English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 December 2017, 10:09   #161
sink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: france
Age: 47
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbl007 View Post
Yeah, you did it. Now it works and it looks great. I lowered is the corner size a bit and now it looks perfect with lores forced and line doubling disabled.
I already liked this kind of shader in retroarch with libretro-fsuae core and now I can use it with fs-uae directly, many thanks.
hooo yess thank that work like a charm, i have used mask 6.0 !!
sink is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 December 2017, 22:06   #162
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 122
Now a couple of different shaders that have something in common:

They shouldn't work correctly on this XML shader platform.

But i gave it a thought since they are quite prominent and found a solution for the (in)famous RA texture/fbo chaining.

The code improvement (more a "Eureka!" trick) is limited, but sufficient.

Something about shaders. Scalefx9 likes simple graphics (PD games...), super-xbr-6p quite the opposite (Turrican...).

PS: the dreamscape shaders now look as intended (mentioned trick was implemented). But tastes differ and i'll leave the old versions on previous page.

Edit: small improvement of the scalefx shaders.

Edit: fixed rogue pixels in scalefx9.

Edit: dreamscape shaders less blurry and gamma corrected.
Attached Files
File Type: rar super-xbr-6p.rar (4.6 KB, 60 views)
File Type: rar dreamscape.rar (16.5 KB, 44 views)
File Type: rar scalefx-aa.rar (6.0 KB, 52 views)
File Type: rar scalefx9.rar (5.5 KB, 49 views)

Last edited by guest.r; 30 December 2017 at 18:08. Reason: Shader update.
guest.r is offline  
Old 15 December 2017, 20:13   #163
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 122
Good news for folks who like the ntsc shader.

I have manage to port it from RA (using some tricks).
Otherwise it uses float framebuffer for first pass, absence of the options of it (like here) turns the image very pink, no way around that.

The FS-UAE version is therefore slower, has better horizontal filtering, similar artifacting and jittering is removed.

I have tried some other ntsc shaders, some are very bulky, some run on cpu (blargg's). So i think The Maister's version is the best option.
Attached Files
File Type: rar ntscm.rar (2.1 KB, 38 views)
guest.r is offline  
Old 13 April 2018, 20:24   #164
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 122
... i saw the deleted post.
The only independant DosBox emulator which allows xBR+Lottes is Daum from Ykhwong, no way around that unless Dugan changes to the framework, which allows multipass shaders.

Anyway, set scaler to normal3x (forced)...

Edit: forced scaling reminder, modified shader version, should look better now.
Attached Files
File Type: zip xBR3x+Lottes-Dosbox-Daum.zip (5.0 KB, 34 views)

Last edited by guest.r; 14 April 2018 at 20:01.
guest.r is offline  
Old 13 April 2018, 23:17   #165
torturedutopian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: France
Posts: 97
Ahah, thank you so much :-) Indeed I had removed my previous post because I thought it was offtopic and also because the dosbox fork I was referring to didn't support multipass shaders (duganchen)
Gonna test it ASAP, thanks
torturedutopian is offline  
Old 13 April 2018, 23:53   #166
torturedutopian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: France
Posts: 97
Okay, as I couldn't build the Linux version of dosbox-daum I used dosbox-daum via Wine !
It seems to work but there's something strange. 320x200 games appear correctly with the pixel shader. However, the DOS shell, using an higher resolution, is unreadable, I have to type without seeing the result (despite scale3x) and for instance it seems to misbehave with games using nonstandard resolution ?

Take JazzJackRabbit. Menu is displayed properly. Ingame pic is kinda "zoomed" ; I can only see a portion of the screen.
Doom is perfectly displayed, for instance.

Might be due to wine !

Edit : oh, I have one more request :-) I noticed this xbr+lottes has some visible vertical lines or threads or raster --- sorry I can't find the proper English word. Maybe that could be reduced by applying xbr scaled 3 times or xbrz6 or... another similar one which would be optimal in your opinion, before applying crt-lottes ? :-) Maybe xbrz6+lottes would do it ? Thanks again !!

Last edited by torturedutopian; 14 April 2018 at 01:26.
torturedutopian is offline  
Old 14 April 2018, 00:13   #167
torturedutopian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: France
Posts: 97
Hmm, regarding those issues applying shaders depending on the source resolution, I found 3 different cases :

- so with dosbox-daum, pixel shaders are properly applied only to 320x200 it seems ; higher resolution are unreadable
- however when using DosBox via RetroArch and applying shaders, it seems the shader are applied to an already upscaled picture, which gives a blocky picture -- blockier than it should ! It should be woraroundable by disabling the internal dosbox scaler...
- the third case I stumbled upon is when applying shaders to the duganchen fork of dosbox. Here for some reasons, the shader is properly applied whatever the app resolution is : the DOS shell characters look great with the shaders applied and lowres games look good too. Problem is, it doesn't support multipass shaders.

Well, we have a similar issue with FS-UAE -- we need 2 distinct shaders depending on the resolution.

