English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 June 2018, 18:19   #1
tlgrooms
Registered User

tlgrooms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Mayflower, AR USA
Posts: 13
Screenmode prefs won't open under OS 3.9

Just did a fresh install of OS 3.9 on my 030 1200. When I click on the Screenmode icon in Prefs it won't open. Ran snoopdos to see if anything is happening and it shows no activity. Anyone have any idea how to fix this? Some of the other icons in prefs do nothing as well.

Last edited by tlgrooms; 21 June 2018 at 04:11.
tlgrooms is offline  
Old 20 June 2018, 23:51   #2
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,132
How did you do the install? Perhaps there's a permissions problem, or the files have been corrupted. Which boing bags did you install?
Daedalus is offline  
Old 21 June 2018, 04:10   #3
tlgrooms
Registered User

tlgrooms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Mayflower, AR USA
Posts: 13
Actually I don't think I did install any of the boing bags yet. I have tracked it down to a couple of things. If I run setpatch, later when loadwb runs machine will freeze and guru. If I comment out loadwb and run prefs/screenmode, it will open up but there is no save button, only a use button. If I take setpatch out of the startup-sequence, it will loadwb and not crash but screenmode will not open. Not sure where to go from here.
tlgrooms is offline  
Old 21 June 2018, 15:11   #4
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,456
Probably something is missing, compare libs and classes, especially gadgets between your source and destination.
zipper is offline  
Old 21 June 2018, 17:10   #5
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,132
Have you got any IPrefs or Env: patches installed? You need Setpatch running anyway for many reasons, so it looks like either some other patch is interfering with it, or the installation is messed up for some reason, perhaps a corrupt preferences file, illegal screenmode setting or something along those lines.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 22 June 2018, 00:07   #6
Matt_H
Registered User
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 160
If it's a fresh install and the system is crashing upon bootup, then you'll want to solve that problem before tackling the Screenmode prefs issue

By default, SetPatch kicks in various ROM update modules. Depending on your hardware configuration, some of these (usually SCSI-driver related) can lead to crashes consistent with what you describe. Have a look at the OS3.9 FAQ for lots of info.
Matt_H is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resetiing screenmode prefs (WB 3.0) Galaxy support.Other 10 12 July 2014 22:38
hi screenmode drivers don't show up in screenmode oddodo support.Hardware 3 11 April 2014 19:48
WBPattern in prefs wont open xlar54 support.Apps 1 09 November 2009 03:36
Time in Prefs - Won't change Date OS3.1 illy5603 project.ClassicWB 11 17 October 2009 12:22
3.9 won't install - can't open needed libraries bob808 support.Apps 2 01 May 2006 19:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06153 seconds with 15 queries