English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 August 2013, 22:13   #1
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
CDTV Power Supply.

I bought one of "Steady's" CDTV Power adapter so I can upgrade the power supply with either an ATX or PicoPSU.

Looking at the original power supply it looks a lot thinner than the PC ATX power supplies.

Has anyone used a PC ATX power supply in their CDTV?

Whichever one I decide to buy, I would like to know if I need an extra switch to power on the ATX or Pico supply. As I understand it the ATX supplies use a momentary switch to power on.

Do PicoPSU's use the same switch?
Arnie is offline  
Old 27 August 2013, 01:06   #2
Stedy
Registered User

Stedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 41
Posts: 619
Hi Arnie,

Most of my customers so far have used a picoPSU, fitted inside the CDTV case. A micro ATX supply might fit but I don't have the CDTV dimensions to comment further.

The CDTV adaptor is designed to be used with the original power switch but will activate the ATX power supply as required.

Ian
Stedy is offline  
Old 27 August 2013, 07:10   #3
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
So, if I opt for the PicoPSU, all I need is a 12v power supply?

I'm thinking of a board from a laptop power brick, wired to the CDTV power connector.
Arnie is offline  
Old 28 August 2013, 23:23   #4
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
PicoPSU fitted.

Ran it for over an hour booting from CD with 2 external floppy drives hooked up and an Indivision ECS.

No problems

Thanks Steady.

Last edited by Arnie; 20 December 2013 at 22:52.
Arnie is offline  
Old 29 August 2013, 18:50   #5
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
Added pics ^
Arnie is offline  
Old 29 August 2013, 20:34   #6
Gounderset
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bergen/Norway
Posts: 6
Looking good What PicoPSU did you use? Im thinking of doing the same with my CDTV.

Regards
Geir Ove
Gounderset is offline  
Old 29 August 2013, 20:38   #7
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
I used a 60w PicoPSU and laptop power supply.

Steady's board is PNP, no problems.
Arnie is offline  
Old 02 September 2013, 22:43   #8
Stedy
Registered User

Stedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 41
Posts: 619
@Arnie

Thanks for the positive feedback and the installation photos, nice to see how neat it looks installed. I designed the adapter from a few photos and the CDTV schematics.

Ian
Stedy is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: A500 power supply or A1200 power supply (USA model) CMA Death Adder MarketPlace 7 01 October 2010 15:10
CDTV Power Supply pinout? chiark support.Hardware 4 21 March 2010 12:00
A1200 Power tower case with Power supply Floppy drives and cables. paul773car MarketPlace 0 31 May 2009 15:55
which power supply is better? klx300r support.Hardware 12 28 March 2008 02:00
can i use a 1200 power supply to power a 500? boing_1000 support.Hardware 5 16 August 2006 02:34

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06589 seconds with 13 queries