English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 March 2018, 22:04   #1
Overmann
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 31
Amiga 600 black screen, no post

Hi there,

I was hoping I'd get some help troubleshooting my A600. It won't post and I'm afraid I don't know a great deal about diagnosing.

My PSU is fine, I've used it with my 1200.
The green led comes on when I turn the 600 on, but the screen remains black.
The caps lock button blinks once.
No response from the floppy drive, and no activity on the floppy led.
Resetting via the keyboard makes the caps light blink again.
All the caps LOOK fine. :P
The cpu gets warm when the machine is on for a while, and some of the other chips get warmish, but the ROM remains cool to the touch.

I have been looking online, and I find similar symptoms, but none that are spot on. I'd like to diagnose some before I start changing caps and buying new roms etc.

I have a multimeter and an oscilloscope if there is any checking I can do, but I have little experience in using them to diagnose anything other then audio circuits. :P
Any help will be GREATLY appreciated!

Last edited by Overmann; 12 March 2018 at 22:30.
Overmann is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 March 2018, 23:18   #2
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
You will always hear this as thw first advice: have you recapped it?
SMD caps can look fine but be fucked.
Akira is offline  
Old 12 March 2018, 23:34   #3
Overmann
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 31
No, I have not recapped it. Is there a way to test the caps before removing them? Is there some point on the bord where I can make a reading to verify if a cap is bad?
Overmann is offline  
Old 13 March 2018, 00:14   #4
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,363
Common A600 problem. http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=73265
idrougge is offline  
Old 13 March 2018, 00:26   #5
Overmann
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
I came across this when looking for solutions. So you're thinking that my problem is the same as this even though my caps lock led is not always on? I didn't want to start pulling caps off without being certain.

Last edited by Overmann; 13 March 2018 at 00:33.
Overmann is offline  
Old 13 March 2018, 08:06   #6
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,089
Most electrolytic capacitors in Amiga systems are there only for supply voltage filtering purposes (one may slowly start to experience crashes or interference in the video etc. as the capacitors dry), which is why their leakage often goes unnoticed until the electrolyte has wreaked havoc on the board.

However, that particular electrolytic in the A600 controls the reset circuitry. I can't say if the symptoms are always exactly the same but that cap is definitely the number one cause of boot failures in an A600.
ajk is offline  
Old 13 March 2018, 17:55   #7
Overmann
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 31
Ok, I'll try taking it off tonight when I get home from work. The board deserves a recap either way (as does my A1200). I understand that 500 and 2000 are not prone to these errors. Should I recap my A500 and my A2000 as well? :P
Overmann is offline  
Old 13 March 2018, 18:33   #8
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,089
The through-hole caps in the earlier models are physically larger, better sealed and not very prone to leaking so replacement is rarely necessary. Of course it does no harm either (unless you damage the board while desoldering ).

However, you'll want to make sure there isn't a leaky battery in the A2000 or the A500 (if it's a plus model or has a real time clock expansion). The batteries contain a large amount of electrolyte and can really spoil a board if left unattended.
ajk is offline  
Old 13 March 2018, 22:08   #9
Overmann
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 31
Removing the cap made no difference, other then making the CPU A LOT hotter. Actually painful to touch.
Overmann is offline  
Old 14 March 2018, 00:07   #10
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,363
That sounds very strange. So if you install a new capacitor (even normal through-hole ones will do, or ceramics), it goes cold again?
idrougge is offline  
Old 14 March 2018, 00:11   #11
Overmann
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 31
I will have to order some caps to try. It was warm before, if I left the machine on for some minutes, but now it's to hot to touch if left on for only a minute.
Overmann is offline  
Old 15 March 2018, 12:28   #12
Overmann
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 31
Does anyone have any other suggestions based on the symptoms? I should mention that I am using the videoport with a scart cable, and that Ive mostly been testing without keyboard and floppy drive attached. I tried once with floppy drive and keyboard but it acted the same way.

Is there any more info that I can give that will help, or is the next logical step to change the caps regardless of wether removong the above mentioned cap had any effect or not?
Overmann is offline  
Old 15 March 2018, 13:38   #13
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,841
Is the power LED starting dim, then becoming bright after a second or so? Are you sure you don't have any corrosion on the board from capacitor leakage? If the LED deosn't get brighter after a second or two, a good first step would be to look at the reset lines with your scope. They should start low on power up, then quickly go high and stay high. Check the schematics for pin numbers, in particular the reset line going into the CPU. Careful you don't short things out with your probe though!
Daedalus is offline  
Old 15 March 2018, 19:28   #14
Overmann
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Is the power LED starting dim, then becoming bright after a second or so? Are you sure you don't have any corrosion on the board from capacitor leakage? If the LED deosn't get brighter after a second or two, a good first step would be to look at the reset lines with your scope. They should start low on power up, then quickly go high and stay high. Check the schematics for pin numbers, in particular the reset line going into the CPU. Careful you don't short things out with your probe though!
The LED starts bright and strong. I have inspected for corrosion, and on closer inspection there might be some around the caps. I've ordered a new set and will be replacing these next week hopefully.

Would checking the reset lines still be interesting? The reset seem to be behaving normally to me. It resets when pressing the reset-combo on the keyboard and the caps-led behaves normally.
Overmann is offline  
Old 15 March 2018, 22:05   #15
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,841
So the LED doesn't change brightness at all? Checking the reset line to the CPU would tell you if the reset part of the motherboard is fully working.
Daedalus is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 1000 Green and Black screen only arjanv support.Hardware 2 06 June 2017 20:02
Amiga 600 not booting... Yellow screen, and Red screen when turning PSU off jbenam support.Hardware 34 20 March 2011 22:10
Amiga 2000 black screen JACK98 support.Hardware 30 26 July 2010 01:18
black screen on amiga 500 albino support.Hardware 1 17 November 2008 06:07
Amiga 1200 Black Screen Problem mindjoker support.Hardware 0 29 December 2004 22:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07857 seconds with 13 queries