English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 December 2017, 00:29   #1
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,768
CD32-SX32 Problem Hard Disk

After so many years I wanted to try mine CD32/SX32 and I noticed that on the SX32 the battery had lost acid. Removed the battery CD32 and the SX they work fine but the hard drives are no longer seen by the system. Tried to replace the hard drive but HDToolbox can not correctly detect HD and can not save changes "Error 4 In Drive Description"

Test with CD Bootable [ Show youtube player ] (HD 1,3 GB)

Test with CD Bootable [ Show youtube player ] (HD 1,3 GB)

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 23 January 2018 at 01:03.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 11 December 2017, 09:17   #2
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 844
Probably the Hardrive has corrupted,they do if not used for many years, why not swap the old 2.5" one for a compact flash ? just set one in winuae and that will solve your problem
supaduper is offline  
Old 11 December 2017, 11:52   #3
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,768
Thanks for the reply, i have tested other HDs with the same result, all HD on WinUAE work well and they boot

[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 11 December 2017, 12:43   #4
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 679
Given where the battery has leaked in relation to the IDE connector, have you checked the traces from the IDE connector?
xArtx is offline  
Old 11 December 2017, 13:04   #5
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by xArtx View Post
Given where the battery has leaked in relation to the IDE connector, have you checked the traces from the IDE connector?
It seems that IDE connector was not influenced by acid, see screenshot.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 23 January 2018 at 01:03.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 11 December 2017, 23:57   #6
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 596
Might look at the cable. Did you use the same IDE cable when connecting to WinUAE?
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 12 December 2017, 00:53   #7
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,768
No, on WinUAE i used this Box i will try to replace the cable as soon as I find one.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 12 December 2017, 13:41   #8
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 679
There are scratches across IDE port traces, and work done to the board there.
It couldn’t be seen in the photo nothing is wrong. There are also traces on the other side of the PCB.
A multimeter that can do continuity test (beep test) seriously costs less than $5 on eBay.
It would be worth the difference between “it seems something”, and just “something”.
xArtx is offline  
Old 12 December 2017, 17:31   #9
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 596
Another thing to check would be the power adapter. Using an older drive like that tended to push near the power limits of what a cd32 could handle. CF/flash cards use a lot less power, so they really are more ideal for this machine.
th4t1guy is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DEVS:kickstart problem on CD32 (no hard disk) nittamituaki project.WHDLoad 11 04 March 2012 12:42
Problem installing a Hard Disk on my A600 garryg New to Emulation or Amiga scene 6 16 August 2008 19:03
CD32+SX32+WB CDDA problem Rochabian support.Hardware 4 16 April 2008 19:59
CD32+SX32 problem booting CD32 discs Rochabian support.Hardware 6 28 February 2007 21:36
Hard disk problem with A1200 Hideki support.Hardware 6 21 January 2007 17:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.96457 seconds with 15 queries