English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 April 2011, 02:56   #1
tygre
Returning fan!

tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 543
Problem running Apache: bad user name www

Hi all!

I would like to run Apache on my Amiga (1200, 68040, OS 3.1 either real or WinUAE) but I run into a puzzling problem: I always get the error message "httpd: bad user name www" when running "httpd" (from either binary archives that I found on Aminet: 1.3.12 or 1.3.41). What is it that I am doing wrong?

I also tried to hook Apache to Miami as described on http://www.xs4all.nl/~albertv/apache...20with%20Miami but when I access "localhost" in IBrowse, IBrowse just keeps waiting for an answer from the Web server forever.

Please, could somebody help me?

Thank in advance!
Yann
tygre is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 April 2011, 10:08   #2
OverDose
Lover of teh classic
OverDose's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 128
I'm only familiar with apache running on unix. Normally, Apache process (httpd) and associated files are owned by the user www or something similar. Not sure how this would work on the Amiga as there are no users. Presumably, it just runs.
The other part is once httpd is running is you need it to respond to tcp/ip packets on port 80 (or whichever port you have it listening on). This means you need an TCP/IP stack up and running.

Looking at the link you've given, I'm wondering if something needs adding here:
Database:

Under services, add an extra entry as follows: Name: http ID: 80 Protocol: tcp
Under hosts, you may need to add an extra entry as follows: IP address: 127.0.0.1 Name: localhost
(the IP address 127.0.0.1 loops back to your own machine, i.e. the localhost).
Under networks, add the following: Name: loop ID: 127 Aliases: loopback
Under INETD, add: Service: http Socket: stream Protocol: tcp Wait: nowait User: root Server: apache:httpd
(if you have installed the Apache httpd executable file elsewhere, change the server location! Mine is in an assign called apache:, yours might not be.)
Users: you might need to add a user, as Apache didn't seem to work without this. I added user: brett, and under Home dir, added root.
Groups: as with users, you might need to add something here - I added a group called brettgroup, and made brett a user.

Specifically, adding the http service on the default port of 80, and making sure there are entries in hosts (wow, this is old school stuff), adding a user www under Users and maybe a group called www under Groups.

If you have another computer on your network, I would try pinging your amiga's IP, and then try telnetting on port 80.

I'm very curious to see how you get on, as this is a project I have often considered.
OverDose is offline  
Old 21 April 2011, 16:10   #3
tygre
Returning fan!

tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 543
Hi OverDose!

Thanks a lot... Unfortunately, these are the step that I followed closely, including the part about creating a user... still no luck... I will keep investigating and keep you posted!

Any other idea/advice?

Take care!
Yann
tygre is offline  
Old 26 April 2011, 20:42   #4
tygre
Returning fan!

tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 543
Hi OverDose!

I just give Apache another try and got it to work! I am using Apache v1.3.41 from Aminet. It seems that my problem came from the IXEmul.library: I had a file "ENVARC:IXEmul.prefs" that seems to have led to problems, which Apache reported as "Bad user name www"... So so error reporting but it works after removing this file!

Take care!
Yann
tygre is offline  
Old 27 April 2011, 02:22   #5
OverDose
Lover of teh classic
OverDose's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 128
I have downloaded, and unarchived. But my problem at the moment is no ethernet driver! Also need to configure tcp/ip stack. So, maybe a few more days. I am also having issues with my 3.9 install and cybergfx... so slowly, slowly.
OverDose is offline  
Old 28 April 2011, 05:18   #6
tygre
Returning fan!

tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 543
Hi OverDose!

Let me know if I can help you, I finally managed to get everthing up and running, thanks to the help of many EAB users ... Have a look at http://www.shingu.yann-gael.gueheneuc.net/ (This page is only available from 7:30 to midnight, Montreal time, because I switch off the wireless emitter at night...)

Take care!
Yann

Last edited by tygre; 29 April 2011 at 03:30. Reason: Typo and URL
tygre is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WHDload 17.1 problem with user input Fieldday project.WHDLoad 10 27 February 2013 08:54
Problem or user error please? Mclane support.WinUAE 12 01 July 2010 13:27
Returning user - Problem with RGB Out to Scart Reaper_FBB New to Emulation or Amiga scene 13 03 March 2008 14:40
Desert Apache Solid Snake request.Old Rare Games 6 17 May 2006 10:46
Problem with bad hunk files on WHDload Peanutuk support.Apps 12 01 August 2004 18:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06151 seconds with 13 queries