English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 November 2013, 01:19   #1
SS454
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: up north
Posts: 70
Broken MASPlayer - Terrible hissing.

Just dug my A600 with Masplayer evolution, the one Amigakit make. The following symptoms occur:

* Starting MASPlayer software, it makes a LOUD hiss for a few seconds.
* Play a track, same Loud hiss. You can't hear music at all.
* If the track starts quiet, (say, the drummer counting them off) you can hear it, but really crackly/hissing. As if it is a radio not tuned in properly. As soon as the music properly starts, it goes back to the loud hiss.
* moving prefactor slider all the way to the right you can hear it, sort of, but still lots of crackles and hissing. Same "radio not tuned in" effect.
* no other settings have an effect.

Has anyone seen anything like this before?

I opened it up, there is no sign of damage I think, no burned parts. A lot of hot glue though!
SS454 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 November 2013, 13:06   #2
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,623
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS454 View Post
Just dug my A600 with Masplayer evolution, the one Amigakit make. The following symptoms occur:

* Starting MASPlayer software, it makes a LOUD hiss for a few seconds.
* Play a track, same Loud hiss. You can't hear music at all.
* If the track starts quiet, (say, the drummer counting them off) you can hear it, but really crackly/hissing. As if it is a radio not tuned in properly. As soon as the music properly starts, it goes back to the loud hiss.
* moving prefactor slider all the way to the right you can hear it, sort of, but still lots of crackles and hissing. Same "radio not tuned in" effect.
* no other settings have an effect.

Has anyone seen anything like this before?

I opened it up, there is no sign of damage I think, no burned parts. A lot of hot glue though!
Specs of A600, please.
Has this been used before on this A600. Although it will run on A600, its pushing it.
FOL is offline  
Old 15 November 2013, 14:41   #3
SS454
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: up north
Posts: 70
2mb chip, 4mb fast, 4gb CF card. ClassicWB Green.

Has been used before loads, I packed it away for a house move, and now I unpack it it's like this. There aren't any other problems using the amiga at all.
SS454 is offline  
Old 15 November 2013, 15:39   #4
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,623
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS454 View Post
2mb chip, 4mb fast, 4gb CF card. ClassicWB Green.

Has been used before loads, I packed it away for a house move, and now I unpack it it's like this. There aren't any other problems using the amiga at all.
So it has been used on your current A600 setup in the past?
Your answer isn't clear, do you mean you have used the Mas player loads on another Amiga before?

If its loading and playing music fine (ignoring the hissing for the moment), then the MAS Chip is fine.
FOL is offline  
Old 15 November 2013, 17:38   #5
SS454
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: up north
Posts: 70
Yes, this exact Amiga.

What exactly does the "prefactor" slider in the included software do? it has an effect on how severe the hissing is, maybe this is a clue?
SS454 is offline  
Old 16 November 2013, 01:02   #6
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,623
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS454 View Post
Yes, this exact Amiga.

What exactly does the "prefactor" slider in the included software do? it has an effect on how severe the hissing is, maybe this is a clue?
Not sure never messed with it to be honest.
Can you try it on another amiga?
FOL is offline  
Old 16 November 2013, 02:58   #7
SS454
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: up north
Posts: 70
I would if I had one. Down to just the A600 now.
SS454 is offline  
Old 16 November 2013, 10:45   #8
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,623
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS454 View Post
I would if I had one. Down to just the A600 now.
Be easier if you took this to our support system. I can see all your details and when you bought it then.
FOL is offline  
Old 17 November 2013, 01:41   #9
SS454
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: up north
Posts: 70
I'm busy non stop from now until next weekend, I'll put up a post it note so I don't forget to do that when I have time.

It's more than 12months old + I opened the case now anyway.
SS454 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broken A500 absence support.Hardware 22 09 October 2011 23:13
Broken Thumbnails logix AMR data problems 10 06 January 2010 18:11
Problem with a terrible, simply effect! Camionsauro Coders. General 13 19 April 2009 08:53
Help! Broken Sd/ff! CU_AMiGA Hardware pics 7 16 November 2006 10:07
Wanted: MASPlayer HardStep MarketPlace 3 17 July 2006 21:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06985 seconds with 13 queries