English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 December 2019, 13:53   #61
agermose
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Odense / Denmark
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
It's looking excellent agermose, a real treat for the Amiga this and I love that you take the time to do short and sweet dev updates.

Keep it up!
Thanks Mcgeezer, your Rygar thread was the inspiration for the "diary".
agermose is offline  
Old 29 December 2019, 20:46   #62
agermose
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Odense / Denmark
Posts: 42
New video showing animation of enemy planes.
Player plane is now small at the start of stages. Loop animation is still missing.
[ Show youtube player ]
agermose is offline  
Old 05 January 2020, 21:57   #63
agermose
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Odense / Denmark
Posts: 42
New video showing collision detection between enemy planes and player plane/bullets.
Collision check is done using "bounding box" overlap check. Needs a bit of tweaking when 4 bullets powerup is done, and when enemy bullets are done.
[ Show youtube player ]
agermose is offline  
Old 05 January 2020, 23:28   #64
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by agermose View Post
New video showing collision detection between enemy planes and player plane/bullets.
Collision check is done using "bounding box" overlap check. Needs a bit of tweaking when 4 bullets powerup is done, and when enemy bullets are done.
[ Show youtube player ]
DamienD is offline  
Old 07 January 2020, 00:37   #65
agermose
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Odense / Denmark
Posts: 42
Playing the real game I realized my scroll speed was too fast. Slowed it down to only scroll every other frame, instead of every frame.
agermose is offline  
Old 13 January 2020, 01:29   #66
agermose
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Odense / Denmark
Posts: 42
More problems today. Mapped the last levels into tiles and to my horror discovered they use a few extra colours. Need to figure out what to do.
Removing colours using Personal Paint's "less colours..." removes the wrong ones,
Perhaps I will need to work with multiple palettes in the game.
agermose is offline  
Old 13 January 2020, 02:15   #67
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 1,259
You need probably some batch processor like ADPro and the superpalette feature; will choose all most used colors from each tileset image
saimon69 is offline  
Old 13 January 2020, 16:39   #68
sparhawk
Registered User

sparhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Essen/Germany
Age: 51
Posts: 247
Looks really cool! Just like the arcade.

I like the idea of using the raster bars for getting some information about the framerate, because I want to do some game myself, and was wondering how I can best visualize stuff like that, so that is a cool idea, I like to borrow.
sparhawk is offline  
Old 13 January 2020, 17:54   #69
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by agermose View Post
More problems today. Mapped the last levels into tiles and to my horror discovered they use a few extra colours. Need to figure out what to do.
Removing colours using Personal Paint's "less colours..." removes the wrong ones,
Perhaps I will need to work with multiple palettes in the game.
Using multiple palettes will be less convenient, but might allow a better look per level. If it is indeed based on individual levels, I'd probably opt for a "palette per level" approach.
roondar is online now  
Old 15 January 2020, 02:33   #70
agermose
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Odense / Denmark
Posts: 42
Spent a couple of days analysing colour usage in all the levels.
Turns out the last levels use 20 colours which is too much.
Decided to merge some colours, which looks decent.

All set to test everything in the game, and then AsmOne reports out of memory.
Background tiles are 111k so I should have plenty of room.
I changed the configuration to 8Mb chip/no fast to work with the large PNG files. Should not be a problem but maybe related.
agermose is offline  
Old 15 January 2020, 07:47   #71
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,533
AsmOne on an emulator ? maybe it's time to switch to a cross assembler like VASM. I switched from Barfly to vasm a few years ago I'm not regretting it.
jotd is offline  
Old 15 January 2020, 09:12   #72
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,639
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
AsmOne on an emulator ? maybe it's time to switch to a cross assembler like VASM. I switched from Barfly to vasm a few years ago I'm not regretting it.
This ^^^

The old saying applies here... "A stitch in time saves nine"

How to set-up an Amiga dev toolchain on Windows, just watch the slides and ignore the arsehole in the top right corner.

