English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 July 2013, 14:56   #241
mc6809e
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
@mc6809e:

You can add numbers using the blitter much more directly than that, I thought that was the original intended purpose of fill mode - to propagate the carry bit.
I believe the original purpose of fill mode is to fill

And while the blitter can be used to do addition bit-by-bit, I don't think it's nearly as fast and direct as simply loading two blitter registers and letting Agnus add them in a couple of cycles.

In fact, three additions can be done very quickly by using A,B, and C in one blit.
mc6809e is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 31 July 2013, 15:29   #242
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc6809e View Post
I believe the original purpose of fill mode is to fill
Well! You would think so! But answer me this, why does it fill from right to left, such that you have to use descending mode?

The way the fill mode works, you don't need to worry about bit-by-bit addition, fill mode already carries a bit along from right to left. You could do addition on huge blocks of data (and of arbitrary precision, 128 bit integers, 256 bit integers... 16000 bit integers, whatever). I haven't yet worked out exactly the sequence of blits and minterms you'd need to use but I'm sure it's possible.
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 31 July 2013, 15:46   #243
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,631
Quote:
Originally Posted by xArtx View Post
When the power LEDs go out, do they both go off, or does one LED go off
giving the appearance of the single long LED just going half as bright?
Or does this behaviour change depending on the particular model keyboard?
Both LEDs are driven at the same time. Whether they dim or go off depends on the motherboard. From Rev6 of the A500 onwards they dim.

Quote:
I also remember that there are red/green and green/orange colour
combinations, and wonder if that is tied to any particular models?
Just the age of the machine. Older machines = red power/green drive, newer machines are green power/orange drive.
Jope is offline  
Old 31 July 2013, 15:58   #244
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
if one goes off they both go off if they didnt you would still see one on.
as far a know to set a led half bright just lower the voltage going to it.

as for the different coloured leds,and led is an led you can put any colour in there just like the manufacturer did.
The second part is whether they changed the colours arbitrarily,
or it was indicative of a different model.. such as 500+.
When a guru meditation happens does the power LED flash half as bright or something like that?
xArtx is offline  
Old 31 July 2013, 16:10   #245
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
Oh does anybody know what happens exactly if you do a blitter fill with BOTH Inclusive and Exclusive mode bits set?
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 31 July 2013, 17:46   #246
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
Oh does anybody know what happens exactly if you do a blitter fill with BOTH Inclusive and Exclusive mode bits set?
It sounds like you are able to try it.
I will guess the result is not both operations on the value data.


Not to detract, but one more question because I found the name of the demo recently...
Was it found out how Spaceballs is possible?
xArtx is offline  
Old 31 July 2013, 17:54   #247
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by xArtx View Post
Not to detract, but one more question because I found the name of the demo recently...
Was it found out how Spaceballs is possible?
I'll just assume you mean http://pouet.net/prod.php?which=99 and then you can read about it here http://www.techradar.com/news/comput...tions-715166/2 (scroll down a bit)
TCD is offline  
Old 31 July 2013, 19:03   #248
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
Oh does anybody know what happens exactly if you do a blitter fill with BOTH Inclusive and Exclusive mode bits set?
Normal exclusive mode fill happens.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 31 July 2013, 19:23   #249
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,631
Quote:
Originally Posted by xArtx View Post
The second part is whether they changed the colours arbitrarily,
or it was indicative of a different model.. such as 500+.
Not really arbitrary, at some point (around 1990) they just started shipping them with the green power led. Some people still got machines with red. There is not much to be assumed from the power LED to be honest, just a general idea about the age of the machine.

Quote:
When a guru meditation happens does the power LED flash half as bright or something like that?
Yes, it flashes between bright and dim if the motherboard is of a revision that doesn't turn the LED off.
Jope is offline  
Old 01 August 2013, 02:50   #250
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Not really arbitrary, at some point (around 1990) they just started shipping them with the green power led. Some people still got machines with red. There is not much to be assumed from the power LED to be honest, just a general idea about the age of the machine.

Yes, it flashes between bright and dim if the motherboard is of a revision that doesn't turn the LED off.
It's all good still.. If I'm drawing an animated Amiga, and want to be anal about
it as I do, then I don't want an impossible configuration.
It sounds like an Orange/Green combination where the power LED dims,
on an a500+ is a legitimate combination,
While Red/Green with power LED off for an a500+ is an impossible combination.
So I can go with the former.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Normal exclusive mode fill happens.
Yay!

Quote:
I'll just assume you mean http://pouet.net/prod.php?which=99 and then you can read about it here http://www.techradar.com/news/comput...tions-715166/2 (scroll down a bit)
I never understood how it appears to contain so much data.
Just when you think they are reusing something..
what appears to be new data just keeps coming. I'll have a read
xArtx is offline  
Old 01 August 2013, 13:15   #251
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
Well I've been thinking all night about how to get the blitter to do block addition, and I'm sorry to say I don't think it's possible to get it to do ripple carry using fill mode. But looking at the schematic it was so close, only a couple more gates would have made it possible. The signal is even called "carry" which is maybe a clue.

BUT it is certainly possible to implement a Carry Save Adder fairly easily.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carry-save_adder
So it should also be possible to get it to do multiply-accumulate.
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 03 August 2013, 13:06   #252
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 666
Here's one:
Jay Miner was supposed to have gone off to design the Atari Lynx.
I did a little research on it, and found it uses an embedded 68k,
and some other chips in a single package.
The homebrew community also have a flash cart for it to run their own software (including a GPS).

