English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 February 2017, 08:27   #1
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 345
AmiKit author I have a question to ask you...

Hello,

In your AmiKit and even AmigaSYS there is an auto updater that checks the server if there is new version of the OS to update and it updates SYS: Work: and Game: partitions respectively without losing data or cause problems with repetitive files, etc. How do you make that work? Is there a program that is used for all types of OS suite that we can use?

Concerning AmiKit real, when will there will be an official release with setup and everything for AmiKit real that works 100% flawlessly with Vampire?

Thanks in advance.
xboxown is offline  
Old 27 February 2017, 13:00   #2
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,001
Hi: about AmiKit you have to ask in the support forum: http://forum.amiga.sk/

And about the Vampire working with a couple of clicks on AKReal I will do that as soon as I get a Vampire for my A1200
Retrofan is offline  
Old 27 February 2017, 21:18   #3
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Hi: about AmiKit you have to ask in the support forum: http://forum.amiga.sk/

And about the Vampire working with a couple of clicks on AKReal I will do that as soon as I get a Vampire for my A1200
Noooo don't wait for that...you might end up a skeleton with no flesh or skin carrying your A1200 waiting in the waiting room for your turn! Just get a v600 or v500 or something and prepare it now on what you have current....Who knows when it will be out...it will be out..but not very soon..it may need a year or so...
xboxown is offline  
Old 28 February 2017, 15:52   #4
bebek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poole UK
Posts: 341
I do not see any problems with my v600 setup and akreal.
bebek is offline  
Old 28 February 2017, 20:05   #5
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by bebek View Post
I do not see any problems with my v600 setup and akreal.

Yes but you need to go under the hood and know what you are doing to get it working. You did not have a simple installer where you just follow steps and it does everything in the background.
xboxown is offline  
Old 01 March 2017, 01:19   #6
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,001
Hi bebek, do you have Birdie working? I would like to see a video of your Amiga
Retrofan is offline  
Old 01 March 2017, 01:37   #7
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,899
Retrofan; would you like everything in this thread moved to your AmiKit Real Support Thread thread?
DamienD is online now  
Old 01 March 2017, 01:48   #8
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,001
I don't know, as you like. He asks about AmiKit too.

Well, I can tell him about the Live Update that it isn't something magic, it just installs what it's programmed to update, it will delete what's necessary and install the same, that's all.

In fact it's much easier to make an update using the Live Update as it has a full access to all of the files. Time ago when I wasn't using it but an Update script it was much more difficult as sometimes I had to stop running processes.

And he talks about AmigaSYS making the same, but that isn't true and in fact AmigaSys has been dead for several years and there hasn't been a "recent" update. It doesn't exist an automatic Live Update but for AmiKit and AKReal, basically just because AmiKit was the one that created that option and supports it in the website (that has to pay).

BTW that's also why you should support AmiKit, it has Donate options to support it. Well, maybe you prefer to use Amiga in a box or AmigaSys that died just because of a lack of interest and you don't want/need any future update.

Also the AmiKit Live update won't update what you've got in Work (if he's got a partition with that name). I talk about AmiKit or AKReal till the 8th version, I don't know about Mac or Puppy or other things, so then he should use the AmiKit support forum instead.

Last edited by Retrofan; 01 March 2017 at 03:35.
Retrofan is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for the author from this font Estrayk request.Demos 5 22 August 2015 12:49
The Great Amiga Author Hunt MadAngus Coders. General 42 20 March 2014 00:50
Buddha Flash Phoenix Edition question for AMIKIT lost_loven support.Hardware 3 08 May 2010 16:55
JackMan registration code - Author is gone :-( A4000 Nutter request.Old Rare Games 0 25 November 2006 17:16
Need the tune name/author/origins... Shoonay Nostalgia & memories 16 10 June 2006 14:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10101 seconds with 15 queries