English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 October 2018, 11:18   #1
sneckburger
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Wakefield
Posts: 40
Simon the Sorcerer CD32 on A600?

My 4 year old daughter loves this game, but reading all the dialogue to her is a bit of chore.
I'd like to get the CD32 talkie version working on my A600 with a Furia card, 3.1 ROMS & 3.1 Workbench. Is it possible or does it require the AGA chipset?


I have a bare A1200 with an ACA1221ec and a ide compact flash card but would I need further upgrades i.e. ROMS etc.
sneckburger is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 11:49   #2
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,787
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
the CD32 version is in 256 colors mode (AGA). Simon ECS doesn't exist in CD version.
dlfrsilver is online now  
Old 12 October 2018, 12:24   #3
sneckburger
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Wakefield
Posts: 40
Hi.
Thanks for the reply. I thought as much, wasn't sure though.
So how do I get the CD32 version working on the A1200?
I have
[simcd32 [Simon the sorcerer CD32 floppy bootdisk (i.e run on A1200). An .iso file of the original cd.adf]
[Simon the Sorcerer - Amiga CD32.rar]
I'd be grateful if someone could explain on how to get it to run with the talkie working. :-)
sneckburger is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 13:29   #4
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 761
Maybe what you are looking for :
[ Show youtube player ].

Forgot to mention that a lot of interesting stuffs are on Gibs' site .
His e-mail on this page (don't know if still valid...)

Last edited by malko; 12 October 2018 at 15:10.
malko is offline  
Old 14 October 2018, 00:08   #5
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneckburger View Post
Hi.
[...]
So how do I get the CD32 version working on the A1200?
I have
[simcd32 [Simon the sorcerer CD32 floppy bootdisk (i.e run on A1200). An .iso file of the original cd.adf]
[Simon the Sorcerer - Amiga CD32.rar]
I'd be grateful if someone could explain on how to get it to run with the talkie working. :-)
Do we have to understand that you already play it with cd32emu BUT without the "talkie" working ?
Maybe you already red another EAB thread ?...
malko is offline  
Old 15 October 2018, 10:41   #6
sneckburger
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Wakefield
Posts: 40
I bought a whdload 4gb CF card off ebay. There was a folder containing CD32 games and Simon was in there but it plays as text on screen not talkie.
I’m on and off learning (time permitting) on how to prep my own card with WHdload, but realising it’s not that straight forward if you’re new to all this.
For now though I’d just like to get Simon working on talkie mode.
.
I'll check out that thread as I haven't read that one... When I get the chance.
sneckburger is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 00:20   #7
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneckburger View Post
I bought a whdload 4gb CF card off ebay. There was a folder containing CD32 games and Simon was in there but it plays as text on screen not talkie.
I’m on and off learning (time permitting) on how to prep my own card with WHdload, but realising it’s not that straight forward if you’re new to all this.
For now though I’d just like to get Simon working on talkie mode.
.
I'll check out that thread as I haven't read that one... When I get the chance.
Check also the linked video (7z archive to download). Did it just for fun because your question piqued my curiosity...
I have no plugged computer, thus I have made the video "unplugged" with WinUAE.

As you can see, it works with the "talkie" (sad I didn't find a French version with English talkie... Anybody ? just PM me ).
On the video you can read the used startup-sequence as well as where I found the needed informations.

Don't take the video as a final result. My PC is not what we can call a "beast" (so there are slowdowns in the animation & sound. Not so much if we consider that the PC emulates an Amiga 1200 which emulates an Amiga CD32) .
malko is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 03:19   #8
Aladin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: France
Posts: 220
@sneckburger
maybe check your AHI configuration
Aladin is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 09:30   #9
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 761
It must be said, however, that there is a lack of information.
The game has music and I think the dialogues go through the same "channel"....
Maybe the used iso has no speech at all ? But again a maybe...
@sneckburger : check the video, provided links, try and let us know with as much as details as you can as we don't have a crystal ball (except perhaps for Toni ?? )
malko is offline  
Old 18 October 2018, 09:25   #10
sneckburger
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Wakefield
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by malko View Post
It must be said, however, that there is a lack of information.
The game has music and I think the dialogues go through the same "channel"....
Maybe the used iso has no speech at all ? But again a maybe...
@sneckburger : check the video, provided links, try and let us know with as much as details as you can as we don't have a crystal ball (except perhaps for Toni ?? )

Thanks for the video. I see what you mean with the slow down.
This looks like it needs a bit of work to get going then.
I'm a little lost on what was going on as there seemed to be a pre-set up script or something that looks like I'll have to copy?
Unless that's on the ADF floppy boot file I have?
Also do I need a CD32 emulator program to run Simon cd32 then? I thought it would run straight up if you could just emulate the cd drive?


Sorry not had any time to play around with it at home lately, but I'll come back to this when I get the time.
Alex
sneckburger is offline  
Old 19 October 2018, 01:13   #11
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneckburger View Post
Thanks for the video. [...]
You're welcome

Quote:
Originally Posted by sneckburger View Post
[...] This looks like it needs a bit of work to get going then.
I'm a little lost on what was going on as there seemed to be a pre-set up script or something that looks like I'll have to copy?
Unless that's on the ADF floppy boot file I have? [...]
I don't know your system, but I would say that your ADF floppy disk should contain the needed files to emulate the CD32.
Compare the startup-sequence that is on your floppy with the one you can see on the video.
Do you see differences ?
With the help of the italian site (see address on the video) check that you have the required files in L:, LIBS:, C: and DEVS:

Quote:
Originally Posted by sneckburger View Post
[...] Also do I need a CD32 emulator program to run Simon cd32 then? I thought it would run straight up if you could just emulate the cd drive?[...]
If you launch it from a CD32 ISO, yes. Again, check your ADF floppy disk and compare the startup-sequence with the one on the video. Any differences ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sneckburger View Post
[...] Sorry not had any time to play around with it at home lately, but I'll come back to this when I get the time.
Alex
Do it when you have time. Your daughter is only 4 and we all have a real life apart from the Amiga
malko is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Simon the sorcerer cd32 talkie klapdeur Games images which need to be WHDified 12 22 April 2013 12:33
WTB: Simon the Sorcerer CD32 mk1 MarketPlace 0 01 October 2008 20:05
Simon the Sorcerer CD32 messyhead request.Old Rare Games 16 18 June 2008 17:17
Simon the Sorcerer Cd32 (talkie) Theformula request.Old Rare Games 6 27 February 2008 22:19
simon the sorcerer cd32.. poppe support.Games 18 20 February 2006 21:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07196 seconds with 14 queries