English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 June 2015, 12:27   #1
SparkyNZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 62
Question WinUAE Debugger - Address Register Watchpoints

Is it possible to watch for the contents of an address or address range being put into a specific address register?

Say for example, that I have some data that lies within address range $70000-$71000 and I want to add a break point when $70200 is moved into A1. Is this possible with the WinUAE debugger?

Its the actual move of the address into the register that I'm interested in, not the access of the address itself.
SparkyNZ is offline  
Old 16 June 2015, 10:52   #2
SparkyNZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 62
I'll answer my own question: No, it's not possible with the current version of WinUAE.

OK, so I've been doing some digging within the WinUAE source myself and I have found that what I'm interested in are changes in state of regs.regs[ 8 thru 15 ] which are the values of A0-A7. I can put some trigger/breakpoints of my own in to look for what I'm interested in.
SparkyNZ is offline  
Old 16 June 2015, 11:11   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,507
Sorry, forgot to answer.

It can be done if it is acceptable that "register breakpoints" are only checked when CPU does memory accesses. Immediate check would make whole emulation slower which is not acceptable.

I guess something like "if ((register[x] & mask) == value) then break" where x = reg num, mask and value are breakpoint parameters would work?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 16 June 2015, 22:39   #4
SparkyNZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I guess something like "if ((register[x] & mask) == value) then break" where x = reg num, mask and value are breakpoint parameters would work?
Thanks Toni. It all depends on what you're using WinUAE for really. As you say it's not really necessary for 99% of use cases. What you suggested would work well but its probably not worth the effort if there's only 1 person such as myself wanting to do this. No doubt I will have other "nice to have" ideas as I progress through my little project but I don't mind hacking my copy of WinUAE for various debugging needs. Its actually quite fun anyway. I wouldn't have been able to accomplish any of this 20 years ago.

Last edited by SparkyNZ; 17 June 2015 at 03:10.
SparkyNZ is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE Debugger - Audio Register Breakpoints SparkyNZ Coders. Asm / Hardware 2 14 June 2015 21:40
WinUAE Debugger Register Display SparkyNZ Coders. Asm / Hardware 3 11 June 2015 20:55
Watchpoints in debugger Zbir support.WinUAE 6 22 November 2010 18:56
Can't get WinUAE to register my ROMs xaero1 support.WinUAE 10 19 December 2008 18:01
Debugger: replace register value AmiGer request.UAE Wishlist 2 06 January 2005 14:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:13.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06462 seconds with 13 queries