English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 July 2012, 07:04   #1
mc6809e
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 320
One "hole" in each scan line to turn off blitter nasty?

Came across something today that I hadn't heard before.

Apparently there is one DMA slot per scan line that can't be used by the blitter under any circumstances. It was suggested that this was done to allow the CPU to turn off blitter-nasty if necessary.

Anyone know anything about this?
mc6809e is offline  
Old 03 July 2012, 13:12   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,321
Not true. Can't be true

It would break lots of demos that do not wait for the blitter and use blit that does not have any free DMA slots. (Usually D=A copy)

Perhaps it meant Copper? Copper can't use last slot (AFAIK only if PAL mode).
Toni Wilen is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Exception "Line 1111 Emulator" ($2c) Error at $1004" when exiting game demolition support.WinUAE 15 30 November 2012 17:43
Mysterious hardware prb causes WHDload "Line 1111 Emulator" errors mr_a500 support.Hardware 38 17 August 2012 12:09
REQ scan of "The Adventurer's Handbook" (Hexuma; German) andreas request.Other 12 01 January 2012 13:56
REQ scan of "Die Kathedrale" (Chronicle book) andreas request.Other 3 08 May 2011 22:35
Nightbreed Interactive Movie - "Line 1111 Emulator" exception MethodGit project.WHDLoad 5 18 April 2007 16:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11197 seconds with 13 queries