English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 May 2018, 22:32   #1
Stl75
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Russia
Posts: 58
HDF File in WinUAE...

Hello to all...

What is in WinUAE -
after any error -
corrupt .hdf file???

In next starting OS -
text - in DH0 -
not a DOS disk...

If with errors worked -
real Amiga - to many
guys in hospital...???

How in made - work
with .hdf files - is normal???
Stl75 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 May 2018, 09:11   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,524
Not enough information but it is most likely normal.

- it is formatted as OFS? OFS corrupts if drive is larger than about 50M.
- >1G partition hardfile (no RDB): don't do it unless you are 100% sure what are you doing, there are of limits and adjustments to do.
- >4G RDB hardfile: same.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 04 May 2018, 10:53   #3
Stl75
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Russia
Posts: 58
File system - broken very often...
Maybe made - for stable???
If had any error -
with load/save -
broked hard file -
with 100%...
Formatted file -
to standart file system...
Size - 2000 mb...

Last edited by Stl75; 04 May 2018 at 10:59.
Stl75 is offline  
Old 09 May 2018, 19:39   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,524
You really need to include much more information if you want any useful answers. But obviously it is something in your system or the way you do it because there are no other similar reports in this forum.

Start with max 999M unless you are sure there are no other problems but it still sounds like you didn't format it as FFS. How did you EXACTLY formatted it?

Also remember that something like 500M drive was huge back in the day.

If you still have problems, include also winuaelog.txt. (enable checkbox in misc panel).
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 09 May 2018, 20:17   #5
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 46
Posts: 2,328
There was issue with 1024MB (1GB), 2048MB (2GB) where WinUAE would not work correctly for some reason with HDF. I am not sure if that got resolved in some old WinUAE releases.
Anubis is offline  
Old 09 May 2018, 20:21   #6
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,137
I have been using for many years HardFile from 2, 4 and 6 GB and I've never had a problem.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 09 May 2018, 20:33   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,524
Thats why I said: don't use >1G partition hardfiles unless you know what are you doing.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 May 2018, 19:30   #8
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: DigitalCorruption/iNT
Posts: 142
Totally agree with what Toni typed. Mine is 32GB... WinUAE, X5000, and real Amiga 4000(T) using CompactFlash. For advanced usage ONLY. Stay with small if you don't understand Amiga RDB and Filesystem info much or are practicing. It'll also mean less headaches.
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDF file - corrupt... Stl75 support.WinUAE 5 06 March 2018 20:42
Booting from an HDF File ? Washac support.FS-UAE 3 30 January 2018 10:14
Non booting .hdf file in winuae 1.4.6 No1 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 16 March 2008 22:52
hdf file is full, what to do? lostfriend New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 04 August 2005 13:09
Amiga HD->HDF file rattus support.Hardware 10 16 March 2003 22:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06789 seconds with 15 queries