English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 October 2018, 18:21   #21
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steffest View Post
Very weird thing with Personal Paint though ...
If I use the version from https://www.amigaforever.com/classic/download/
- version 7.1 - I get NO save brush as icon option ...
If I use the version that comes bundled with ClassicWB - Also 7.1 , on the same system - there IS a save as icon option.
Are they the exact same versions? There are a couple of different versions of 7.1, with 7.1c being the latest. Also, perhaps there is a plugin, ARexx script or similar that is included with ClassicWB (maybe even the icon.datatype), that's not included in the standard setup.

Quote:
Very weird that Personal Paint was pulled from Aminet.
Yeah, I can understand the reasoning in that development was picked up again, some improvements were made and it was offered for sale, but it was always free to download from Cloanto. It was also offered free by A-Eon after some community grumbling over it being pulled from Aminet, however the download server was always very slow and frequently gave problems when downloading.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 11 October 2018, 19:26   #22
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steffest View Post
Apparently WB 3.1.4 also saves as ColorIcons, not as NewIcons.
I never touched 3.5 or 3.9 when creating these icons.
I can't put my finger on it exactly, I can only observe that the PPaint version of Cloanto behaves differently then the PPaint version included in ClassicWB - even if it's both 7.1.
There is no newicon.library installed with 3.1.4 like in OS 3.5/3.9 or in ClassicWB. I would recommend to install the NewIconEmu from Stephan Rupprecht (link in my previous post).

Quote:
I think I'm just a little lost in all those Icon libraries and what they do exactly. (for example, the default "darken" mode when selected, that's your Library that does that, right?
No, my library creates a simple yellow/orange glow effect if the icon has only 1 image.
PeterK is offline  
Old 11 October 2018, 20:59   #23
Puggsy
Registered User

Puggsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Toronto
Posts: 33
I thought 3.1.4 wouldn't work on CD32. Are you softkicking the 3.1.4 ROM? How? Do you still have CD drive access?
Puggsy is offline  
Old 11 October 2018, 21:53   #24
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,406
@Steffest

you probably don't have personal_icon_io.library installed:

http://aminet.net/package/gfx/ppaint/pio_icon

Also interesting:

http://aminet.net/package/gfx/ppaint/pp2ni
PeterK is offline  
Old 11 October 2018, 22:35   #25
Mark sealey
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 29
Looks awesome....I'm guessing not so awesome looking with a ecs machine ?
Mark sealey is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 01:30   #26
E-Penguin
Banana

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puggsy View Post
I thought 3.1.4 wouldn't work on CD32. Are you softkicking the 3.1.4 ROM? How? Do you still have CD drive access?
I have exactly this question. Are you using loadmodule?
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 01:39   #27
Steffest
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Antwerp / Belgium
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark sealey View Post
I'm guessing not so awesome looking with a ecs machine ?
Indeed, This is specifically targeted to the CD32 - or other AGA machines.
But I do feel the itch to do a ECS theme one day

Quote:
Originally Posted by E-Penguin View Post
I have exactly this question. Are you using loadmodule?
Yes, it loads WB 3.1.4 over a 3.1 rom using loadmodule.
Obviously there's an extra reboot involved when powering up the CD32, but other then that it's super smooth.
Steffest is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 01:42   #28
Steffest
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Antwerp / Belgium
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puggsy View Post
I thought 3.1.4 wouldn't work on CD32. Are you softkicking the 3.1.4 ROM? How? Do you still have CD drive access?
no softkicking the rom, just loadmodule over the the 3.1 rom.
I guess genuine CD32 rom updates will never come, so this would be it.

and yes, CD drive is still accessible
Steffest is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 01:51   #29
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,001
Sorry, I'm late but this 16 colors setup looks amazing. Looking for the icons -that are the best part- and all to be finished

The only problem I see is that you don't have many chip ram left in your system.

Last edited by Retrofan; 15 October 2018 at 01:15.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 04:45   #30
AmigaBill
Registered User

AmigaBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 94
Holy jeepers Steffest that is absolutely beautiful! WOW! Amazing work. It is out of this world man! I am totally going to install this on my 3.1.4 setup. I don't know the 2 utils Color Blocker and Border Blanker. I must learn about those
AmigaBill is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 12:23   #31
fandenivoldsk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaBill View Post
I don't know the 2 utils Color Blocker and Border Blanker. I must learn about those
What are these? Where to find info?

Great looking theme btw!!!
fandenivoldsk is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 12:58   #32
Clydos
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Dresden / Germany
Posts: 60
Wow, this looks awesome! Great work and thanks for sharing!