Does the Lynx have any special similarity to Amiga's?

Why the lack of Jay Miner's name on anything Lynx?
His name is mentioned relating to the Lynx when you research Amiga,
but not when you research the Lynx. Maybe is is around the time we lost him?
xArtx is offline  
Old 03 August 2013, 13:43   #253
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 41
Posts: 2,028
https://atariage.com/Lynx/history.html

Quote:
The Lynx was originally conceived by engineers at Epyx in 1987, where it was called the Handy. Dave Needle and R.J. Mical, two of the Handy's creators, were also members of the original Amiga design team.
I also read somewhere that the original lynx developement systems were amigas, much to Atari managements dissapointment.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 03 August 2013, 14:40   #254
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,015
I think it might be this thread: http://eab.abime.net/coders-general/...tml#post688425
TCD is offline  
Old 05 August 2013, 13:13   #255
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc6809e View Post
It should even be theoretically possible to turn the blitter+copper into a processor that is Turing-complete using a similar technique.
Actually I was thinking about this, it would be trivial to implement Rule 110 (a Turing complete cellular automaton) using just the Blitter. Or at least, a finite number of steps of it. Then use the copper to repeat the process. Not sure how useful it is, but it's good enough as a proof.
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 06 August 2013, 13:29   #256
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 666
So I heard the Amiga has it's own port of UAE.
Where does it get Kickstart from?
Does it use it's own disk drive, or are drives emulated, and still use ADFs?
Can you launch the emulator again, from within the emulation?
Surely someone tried.

It would be interesting to run a benchmark program for each instance.
I imagine it would take a high end Amiga to emulate an Amiga 500.
xArtx is offline  
Old 06 August 2013, 15:05   #257
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 1,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by xArtx View Post
So I heard the Amiga has it's own port of UAE.
Where does it get Kickstart from?
Does it use it's own disk drive, or are drives emulated, and still use ADFs?
Can you launch the emulator again, from within the emulation?
Surely someone tried.

It would be interesting to run a benchmark program for each instance.
I imagine it would take a high end Amiga to emulate an Amiga 500.
We cannot tell you where to get a kickstart from other than by pulling it directly from your real amiga or from Amiga Forever. The kickstarts are still copyrighted so supplying you with them would likely get EAB shut down. Google is your friend though

drives are emulated and disk images are in ADF form unless you're running from a real amiga which can do both ADF and the real thing

emulating Amiga ON Amiga is only needed when you're running AmigaOS 4.x MorphOS AROS etc from a non native amiga system like the SAM systems, G4's or X86 systems. you don't need to emulate the amiga when using the real thing. Although for some stupid reason OS 4.1 for Real PowerPC Amigas does indeed emulate
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 06 August 2013, 15:08   #258
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 1,232
What were these parts of Xcopy for?:



The left one i know goes to 81, but why was the default 79?

what were the ones on the right under Sync used for? in the manual is says that Sync is for advanced users but doesn't say what it does or why we would use it?
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 06 August 2013, 15:18   #259
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 38
Posts: 17,789
If I remember correctly all my copies were copied to 79, not any further. Disk was not readable when something was wrong with 40th track. I don't know why, I was only gamer and still I am.
s2325 is offline  
Old 06 August 2013, 15:20   #260
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by diablothe2nd View Post
We cannot tell you where to get a kickstart from other than by pulling it directly from your real amiga or from Amiga Forever. The kickstarts are still copyrighted so supplying you with them would likely get EAB shut down. Google is your friend though
I think he meant whether it was loading them from the HDD or if it could pull it straight from the real ROM. I have never seen UAE for 68k, but I wouldn't be surprised if it existed. You could also try to run DOS UAE inside PCTask if you need a reason to bang your head against the wall.

Quote:
Originally Posted by diablothe2nd View Post
What were these parts of Xcopy for?:
The left one i know goes to 81, but why was the default 79?

what were the ones on the right under Sync used for? in the manual is says that Sync is for advanced users but doesn't say what it does or why we would use it?
A normal Amiga DOS disk contains 80 tracks, 0 to 79, however most disks and drives can go higher than that. Most will do 82 tracks and a few can do up 84 tracks. Custom disk formats could use this extra space, and I'm guessing some originals do as a copy protection measure.

The sync word tells the Amiga where a track starts. When it reads a track off the floppy it has no idea where it starts and where it ends as it is just a circle. It will search for this sync work in the raw MFM stream which will then indicate the start of the track. Amiga DOS disks always use 4489 sync, but other syncs are sometimes used, mainly for copy protection usage. If a copy program tries to read a protected disk using the wrong sync it will probably not be able to read the track.

Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
If I remember correctly all my copies were copied to 79, not any further. Disk was not readable when something was wrong with 40th track. I don't know why, I was only gamer and still I am.
Track 40 contains the root block which contains information about the disk name, the files in the root etc. so this can be considered as the entry point to reading the disk. If it can't be read, the entire disk is unreadable by conventional means (like losing the partition table on a HDD).
demolition is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gamebase Amiga - 2 Questions Fiery Phoenix New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 13 August 2012 12:31
Amiga CD32 questions pubzombie New to Emulation or Amiga scene 26 24 January 2010 16:27
A few general Amiga questions. Hougham support.Hardware 6 30 April 2008 22:13
Amiga A4000 Questions mfletcher support.Hardware 8 29 April 2008 10:51
Amiga 600 Questions JDunlap support.Hardware 14 20 January 2008 19:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11672 seconds with 14 queries