English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 March 2018, 20:05   #161
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
here is an outstandig LW PeeCee tutorial: Basic City Build.
it starts with Illustrator, building the objects/splines, using bones
and morphing.
19 minutes only, but you can learn alot from this video.
[ Show youtube player ]
emufan is offline  
Old 06 March 2018, 10:40   #162
Muadib
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 220
Added in my ToDo list! Thank you!

muadib
Amiga Raytracing Society
Muadib is offline  
Old 06 March 2018, 13:33   #163
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
definitive worth it.
greatly impressed with using Illustrator, never touched for years.
while creating the building blocks, I had the impression they were
too big, for the roads, I made.
so you select all blocks -> transform -> scale each
so all selected object are scaled in place. another "wow" experience.

but what is really cool with Illustrator, is just painting.
this is really crazy. painting with photoshop alike tools,
but you create pixel perfect, smooth vector results.
very impressive tool

#1) one more hint: when you draw the city map,
do not connect the roads, create single roads,
8 were used in the tutorial

Last edited by emufan; 06 March 2018 at 14:14.
emufan is offline  
Old 06 March 2018, 14:57   #164
Muadib
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 220
Will do! I 'm afraid I 've never used Illustrator, but I 'll try to use an alternative if any exists..

muadib
Amiga Raytracing Society
Muadib is offline  
Old 06 March 2018, 15:13   #165
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
I started with pagestream on the amiga, but had trouble creating the bow of a road
and those curves in some streets.
next I was using Inkscape, but this does not export Illustrator 8 format.
so there was illustrator which is just great
emufan is offline  
Old 06 March 2018, 16:30   #166
Muadib
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 220
Ok, then! I 'll try it!

muadib
Amiga Raytracing Society
Muadib is offline  
Old 13 March 2018, 09:37   #167
Muadib
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 220
Hey!

Now the LEGO TIE-Fighter scene I made that came 1st at GERP 2018 Demoparty is on Aminet:

http://aminet.net/package/pix/3dobj/...IE-Fighter.lha

Thanks!

muadib
Amiga Raytracing Society
Muadib is offline  
Old 25 March 2018, 20:51   #168
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 204
Ok guys.

Again, after a few days trying, I can't make Lightwave to start (this time I am using Winuae with virtual HD, and Workbench 3.1 installed.
I downloaded Emufan Lightwave incl CD Archive, then I started icon Assign, then modeler, then Lightwave, and nothing happens.
When I go to "last message" in WB, I see that it writes: "Attempting to load (or run) Lightwave.tp".. same with modeler.tp

I use just standard A1200 (020) in winuae with 8MB Ram, and kick 3,1.

Any idea?
d4rk3lf is offline  
Old 26 March 2018, 08:11   #169
Muadib
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 220
Hey,

Check your configuration and change it so that you have at least 030 + FPU. LW above 3.5 has only FPU versions (hence the .FP extensions). Also give it some more Fast Ram and try again. SnoopDos can also help show you things that could be missing in the OS by letting it run in the background.

muadib
Amiga Raytracing Society
Muadib is offline  
Old 26 March 2018, 19:33   #170
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 204
HA!
That was it. Thanks.
Never know that FP meant for FPU, thanks for that.

Lightwave started, but it gave some error, when I tried to render. But I'll try to solve it, if not, I'll ask here.

Btw, I am waiting for aca 500 plus for my Amiga 500, and will try Lightwave on real hardware. So, I shouldn't go above LW 3.5?

Cheers
d4rk3lf is offline  
Old 26 March 2018, 19:39   #171
Muadib
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by d4rk3lf View Post
HA!
That was it. Thanks.
Never know that FP meant for FPU, thanks for that.

Lightwave started, but it gave some error, when I tried to render. But I'll try to solve it, if not, I'll ask here.

Btw, I am waiting for aca 500 plus for my Amiga 500, and will try Lightwave on real hardware. So, I shouldn't go above LW 3.5?

Cheers
Great! No problem!

Cool stuff! It's the one you can overclock, right?
Unfortunately, you can't use an FPU version of LW if you don't have a Math Coprocessor... And LW versions > v3.5 came only for FPU...
Muadib is offline  
Old 26 March 2018, 19:51   #172
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muadib View Post
Cool stuff! It's the one you can overclock, right?
Yes, up to 42Mhz, and it have 8MB Ram.
However, only 14MHz is guarantied, and various people had various experience. Sometimes, power supply is not enough for 42Mhz, sometimes it crashes... etc... we will see how it will behave on my amiga. I can test it on 7, 14, 21, and 42 Mhz. Will choose speed that is most stable.

