English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 September 2018, 17:54   #3481
TimT
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Savannah Ga USA
Posts: 32
perfect! thank you. can these run at 40mhz
TimT is offline  
Old 10 September 2018, 00:07   #3482
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimT View Post
perfect! thank you. can these run at 40mhz
No idea. Very much depends.
plasmab is offline  
Old 10 September 2018, 00:10   #3483
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimT View Post
Anyone know if these are compatible with the TF530? the pinout looks different

https://www.ebay.com/itm/New-Manufac...AAAOSw5ttbWXoK
These CPU's are TF530 compatible, are WITH MMU, run @40Mhz nicely
8 Bit Dreams is offline  
Old 10 September 2018, 00:10   #3484
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
A little bit of python-foo later and I have a script that can rip the data from the scope over the network and create a VCD.

plasmab is offline  
Old 10 September 2018, 09:40   #3485
PR77
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
A little bit of python-foo later and I have a script that can rip the data from the scope over the network and create a VCD.
Nice! I think I gotta get myself a proper LA.
PR77 is offline  
Old 10 September 2018, 09:56   #3486
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by PR77 View Post
Nice! I think I gotta get myself a proper LA.


Pay the extra for one with a LAN card.
plasmab is offline  
Old 10 September 2018, 18:36   #3487
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
@8 Bit Dreams did you get the item I sent you?
plasmab is offline  
Old 11 September 2018, 06:10   #3488
TimT
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Savannah Ga USA
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8 Bit Dreams View Post
These CPU's are TF530 compatible, are WITH MMU, run @40Mhz nicely
Thank you 8 bit Dreams!
TimT is offline  
Old 14 September 2018, 13:43   #3489
Lukeeno
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Praha / Czech republic
Posts: 1
Hello everybody,
not sure if somebody already didnt post that, but I found another source for TF530 FPGA processor socket. This should be good alternative to:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/250474705812

One I already ordered is here:
http://www.buyicnow.com/it.php?i=297

Hope that it can be useful..
Lukeeno is offline  
Old 14 September 2018, 15:30   #3490
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lukeeno View Post
Hello everybody,

not sure if somebody already didnt post that, but I found another source for TF530 FPGA processor socket. This should be good alternative to:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/250474705812



One I already ordered is here:

http://www.buyicnow.com/it.php?i=297



Hope that it can be useful..


Ordered 10. Thanks
plasmab is offline  
Old 16 September 2018, 22:41   #3491
PR77
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 145
Can anyone confirm if "State Of The Art" demo runs with KS 3.1 on an accelerated Amiga 500 (TF530 preferably) with a GoTek? My system read 2 tracks and then bombs out.
PR77 is offline  
Old 16 September 2018, 23:13   #3492
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by PR77 View Post
Can anyone confirm if "State Of The Art" demo runs with KS 3.1 on an accelerated Amiga 500 (TF530 preferably) with a GoTek? My system read 2 tracks and then bombs out.
never tried it but i'll try it next time i have an Amiga on the bench.
plasmab is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 00:34   #3493
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,474
I just have the HD converted exe on my Amikit installation - no problems to run on 030 emu and KS 3.9.
zipper is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 00:53   #3494
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by zipper View Post
I just have the HD converted exe on my Amikit installation - no problems to run on 030 emu and KS 3.9.
Yeah emulation isnt what he's asking about here. Specifically a real 030 accelerator and a gotek.
plasmab is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 10:18   #3495
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,017
Quote:
Originally Posted by PR77 View Post
Can anyone confirm if "State Of The Art" demo runs with KS 3.1 on an accelerated Amiga 500 (TF530 preferably) with a GoTek? My system read 2 tracks and then bombs out.
Did you check if it works without accelerator? There are 2 different variants of SOTA, one requires 1M chip and other that works with 0.5M+0.5M. 1M chip version without 1M chip will hang/crash in few seconds after booting.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 17 September 2018, 10:42   #3496
PR77
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Did you check if it works without accelerator? There are 2 different variants of SOTA, one requires 1M chip and other that works with 0.5M+0.5M. 1M chip version without 1M chip will hang/crash in few seconds after booting.

Ooooo. I didn't know that. I actually was using my 68SEC000 accelerator (but I didn't want to diverge too much from thread topic) and my OCS patient 0 Amiga 500 only has 512K ChipRAM. I was actually thinking I have an issue with some strange DMA cycle or exploit fixed in the 68SEC000 which was being taken advantage of. I will check that out!
PR77 is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 11:12   #3497
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Thanks for that Toni!
plasmab is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 22:45   #3498
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 410
good evening dear Amigans and Retrofans!
Have some news i wanna share here. Some of You heard on Stephen's streams that he plans to send some TF534 prototype boards to beta testers.
He kept his word - have thankfully received one of his TF534 boards. Of course i was so excited that i started to build it same day - luckily i had almost all parts here already..Of course i have choosed different RAM type (Cypress instread of Alliance) as mentioned in the BOM, have done it as a proof of concept, as i am a beta tester - will give my two pennies also and test different parts to find out incompatibilities and possible bugs.
Today i got Amiga firmware, flashed the card....and it just works! What a good feeling!!!
My card is running @24Mhz currently, and it does very well and stable. Havent noticed any crashes, glitches or freezes. Seems this successor of our beloved TF530 is well designed, runs really smooth and stable.
Next steps will be try a higher frequency and of course i will move to my favourite Amiga - A2000 and test this card throughly on it. Cheers,

Viktor

PS
Thank You very much Stephen, i owe you a lot of beer now.. Have You ever planned to visit Munich and Oktoberfest?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2018-09-19 21.21.28.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	337.7 KB
ID:	59879   Click image for larger version

Name:	2018-09-19 21.26.58.png
Views:	91
Size:	653.6 KB
ID:	59883   Click image for larger version

Name:	2018-09-19 21.14.24.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	100.2 KB
ID:	59884   Click image for larger version

Name:	2018-09-19 21.13.49.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	101.9 KB
ID:	59885  
8 Bit Dreams is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 22:56   #3499
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 38
Posts: 803
Nice, can't wait to build one of my own.
alenppc is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 23:05   #3500
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8 Bit Dreams View Post
Next steps will be try a higher frequency and of course i will move to my favourite Amiga - A2000 and test this card throughly on it. Cheers,
You will need the DMA fixes from the Atari ST before that will work well. I will sort it soon.

Quote:
Thank You very much Stephen, i owe you a lot of beer now.. Have You ever planned to visit Munich and Oktoberfest?
Not a hope. I am a father who spends his weekends learning to write again in his (once) native language. Its seriously cutting in my playtime

Quote:
Originally Posted by alenppc View Post
Nice, can't wait to build one of my own.
You have a PM
plasmab is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Listening to Amiga music with too much treble makes it sound terrible! Foebane Amiga scene 4 08 October 2016 07:30
Terrible usb drive performance? lovinggames support.FS-UAE 5 11 March 2015 10:06
Broken MASPlayer - Terrible hissing. SS454 support.Hardware 8 17 November 2013 02:41
Accelerators pmc MarketPlace 9 04 November 2009 21:23
Problem with a terrible, simply effect! Camionsauro Coders. General 13 19 April 2009 09:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.20887 seconds with 16 queries