Last edited by torturedutopian; 14 April 2018 at 01:28.
torturedutopian is offline  
Old 14 April 2018, 14:31   #168
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 122
I got the "unreadable" situation when i don't apply "forced" with scalers.
So best use forced scaling.

If this doesn't work then it's a Wine issue, can't help here, because it works as intended in Daum under Windows.

Don't forget to customize the #define values to your liking though...

Enough OT for now.
You can send me a pm if you need any more help/ot shader.
guest.r is offline  
Old 07 May 2018, 19:03   #169
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 122
Guys at libretro (aliaspider) has managed to make xBRZ even faster and arbitrary, which means it will work as intended at any scale.

It should work on crapy machines fullspeed i guess, perfect Intel material...
Compatibility issues report (Linux) is welcome.
Attached Files
File Type: zip xbrz.zip (3.3 KB, 35 views)
guest.r is offline  
Old 10 May 2018, 13:23   #170
jbl007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Leipzig/Germany
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by guest.r View Post
Compatibility issues report (Linux) is welcome.
The shader works well with mesa 18.03. Performance is somewhere in between older xbrz4x and xbrz6x.
Some benchmarks with a very crappy Radeon R230 in low-res with warp mode enabled:
Code:
(no shader)        725 FPS 
xbrz                59 FPS
xbrz4x              76 FPS
xbrz6x              32 FPS
xbr-super           14 FPS
xbr-super-lottes     6 FPS
jbl007 is offline  
Old 10 May 2018, 21:48   #171
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 122
There might be something going on with the drivers, maybe they don't like multipass solutions.

Do you have Gallium too...? Sry Linux noob here.

This made me curious and i tested it on a crappy gf 8400.

Code:
xbrz4x:     11 FPS
xbrz6x:      5 FPS
xbrz:       31 FPS
I guess that should do for Intel iGPUs too.
If not, please let me know.
guest.r is offline  
Old 16 May 2018, 14:35   #172
Zeraphine
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 19
I have put some shaders in "Data/Shaders/" but they dont work. Every time i get an error with:

- Failed to link Shader pass
- Error occured while loading shader

What am i doing wrong?

I am using the last Dev version!
Zeraphine is offline  
Old 16 May 2018, 14:45   #173
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,121
I have them all in E:/FS-UAE/Shaders/

so

Code:
shader = E:/FS-UAE/shaders/xyz.shader
works fine in advanced settings works fine.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 16 May 2018, 19:11   #174
Zeraphine
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 19
It dont work, strange ^^
Zeraphine is offline  
Old 17 May 2018, 19:24   #175
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 122
Maybe you should try the portable version. Worked every time with my setup.

Meanwhile i have developed a crt shader which emulates the dotmask bloom and shows nice mild artifacts too.

Should display well with most games...

It's also a proof-of-concept that dotmask bloom can be emulated quite decently through the "phosphor cells".

Screenies:







Edit: Decent code cleanup, also a speedup and better looking.
Attached Files
File Type: zip crt-classic.zip (2.7 KB, 23 views)

Last edited by guest.r; 19 May 2018 at 11:13. Reason: Screenies, improved version
guest.r is offline  
Old 17 May 2018, 19:55   #176
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,121
I like your crt-easymode-halation.shader for FS-UAE. Could you please add a "saturation" option?
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 17 May 2018, 21:13   #177
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
I like your crt-easymode-halation.shader for FS-UAE. Could you please add a "saturation" option?
NP, here you go!
Attached Files
File Type: zip crt-easymode-halation.zip (2.9 KB, 26 views)
guest.r is offline  
Old 17 May 2018, 21:27   #178
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,121
Works great!
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 18 May 2018, 14:45   #179
CCRider
Registered User

CCRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: São Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 40
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to CCRider
Are any of those most recent ones working on FS-UAE for Mac yet, or still depending on some kind of update on FS-UAE Mac port?
CCRider is offline  
Old 18 May 2018, 18:46   #180
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCRider View Post
Are any of those most recent ones working on FS-UAE for Mac yet, or still depending on some kind of update on FS-UAE Mac port?
Recent shaders shouldn't have any specific issues i guess, maybe with some nitpicky drivers like AMD Linux for example - they had some.

If a shader doesn't compile right you can look under Cache/Logs and see what the issues/errors are in the fs-uae.log.txt file. It should exist somewhere...
guest.r is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shaders Zeraphine support.Amiga Forever 0 23 May 2016 23:23
Looking for dithering shaders for FS-UAE switchblade support.FS-UAE 1 28 July 2015 18:13
CG Shaders Enverex support.FS-UAE 2 05 October 2014 18:51
fx Shaders in WinUAE 2.6.0 crazy46guy support.WinUAE 8 16 June 2013 14:30
Using shaders with FS-UAE on Ubuntu [Solved] DaveMB support.FS-UAE 2 14 October 2012 15:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09222 seconds with 16 queries