English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 September 2018, 23:57   #1
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 162
soo... what about Final Fight?

We all know that FF for A500 wasn't something we are very proud of.
(to make it justice, it's working on even unexpanded A500)

Anyway, I've searched a lots of threads and forums about FF, and to my surprise, I found out that 2 remakes were being made.

1) In the thread here
It's the Aga version of FF made by Leathered.
Very unfortunately, this guy met his end, and while I was reading thread, a bitterness took my heart, when I read that his last present to Amiga community would be his FF alpha (and a source code).
R.i.p. good man.
Forget FF, I would write some more to your honor, but I am afraid I'd become too pathetic.

2) Then, there's a guy on youtube that claims that he remake all FF on A600 (I guess, It's ecs version, but could be ocs), but he had a HD physical crash, so he is unable to share. Here is his channel
I've read on this forum that some doubt his story, and that he might just faked the video. What do you think?

All in all... we have 2 great attempts. One with source code, one without.
Anyone working on this?
Or, like the title say: what about FF?
d4rk3lf is offline  
Old 16 September 2018, 00:30   #2
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 556
Quote:
Originally Posted by d4rk3lf View Post
2) Then, there's a guy on youtube that claims that he remake all FF on A600 (I guess, It's ecs version, but could be ocs), but he had a HD physical crash, so he is unable to share. Here is his channel
I've read on this forum that some doubt his story, and that he might just faked the video. What do you think?
Personally I think he's full of shit.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 16 September 2018, 00:41   #3
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,814
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by d4rk3lf View Post
We all know that FF for A500 wasn't something we are very proud of.
(to make it justice, it's working on even unexpanded A500)

Anyway, I've searched a lots of threads and forums about FF, and to my surprise, I found out that 2 remakes were being made.

1) In the thread here
It's the Aga version of FF made by Leathered.
Very unfortunately, this guy met his end, and while I was reading thread, a bitterness took my heart, when I read that his last present to Amiga community would be his FF alpha (and a source code).
R.i.p. good man.
Forget FF, I would write some more to your honor, but I am afraid I'd become too pathetic.

2) Then, there's a guy on youtube that claims that he remake all FF on A600 (I guess, It's ecs version, but could be ocs), but he had a HD physical crash, so he is unable to share. Here is his channel
I've read on this forum that some doubt his story, and that he might just faked the video. What do you think?

All in all... we have 2 great attempts. One with source code, one without.
Anyone working on this?
Or, like the title say: what about FF?
The CPS1 games are out of the league for Amiga 500 and OCS/ECS machines. Not enough ram, not enough colors, not enough CPU power.

the 1200 is the only good candidate for those games.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 16 September 2018, 18:47   #4
albino
Registered User
albino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: france
Age: 39
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
The CPS1 games are out of the league for Amiga 500 and OCS/ECS machines. Not enough ram, not enough colors, not enough CPU power.

the 1200 is the only good candidate for those games.
Stll descent programmer and pixel artist could have done something quit enjoyable, with compromises.
albino is offline  
Old 16 September 2018, 20:05   #5
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,814
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by albino View Post
Stll descent programmer and pixel artist could have done something quit enjoyable, with compromises.
unfortunately, nope. The reason is quite easy to spot : this game requires 64 colors at minima to be visually enjoyable. An A500 can't do that.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 16 September 2018, 20:20   #6
albino
Registered User
albino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: france
Age: 39
Posts: 136
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
unfortunately, nope. The reason is quite easy to spot : this game requires 64 colors at minima to be visually enjoyable. An A500 can't do that.
If you can enjoy bitmap brothers productions which use 16 colors..trust me you can enjoy anything using 32 colors.then the game can defenetly be ported on amiga...
albino is offline  
Old 16 September 2018, 20:22   #7
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 966
Yeah, too bad Final Fight never came out for Amiga.
It...never...came...out!

Now...the only solution for a humble A500 version would be re-imagining the graphics. Meaning, shrinking and redrawing everything. Still, the playability could be there.

A1200 with FAST RAM could be a candidate for a 1:1 conversion though.
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 16 September 2018, 20:25   #8
albino
Registered User
albino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: france
Age: 39
Posts: 136
A Stock 500 handle by the right person would do the job. .
have a look at final fight cd, 64 colors only and probably the best conversion evr donne a part from new generation consoles...
albino is offline  
Old 16 September 2018, 20:37   #9
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 41
Posts: 1,203
The A500 could do it with 1mb and 2 fire buttons just the programmer didn't really like the game, he was a fan of shinobi, his 8bit ports there are very good.
nobody is offline  
Old 16 September 2018, 20:41   #10
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,814
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by albino View Post
If you can enjoy bitmap brothers productions which use 16 colors..trust me you can enjoy anything using 32 colors.then the game can defenetly be ported on amiga...
I'm afraid you didn't got the point. This game use 128 palettes of 16 colors, and roundly 512 unique colors on screen.

You can't reduce that to 16 colors, otherwise, i get something horrible.

An A500 cannot support 32 colors on a such a game, otherwise, you end up with dwarf characters.

This is a game made for 32bits machine like the A1200 or Falcon.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 16 September 2018, 20:56   #11
albino
Registered User
albino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: france
Age: 39
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
I'm afraid you didn't got the point. This game use 128 palettes of 16 colors, and roundly 512 unique colors on screen.

