English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 November 2019, 05:50   #1
digitalMedic
Registered User

digitalMedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Michigan/US
Posts: 48
Question The Real-HD A357 & Gotek

Hi all,

I have an AT A4000T that has an A357 HD floppy drive in it. Today, I added a Gotek drive. I have tried various ways of installing these two and both do not seem to want to play nice together.

I tried the following:

1. A357 as DFO and I have it plugged into the first connector on the floppy ribbon cable. The Gotek is plugged into the end connector on the floppy ribbon cable. The cable has a twist on what appears to be pins 4 & 6. When I have it set up like this, I can only use the A357. The Gotek LED lights up whenever the DF0 floppy reads or writes.

2. The Gotek as DF0 (middle cable connector) and the A357 as DF1 (end connector with wires 4&6 twisted). When using it like this, the A357 doesn't do anything. It does not even try to read a disk when I insert one. If I change the jumper on the Gotek to DS1, then DF1 pops up on the WB, but it says "DF1: unreadable".

Anyone have any ideas what I am doing wrong? I have read a couple things online and I cannot see where my mistake is.

Thanks,
Rick
digitalMedic is offline  
Old 22 November 2019, 09:27   #2
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 721
Have you checked at the jumper settings?:

http://l8r.net/technical/t-floppydrives.shtml
solarmon is offline  
Old 22 November 2019, 15:46   #3
digitalMedic
Registered User

digitalMedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Michigan/US
Posts: 48
I have not seen that page. I will try those suggestions. A different page (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=30042) I found said that the middle connector was for DF0 and the end connector was for DF1. Lots of conflicting info.
digitalMedic is offline  
Old 23 November 2019, 08:11   #4
digitalMedic
Registered User

digitalMedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Michigan/US
Posts: 48
Unhappy

I am at a loss. I went to the site posted in the reply above and tried setting up the drives that way. No matter how I have these drives configured, I cannot use the Gotek and a floppy drive in my A4000T. I have tried using the Real-HD A357 with the Gotek, and a standard Amiga DD internal floppy (Sony brand, no drive ID jumper obviously visible) with the Gotek. Neither work together. I have attached two photos of the cable that came with the machine. It does not look like cables I have read described. I am beginning to wonder if it is part of the problem.

Anyone have any more insight?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20191122_233330.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	842.6 KB
ID:	65268   Click image for larger version

Name:	20191122_233323.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	1.01 MB
ID:	65269  
digitalMedic is offline  
Old 23 November 2019, 09:05   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,608
That cable is supposed to be used with an unmodified PC drive..
Jope is online now  
Old 23 November 2019, 09:43   #6
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 721
You didn't say anything about the other mods to the cable, which would have been helpful!

As Jope says, the cable is for an unmodified PC drive.
solarmon is offline  
Old 23 November 2019, 14:09   #7
digitalMedic
Registered User

digitalMedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Michigan/US
Posts: 48
Sorry about that. I assumed it was made that way for the A357 . I appreciate both of you helping!

What should a normal Amiga floppy cable look like? Do I need to get one with the 3&6 wires crossed, or the one with the 3&6 and the other pair (can't remember which pair...10&12?) crossed?
digitalMedic is offline  
Old 23 November 2019, 14:59   #8
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 721
You need a floppy cable with just 4 to 6 twisted.

pins 4 and 6 are the 'in use' pins - i.e. for the floppy activity LED. So actually, a straight floppy cable should also work, just the the LED status on the floppy may not work properly.

Note that this twised floppy cable is not the same as a PC floppy cablre with 10 to 16 twisted:

https://forum.amiga.org/index.php?topic=58185.0
solarmon is offline  
Old 23 November 2019, 15:04   #9
Kin Hell
Registered User
Kin Hell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 715
@ digitalMedic

Does the Floppy Drive have a small PCB on the back of it?

Kin Hell is offline  
Old 24 November 2019, 01:49   #10
digitalMedic
Registered User

digitalMedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Michigan/US
Posts: 48
Yep, it has that exact add-on PCB. Thanks to everyone's help, I was able to get the two floppy drives working together in my A4000T.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20191123_112255.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	750.4 KB
ID:	65286   Click image for larger version

Name:	20191123_112300.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	805.3 KB
ID:	65287  
digitalMedic is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internal Gotek problems with real external DF1 scam3r support.Hardware 6 19 December 2017 02:18
GOTEK A500 SOUND MOD LOOK AT ME IM A REAL BOY ! er... FLOPPY 3160550 Hardware mods 13 07 September 2017 15:07
a357 Reel HD Compatibility Pheonix support.Hardware 0 08 February 2017 08:04
Wanted: Amtrade "The Real HD-Drive A357" RedskullDC MarketPlace 1 07 September 2016 01:50
GOTEK Floppy Emulator: Covert ADF to real floppies? c0dehunter support.Hardware 7 29 May 2016 21:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09593 seconds with 16 queries