynet from the Amiga.

I've tried open (unecrypted) wireless as well, as that would work with the old DLink router (also from Sky) but no luck whatsoever with the new Sagemcom
Doc Mindie is offline  
Old 10 April 2013, 18:17   #8
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 47
Posts: 834
Hmmm... I've seen on another site someone trying to use a PC with a bridged sollution as a gateway (PC connects wirelessly to router, then connects with crossover ethernet to the Amiga, the two card on the PC get's "bridged" )

I was wondering if there's a possibility of going the "other" way, ie, cabled connection to router, then wireless PC<->Amiga?
Doc Mindie is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AVIOutput troubles Dr.Venom support.WinUAE 4 30 May 2004 14:04
MCP troubles..? Error support.WinUAE 11 22 January 2004 10:57
WinUAE troubles Error support.WinUAE 0 14 January 2004 21:38
C64 GS troubles Tony Landais support.Hardware 11 24 April 2003 00:57
Plus/4 and C16 troubles Tony Landais Retrogaming General Discussion 6 13 April 2003 00:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07332 seconds with 15 queries