You can't reduce that to 16 colors, otherwise, i get something horrible.

An A500 cannot support 32 colors on a such a game, otherwise, you end up with dwarf characters.

This is a game made for 32bits machine like the A1200 or Falcon.
I get your point, but what i'm saying is that you can get a descent port if you code it the right way.
No one is expected an identical port for the 500, what amiga users are looking for is a playable game with correect graphics.
I ran final fight on my amiga the other night, trust me with a little tweakening the game would have been great..
albino is offline  
Old 16 September 2018, 21:02   #12
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,814
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
yes on the animations, but for the colors, i don't see what can be done.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 16 September 2018, 21:22   #13
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
Personally I think he's full of shit.
Dunno mate.
In this [ Show youtube player ] he started test play from Amos.
Is he really that crazy to fake the whole video (edit video from (let's say) sega gameplay with Amos video)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
The CPS1 games are out of the league for Amiga 500 and OCS/ECS machines. Not enough ram, not enough colors, not enough CPU power.
the 1200 is the only good candidate for those games.
Well, Final Fight is already being done.
Most of the people didn't criticized graphics so much, as bad gameplay.
Original FF worked on unexpanded A500.
With fixed gameplay, adding a few more moves, would it be too much to ask for expanded A500 (1MB)?
I mean.. that's double the memory then already game is using.

Quote:
Originally Posted by albino View Post
I ran final fight on my amiga the other night, trust me with a little tweakening the game would have been great..
That brings me to another question.
Would it be possible to somehow mod the existing FF?

Last edited by d4rk3lf; 16 September 2018 at 21:23. Reason: fixing link
d4rk3lf is offline  
Old 16 September 2018, 21:22   #14
Tyball
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 66
I didn't know better back in the day. And I enjoyed playing it many times on my Amiga 500.
Tyball is offline  
Old 16 September 2018, 21:58   #15
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,988
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Aga View Post
Yeah, too bad Final Fight never came out for Amiga.
It...never...came...out!
.
Richard probably wishes he'd never done it, then at least with no Amiga version no one could complain.
Quote:
Originally Posted by d4rk3lf View Post
Dunno mate.
In this [ Show youtube player ] he started test play from Amos.
Is he really that crazy to fake the whole video (edit video from (let's say) sega gameplay with Amos video)?
I said it might be fake and I never say that although it's been fairly common around here
Someone just contact him and ask him what method of scolling he used etc.
There are some really bad slowdown if you look carefully but apart from that it looks almost the same as US Gold version

Quote:
Originally Posted by d4rk3lf View Post

That brings me to another question.
Would it be possible to somehow mod the existing FF?
I think the Pallet and Tiles could be changed for the better but someone would probably still complain about the controls but the Arcade version was never that technically advanced.
Also people complain that the enemies gang up on you and you can't brake free.

Last edited by Retro1234; 16 September 2018 at 22:07.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 16 September 2018, 22:47   #16
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 7,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
I'm afraid you didn't got the point. This game use 128 palettes of 16 colors, and roundly 512 unique colors on screen.

You can't reduce that to 16 colors, otherwise, i get something horrible.

An A500 cannot support 32 colors on a such a game, otherwise, you end up with dwarf characters.

This is a game made for 32bits machine like the A1200 or Falcon.
Politely.... Bollocks.

The majority of arcade machines had colour palettes that dwarfed the Amigas, didn't stop fairly decent conversions occuring.

Final Fight is fairly easy to get right colourwise, as the vast majority of the game only scrolls horizontally right, theres a couple of sub levels that have vertical scrolling, but theres not much variation in the background graphics.

With extensive colour reloading, not only could the game look nearly as colourful as the arcade, it could do it in 32 colour mode, and not lose valuable DMA time to having an extra bitplane for 64 colour mode.

Unlike others, I personally feel Richard Aplin did more than a fair job considering he did it on his own and with limited time.

As bad as people think it is, the alternative to Aplin was Tiertex......... and you would have begged for Richard Aplin to have been given the gig.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 16 September 2018, 22:56   #17
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,627
R. Aplin did a very good job on Double Dragon II (the arcade was not CPS/1, much less powerful). And he wasn't given anything to begin with on FF. He had to rip the gfx from the board, and could not use them as is...

On the other hand, Capcom had superior hardware an probably a team of people to achive this. Not fair
jotd is offline  
Old 16 September 2018, 23:11   #18
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,814
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
40 people worked on FF arcade machine. 5 people just for making the arcade code (1mb !)
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 16 September 2018, 23:12   #19
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,627
But Richard worked 48 hours a day.
jotd is offline  
Old 16 September 2018, 23:54   #20
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,814
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
but richard worked 48 hours a day.
lol
dlfrsilver is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Final Fight AGA Retro1234 request.Old Rare Games 56 10 October 2018 22:00
Final Fight Speculation sandruzzo Retrogaming General Discussion 145 15 July 2018 06:02
Final Fight crashing Shatterhand project.WHDLoad 53 22 July 2016 03:36
Final Fight Dastardly support.Games 3 02 June 2003 00:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10436 seconds with 13 queries