English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 April 2016, 19:22   #1
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 47
Posts: 834
Someone should set up a "Large Drive Installation Guide" really

Well... since there ISN'T one (and I've used search three times using various terms), I will have to ask if I've missed anything:

I will be performing a clean install on a HD I have lying around, somewhere between 20 and 120 GB. This will be connected to the internal 2.5" IDE port of the A1200

I gather I should make a "boot partition" first, something like 250MB to house things like SCSIPatch (do I need that with PFS3AIO? For the size of me drive?) and have the rest of the drive as one big unit?

Is that feasible?

Do I NEED the scsipatch? (Toni Wilen's on Aminet, IIRC) Or should it be enough with just PFS3AIO/PFS3ds?
Doc Mindie is offline  
Old 10 April 2016, 19:52   #2
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,929
http://thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.de/4gb_faq.html
idrougge is offline  
Old 10 April 2016, 22:56   #3
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,608
There's so many faqs on the net about this that it's not even funny. We also have a large hard drive sticky here on prb.hardware.

1) use pfs3aio with the dostype PDS\3 0x50445303
2) your boot partition may be up to 7.8GiB in size when using PFS3aio, it can be smaller too.
3) you need to load a patched scsi.device in your startup-sequence to enable the rest of the partitions. The one by Toni et al is what I'd use.
Jope is offline  
Old 11 April 2016, 17:49   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=61666 + http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=45491 should do the trick.
Akira is offline  
Old 14 April 2016, 14:31   #5
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 47
Posts: 834
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Thanks mate, though not excactly what I was looking for... I'm well aware of the numbers and calculations, but I wanted a step-by-step guide to actually installing the HD in an actual A1200 and make it work.

Kinda like...

Step 1: First make sure you have the software and patches needed. PFS3AIO, scsi.device patch, spatch etc. lha, lzx unarchivers
Step 2: Get it to your Amiga from your PC or Mac. If you're lucky enough to have a CD-ROM working on the Amiga side, simply burn a CD with all the neccessary software and patches on the PC/Mac, then go to your Amiga.
Step 3: Prepare the HD on the Amiga. In my case, I put the WB3.1 Install diskette in DF0: and power-on the Amiga, then create a small-ish (100 - 250MB) partition for Workbench
Step 4: Install the CD-ROM drivers. I have a SurfSquirrel interface with a SCSI-DVD-drive connected.
Step 5: Insert the CD-ROM you created in Step 2, then unpack the PFS3AIO, scsi-device, and other tools you might need. FOLLOW THE README FILES FOR EACH PACKAGE TO INSTALL THEM CORRECTLY!

HINT: copying lha and/or lzx to C: is a good idea anyways, many other utilities (like DOPUS) expect to find the (un)archivers here.

Step 6: From here on, I'm in uncharted territory. It is from this step onward I would have liked a step-by-step guide

Last edited by Doc Mindie; 14 April 2016 at 14:32. Reason: confused my numbers :lol
Doc Mindie is offline  
Old 14 April 2016, 16:05   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,608
Then it would be a step-by-step guide for your particular system and the world would have one more step by step guide that won't fit the next asker. What happened to the joy of discovery and reading docs + manuals? :-)

What is it that you're having the most problem with?

You'll need:
- loadmodule (from the archive on aminet)
- a patched scsi.device suitable for your particular system (get a suitable one pre-patched off the classicwb hdf)
- pfs3aio (from the archive on aminet)
- system-configuration (just to get a 80col screen, devs directory on the install 3.1 floppy)
- hdtoolbox (hdtools directory on the install 3.1 floppy)
- a format command (system directory on the install 3.1 floppy)

Unpack what's needed, stick all of those files into the root of a bootable floppy (use the install command to make a floppy bootable), power down, attach your hard drive/mem card, boot from the floppy and start on your journey. If you're using an emulator, then the floppy is and adf file, it could also be a directory on your host OS which you just mount as a hard drive in the emulator..

So let's learn how to do this for real instead of having yet another step by step tutorial?
Jope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WB 1.3 HD installation prob: "key-1 out of range" Rick Dangerous support.WinUAE 11 04 April 2015 02:32
"Antheads" will not run from HD installation (WinUAE) adalsgaard support.Games 4 25 November 2014 10:51
Can we start an "Optimising Workbench/Your Amiga (A Guide For Novices)" thread? vroom6sri support.Other 4 16 January 2014 11:06
The "Match a500 speed" Option only works if CPU is set to Mc68000. Sp_ support.WinUAE 9 15 December 2008 18:36
"HDF emulation" for large single-file binaries (e. g. demos) andreas request.UAE Wishlist 2 11 June 2007 02:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07225 seconds with 15 queries