[ Show youtube player ]
mcgeezer is online now  
Old 15 January 2020, 09:56   #73
sparhawk
Registered User

sparhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Essen/Germany
Age: 51
Posts: 247
I have created a project which uses bebbos compiler suite and VASM with CMake. It also provides a library (which you can ignore if you don't need it) with utillity functions.
The goal was to make cross development easy to setup, and also includes example projects to illustrate how to create projects either with C/C++ or VASM or mixing both.

https://github.com/skeetor/amiga-utils
sparhawk is offline  
Old 15 January 2020, 10:24   #74
Steril707
Tigerskunk!

Steril707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 1,261
+1 for VASM here.. the amount of time this will save you in the future will be large..
Steril707 is offline  
Old 15 January 2020, 11:39   #75
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,598
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
[...] just watch the slides and ignore the arsehole in the top right corner.
[ Show youtube player ]
You're right. I even ask myself how he was able to set-up this toolchain

Last edited by malko; 15 January 2020 at 23:54.
malko is offline  
Old 15 January 2020, 13:20   #76
agermose
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Odense / Denmark
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
AsmOne on an emulator ? maybe it's time to switch to a cross assembler like VASM. I switched from Barfly to vasm a few years ago I'm not regretting it.
Yes I know, check out the initial post.
I’m running on Linux and vasm does not have a release for my current OS.
Will look into it when I have updated the OS.
agermose is offline  
Old 15 January 2020, 18:20   #77
phx
Natteravn

phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 1,566
Quote:
Originally Posted by agermose View Post
vasm does not have a release for my current OS.
$ make CPU=m68k SYNTAX=mot

Done.
phx is offline  
Old 15 January 2020, 19:08   #78
Nightshft
Registered User

Nightshft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Austria
Age: 44
Posts: 301
Here somebody wrote a short article about compiling vasm for Linux (couldn't test it as I use Win).

Edit: actually he sets up vbcc, so I guess only the first few steps are needed, which matches with phx's post.
Nightshft is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 00:14   #79
agermose
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Odense / Denmark
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightshft View Post
Here somebody wrote a short article about compiling vasm for Linux (couldn't test it as I use Win).

Edit: actually he sets up vbcc, so I guess only the first few steps are needed, which matches with phx's post.
Thanks everybody. Will give it a go later.

Right now I'm making really great progress on the maps, and want to keep focus on it.

The AsmOne memory problem was due to lack of Fastram. Switched back to 2+6 Mb, and it works fine again.

I have now extracted all the background data (there are 9 different stages), made them into tiles, removed the tiles that contained sprite data, which leaves me with 695 unique tiles. The arcade only has 512, so the number is higher than expected. Maybe there are some flipping done on the arcade which gives the higher number.
After removing the tiles with sprite data the map of tiles has a number of "holes" in it where the sprite data used to be. These will have to be replaced with the real tiles.

32 colour palette is fixed for all stages and integrated into the game.

All technical issues now resolved for the background, and fixing up the holes in the maps is now the main thing left. This is still a big (and tedious) task.

Time flies, and 2 out of the projected 6 months have now gone.
Lots of work to do in the enemy sprite and patterns area.
This is probably the next thing to proceed with.

Still looking for someone to get the music done. Sound effects is in progress (Nightshift).
agermose is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 00:24   #80
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,528
Well done so far agermose

Stick at it; we all believe in you and know you'll succeed

...who cares if it takes longer than you originally thought; all projects go this way to a certain degree, depending on numerous uncontrollable factors
DamienD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1942 monitor mabus MarketPlace 4 20 March 2009 21:27
Schematic diagram of an Amiga 1942 or Amiga 1940 monitor Vaclav support.Hardware 0 18 May 2006 06:18
Any good 1942 conversions? Maverick Retrogaming General Discussion 9 04 September 2005 01:40
Looking for Battlehawks 1942 micktheodor request.Old Rare Games 1 03 September 2004 13:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09381 seconds with 16 queries