3.5 is more then enough for me for playing. I never have strong need to have the newest app. For example, I still use 3DS Max 2014 for regular job, even newest version is 2018.
d4rk3lf is offline  
Old 26 March 2018, 19:53   #173
Muadib
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by d4rk3lf View Post
Yes, up to 42Mhz, and it have 8MB Ram.
However, only 14MHz is guarantied, and various people had various experience. Sometimes, power supply is not enough for 42Mhz, sometimes it crashes... etc... we will see how it will behave on my amiga. I can test it on 7, 14, 21, and 42 Mhz. Will choose speed that is most stable.

3.5 is more then enough for me for playing. I never have strong need to have the newest app. For example, I still use 3DS Max 2014 for regular job, even newest version is 2018.
Cool! I think you can do basic stuff with 8MB.

Exactly, no need for newest version, if you know your tool well! ;-)

muadib
Amiga Raytracing Society
Muadib is offline  
Old 26 March 2018, 20:00   #174
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muadib View Post
Exactly, no need for newest version, if you know your tool well! ;-)
Correct.
When some kids asks me, if their comp is strong enough for 3D (Usually some i5 configurations ), I told them that their mobile phones is several times stronger then all farms they had back then at ILM, when they created Jurrasic Park.
That movie still looks awesome, even by today's standard.

Even my, soon to be, "beast" A500, with 42 Mhz, and 8MB Ram, would be a great comp at that time.
d4rk3lf is offline  
Old 26 March 2018, 20:04   #175
Muadib
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by d4rk3lf View Post
Correct.
When some kids asks me, if their comp is strong enough for 3D (Usually some i5 configurations ), I told them that their mobile phones is several times stronger then all farms they had back then at ILM, when they created Jurrasic Park.
That movie still looks awesome, even by today's standard.

Even my, soon to be, "beast" A500, with 42 Mhz, and 8MB Ram, would be a great comp at that time.
You can always tell them that "it's not the computer that makes the graphics, it's the one that makes the story".

And believe me, if you want, you can join the Amiga Raytracing team and start telling stories as well with your Amiga!



muadib
Amiga Raytracing Society
Muadib is offline  
Old 26 March 2018, 20:11   #176
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 204
That's a facebook group right?
I'd like to, but I don't have facebook, neighter none of those groups (twiter, instagram... etc). Only linked, that I use for work (but very rare).

However, I'll post here whatever animation, or still render, I create, and I think it's worth sharing.

Thanks for support mate!
d4rk3lf is offline  
Old 26 March 2018, 20:20   #177
Muadib
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by d4rk3lf View Post
That's a facebook group right?
I'd like to, but I don't have facebook, neighter none of those groups (twiter, instagram... etc). Only linked, that I use for work (but very rare).

However, I'll post here whatever animation, or still render, I create, and I think it's worth sharing.

Thanks for support mate!
Well, the FB group was OK in the beginning. Yet, we are considering in getting a proper webpage to host all this, where everyone would be able to post projects and seek for others that would want to contribute, as well as a place to gather all tutorials, HOWTOs, etc. Something like an Amiga Creativity Hub, if you like.

Anytime my friend! Keep on rocking!
Muadib is offline  
Old 26 March 2018, 20:27   #178
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muadib View Post
we are considering in getting a proper webpage to host all this, where everyone would be able to post projects and seek for others that would want to contribute, as well as a place to gather all tutorials, HOWTOs, etc.
That's freaking great idea.
Please, share this page here, when it's done.

Maybe mods or admins, on this forum could agree to also create subforum here dedicated to graphics (similar like coders have), not only 3D, but also for vector graphics, or raster. Forum with subforums: tutorials, wips, final work... etc.
d4rk3lf is offline  
Old 26 March 2018, 20:32   #179
Muadib
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 220
Absolutely, will do!
Muadib is offline  
Old 01 April 2018, 15:59   #180
Muadib
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 220
Heya all,

I have uploaded a new LW tutorial on Aminet regarding advanced and more realistic lighting.

It is located here: http://aminet.net/package/gfx/3d/lw_AdvLights_tut

Have fun!!
Muadib is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scala Tutorials? zerohour1974 support.Apps 3 24 March 2015 06:28
Cracking Tutorials? ufo Coders. General 21 31 January 2014 13:39
Vector Tutorials h0ffman Coders. General 7 24 January 2011 19:16
Tutorials for raytracers christianlucio request.Other 0 04 September 2010 19:38
AMOS tutorials Galaxy Coders. Tutorials 0 26 June 2007 14:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09563 seconds with 16 queries