English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 October 2018, 01:13   #21
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,863
The red plug referred to is in the read me on the v1.5 disk and it's the cable that connects to the monitors composite in from the 25pin plug you get with the VBS, it's used to see the video signal from the VCR when you switch the monitor to CVBS, think it's use to see the quality of the signal to the VCR.
BarryB is offline  
Old 18 October 2018, 01:30   #22
nexus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 642
maybe its the VCR used?
or tapes going bad?
i never used these VHS backup systems
maybe try using a old VCR before any copyguard circuitry etc
autotracking etc
and make sure heads are clean
also does the VHS speed setting matter here?
nexus is offline  
Old 18 October 2018, 04:39   #23
dalek
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NSW/Australia
Posts: 225
Maybe both your cables are bad? I came across some schematics too in case you haven't seen them:
(EAB FTP) Commodore_Amiga/Collection/BBS/Alfred_Amiga_Console_BBS/Tools1/VBS-BEST.LHA
(EAB FTP) Commodore_Amiga/Collection/BBS/Alfred_Amiga_Console_BBS/Tools6/VBSINTER.LHA


And more info in this link:
http://www.hipooniosamigasite.org/am...10/VideoBS.doc

The bit about hitting pause on the VCR when the file list comes up could be useful?
dalek is offline  
Old 18 October 2018, 21:47   #24
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,863
This is the PCB in my VBS:



Main IC has been scratched to remove info and 3 of the other resistors/caps bottom left look to be soldered with the info underneath so you can't see it! Pin 1 is at the top and only pins 3, 7, 9, 10 are connected!
BarryB is offline  
Old 19 October 2018, 22:14   #25
sizetwo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Kristiansand
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
This is the PCB in my VBS:



Main IC has been scratched to remove info and 3 of the other resistors/caps bottom left look to be soldered with the info underneath so you can't see it! Pin 1 is at the top and only pins 3, 7, 9, 10 are connected!
Thanks for the info. I tried the original cable that came with the VBS software. Also a home built system I bought, that both yield the same result. Should be strange if none of them are working, though... I opened the original and I found the red cable not to be connected in the original version I have, so Im guessing its correct. I actually soldered it back on as I thought it was incorrect. But I got the same result ...
sizetwo is offline  
Old 22 October 2018, 13:50   #26
sizetwo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Kristiansand
Posts: 14
Well I appreciate all the input in this thread. As its clearly not meant to be - it can be closed. Thanks for all the ideas on how to get this to work! Some things are meant to be in the past, I guess.
sizetwo is offline  
Old 22 October 2018, 14:41   #27
project23
Used Register

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Liverpool
Age: 35
Posts: 288
Such a shame I love these old tape based backup solutions... They seem so silly now, but they're so cool when you think about it, heh.
project23 is offline  
Old 22 October 2018, 23:34   #28
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 35
Posts: 600
I hoped to see the happy ending.. I used VBS back in the days. In 2016 I uploaded to the Zone software that I used. It's still to be found on eab ftp if it could make any difference..
but maybe you could check your Amiga for viruses(not kidding).
Cobe is offline  
Old 05 November 2018, 22:28   #29
sizetwo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Kristiansand
Posts: 14
OK final update on my end.

Once again thanks so much to all the input - I tried it all (and VirusZ didnt find any viruses). I figured I would give it one last chance. Same hardware, but I replaced the fonts folder, and that might have done the trick. I thought I had done that before (well I did try two different harddisks with different WB installations). I also added a few folders from the Classic WB folder I had on one of the partitions; to be honest I dont know what did it - but it works! I am currently being able to retrieve the FILES. Oh my god. Its restoring, the program doesnt crash, and it says Tape: Running OK - creating files&directories. To be honest I have no idea why its working now, but it is. So Ill just leave it and let it do its thing.

I am so happy - you have no idea the time (and frankly money) Ive spent to get these files back. And the fact that I dont know what fixed it (I think its replacing the fonts folder with the one included in the Classic WB install, but again, I copied a lot of stuff over to the WB partition, so it could be something else altogether).

Again - thanks to everyone! I appreciate the time and effort you all put into this, trying to find a solution. Im sorry I dont exactly know how and why its working now, but the main point is that it is. Couldn't be more happy.
sizetwo is offline  
Old 05 November 2018, 23:08   #30
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by sizetwo View Post
- but it works! .
WooHoo!
Congrats!
desiv is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apollo 1260@100 crashes the system Kppot support.Hardware 18 17 November 2018 14:01
Video settings backup, how? Quagliarulo support.Hardware 6 15 May 2011 01:03
Backup Directories/Volumes/System amigakit.com Amiga scene 4 26 January 2010 00:58
Amiga.org crashes my Ibrowse 2.4 A1200 DDNI support.Apps 0 18 June 2008 17:31
Click Video Magazine Issue 1 (Amiga/Atari ST/PC) online! P-J Retrogaming General Discussion 25 10 March 2007 18:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09786 seconds with 16 queries