Sorry for being OT a bit now: About the LoadModule thing ... I heard about it here first. And I see that LoadModule is shipped with 3.1.4 (and it is on Aminet). But as it is shipped with 3.1.4 does this mean that I don't have to care about how this is handled? In other words, does the installation process will take care that the 3.1.4 ROM is properly loaded (I guess via additonal entries in startup-sequence?)? Thanks!
Clydos is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 13:10   #33
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,780
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaBill View Post
I don't know the 2 utils Color Blocker and Border Blanker. I must learn about those
Quote:
Originally Posted by fandenivoldsk View Post
What are these? Where to find info?
BoarderBlank
DamienD is online now  
Old 12 October 2018, 13:22   #34
Steffest
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Antwerp / Belgium
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by fandenivoldsk View Post
What are these? Where to find info?
"Color Blocker" is just what I call them in my head, probably not the official name - sorry about that :-)
It's "palette locker" I guess.

here: http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/FullPalette22

It lets you lock certain colors so your background and icons always look as they should, no matter what colors other program are attempting to set.
(As a side effect, those other programs might not look as good because they will have to live with the colors you have locked)
Steffest is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 16:51   #35
bwldrbst
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 19
Oh wow!

That's made me spend the last hour tweaking the backgrounds and palette of my A2000's NeXTish/MWB greyscale Workbench into something a kind of matches the case...
bwldrbst is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 19:30   #36
fandenivoldsk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 5
Thanks for the replies!
fandenivoldsk is offline  
Old 15 October 2018, 01:12   #37
project23
Used Register

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Liverpool
Age: 35
Posts: 288
My god this makes me wish I had an AGA machine...

This is gorgeous, well done!

That or some RTG setup - 4/8 colours is not enough!!

John
project23 is offline  
Old 18 October 2018, 16:25   #38
MickGyver
Registered User

MickGyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Too close to the North Pole
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steffest View Post
Go to https://github.com/steffest/amiga - top right -> "clone or download"

(or directly to https://github.com/steffest/amiga/archive/master.zip )

It's still a work in progress - lots of icons still missing.
When it's mpore or less complete, I'll package it up.
I just downloaded the master.zip and followed the instructions. I guess the icons are not ready yet and some steps are missing, my WB is not as pretty as yours.

How can I get the correct colours for the windows etc? The fullpalette.prefs made the colours like in the screenshot.

How can I remove the background colour of icon names?

EDIT: Also, how can I have the top WB "header" font colour different from drawer "headers"?

Grateful for any insight!


Last edited by MickGyver; 18 October 2018 at 17:44.
MickGyver is offline  
Old 19 October 2018, 20:10   #39
Steffest
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Antwerp / Belgium
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by MickGyver View Post
How can I get the correct colours for the windows etc? The fullpalette.prefs made the colours like in the screenshot.

How can I remove the background colour of icon names?
Indeed - I fiddled around quite a bit with different icon libraries etc so I might have missed a few steps.
I'll retrace it using a fresh install soon.
Are you on 3.1 or 3.1.4 ?

I've added some instructions for 3.1.4 to https://github.com/steffest/amiga/tr...%20Themes/CD32

You can remove the border of the icons through
  • prefs/Workbench
  • In the "Icons" section on the right set the option "Border Size" to "No
    Border"

You can make the labels below the icons transparent through
  • prefs/Font
  • -> Select Workbench Icon Text
  • -> set "Mode" to "Text" (instead of Text+Field)

Your text colors look indeed a little different - not quite sure why.
I'll do some more tests on 3.1

The Trash and the Expansion Icon are apparently NewIcons instead of ColorIcons.
I guess I messed up there - I'll post here when I have an update.

Anyway, There are lots of manual steps involved ... , annoying, right !?
I should probably look into some install scripts or something, or maybe find a "theme installer" application.

Last edited by Steffest; 19 October 2018 at 20:12. Reason: typos
Steffest is offline  
Old 19 October 2018, 20:46   #40
eteP
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Bovenden/Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 19
Looks awesome! But where do I find the time to play with my CD32 setup again
eteP is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMIStore: Workbench CANDI updated with Easter theme and more! amigakit.com News 0 03 April 2015 20:28
My Workbench 1.3 Sony Ericsson K800i/K850i Theme trackah123 Amiga scene 29 21 July 2013 16:38
theme park and theme hospital did i imagine this title on cd32 sian request.Other 1 07 June 2013 02:43
[Theme] New Overlay Theme for FS-UAE inspired by Amiga CD32 nexusle support.FS-UAE 0 19 January 2013 22:11
A600 Workbench 3.1 mouse color demolition support.Other 6 22 October 2012 23:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09403 seconds with 15 queries