English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 April 2013, 13:36   #1
alexraffa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Como/Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 12
Ide Port Not Working, How To Check

Dear All,

on my A600 I have a problem with the ide port, I got an IDE->CF adapter, installed it with a CF card that works on the CF-pcmcia adapter, nothing shows up.
I have KS 37.350 WB 2.1

is there a way to check the funcioning of the ide port, or it may be something else?

Thanks
Alex

Sorry to have posted in the wrong subsection, I thought to be in support.hardware.

Last edited by alexraffa; 20 April 2013 at 13:41. Reason: wrong subsection!
alexraffa is offline  
Old 20 April 2013, 18:15   #2
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
The card that was used in the Pcmcia slot would be formatted as Fat32, this is not readable via the Ide port.
You need to format the card on the Amiga or WinUAE using HDToolbox or HDInstall.
You also may need to wipe/clean the card using diskpart in Windows
beforehand.
Arnie is offline  
Old 20 April 2013, 18:46   #3
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,618
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
The card that was used in the Pcmcia slot would be formatted as Fat32, this is not readable via the Ide port.
Not without additional software: http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/fat95
Hewitson is offline  
Old 20 April 2013, 18:54   #4
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
Not without additional software: http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/fat95
Surely a bit pointless on the ide port as you need to mount it first before you can boot from it, or am I missing the point?
Arnie is offline  
Old 20 April 2013, 19:53   #5
alexraffa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Como/Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 12
hi, thanks

even if the format is not regognized, should it be visible (the device) in the early boot menu?
it does not show... only DF0 and CC0

my goal was to format the card with HDtools and install wb 2.1 on it.
alexraffa is offline  
Old 20 April 2013, 20:09   #6
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
It wont show because, if it is fat32 formatted, the ide port thinks that there is no card inserted.
Arnie is offline  
Old 20 April 2013, 21:13   #7
alexraffa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Como/Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 12
so after all, it may well be that all is OK, and will work one I put in an empty card...
alexraffa is offline  
Old 20 April 2013, 22:23   #8
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
It depends on the card, not all cards are compatible with the ide port, the same with pcmcia.

I use a Kingston card in ide and a Sandisk card in pcmcia, they refuse to work if they are swapped.

Last edited by Arnie; 21 April 2013 at 20:19. Reason: ammended card brands
Arnie is offline  
Old 21 April 2013, 00:57   #9
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexraffa View Post
Sorry to have posted in the wrong subsection, I thought to be in support.hardware.
Fixed!
prowler is offline  
Old 21 April 2013, 02:24   #10
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexraffa View Post
hi, thanks

even if the format is not regognized, should it be visible (the device) in the early boot menu?
it does not show... only DF0 and CC0

my goal was to format the card with HDtools and install wb 2.1 on it.
the hardisk will be visible in the early boot menu but once is prepared with hdtoolbox
you must config it first and make partitions etc
Sandro is offline  
Old 24 April 2013, 20:25   #11
alexraffa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Como/Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 12
Solved...

I finally got the CF card to be seen, on my A600 I did this:

on my pc I wiped any partitions on it (under linux, with parted software) and installed an empty amiga partition table.

Put the cf adapter + card and fired up the install disk (2.1).

with HDtoolbox setup the drive, rebooted and formatted with the wb format tool.

installed wb 2.1.

Only it will not boot from it, even uf the partition was set to bootable, what can be the cause?

Thanks
Alex
alexraffa is offline  
Old 27 April 2013, 09:51   #12
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,883
Is your partition visible in the early startup menu? Hold down both mouse buttons when reseting.
Jope is offline  
Old 27 April 2013, 19:58   #13
alexraffa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Como/Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 12
Hi all,

finally everything is OK, I repeated the setup and installation and this time all was ok!

2.1 installed.
alexraffa is offline  
Old 27 April 2013, 23:44   #14
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
Good to hear
Arnie is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Green IDE A1200 port Nostromo support.Hardware 12 05 April 2013 14:06
IDE maxtransfer check detected split Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 7 06 August 2012 01:31
Two CFs on the A600/A1200 IDE 2.5 port Cosmos Hardware mods 8 03 June 2011 10:49
Can't boot from Buddha 2.5" IDE port tonyyeb support.Hardware 9 18 September 2008 21:27
Any ways to check Catweasel working in Winuae ? stainy support.WinUAE 2 22 November 2005 23:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07923 seconds with 13 queries