English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 April 2012, 00:06   #1
Darklord
 
Posts: n/a
Help with States

Hey Guys,

I recently installed WinUAE to play Dungeon Master, all went well and I was able to complete the first few levels using load and save states to save my progress, however just recently they have stopped working.

When I try to load my newest state I get a CPU trace: Get 00202286 1 2 NOT FOUND! error, and then I get a Software Failure and the game resets... If I go back to a save about half an hour earlier in the game then all will work fine but then within half an hour this error will rear it's ugly head again... I find even doing something such as picking up a club and saving will prevent me loading that save again.

I'm not sure what I have done wrong, do any of you guys have any ideas?

Cheers,

Daniel.
 
Old 03 April 2012, 12:32   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,322
Attach 2-3 different state files that don't work and I'll take a closer look (It is something that shouldn't happen unless there is a bug somewhere)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 03 April 2012, 20:03   #3
Darklord
 
Posts: n/a
Hi Toni,

Here you go, thanks for taking a look.

Daniel.

Last edited by Darklord; 03 April 2012 at 21:24.
 
Old 03 April 2012, 21:02   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,322
Thanks.

EDIT: Could you include _working_ statefile that can be loaded and easily saved again to create broken statefile?


EDIT: Ignore original post below:

Could you create 2 statefiles again but this time also include matching winuaelog.txt when you saved the statefile? (Tick logging option in misc panel before starting emulation to enable log file)

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 03 April 2012 at 21:12.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 03 April 2012, 21:25   #5
Darklord
 
Posts: n/a
Sure this state file works until you take the club out of the first characters hand and hold it with your cursor, move around a little to. Then if you save the state and reload it, the game will crash. (sometimes takes a couple of saves)

Daniel.
Attached Files
File Type: uss Trial.uss (725.3 KB, 220 views)
 
Old 03 April 2012, 21:35   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,322
I found something, full 68020 CE state support isn't yet done (full as in CPU in mid instruction is saved 100% exactly), I guess I forgot.. (68000 is complete)

Quick workaround should be as simple as to disable cycle exact when saving the state. (Dungeon Master probably does not even need CE)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 03 April 2012, 21:41   #7
Darklord
 
Posts: n/a
Excellent, I've changed my settings to 68000 and Fastest possible but maintain chipset timings, should that do the job?

Daniel.
 
Old 03 April 2012, 22:05   #8
Darklord
 
Posts: n/a
Aha I found the cycle exact option you were talking about I've disabled it completely, I've gone back to using a full A500, rather than A1200 seems the better bet.

I've been able to save a state successfully several times with or without a club in my hand, so it looks good.

Thanks for your help.

Daniel.
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Save States Marlon support.WinUAE 9 27 June 2009 04:20
Save states stainy support.WinUAE 5 24 January 2006 16:48
Save States Techx support.WinUAE 1 09 August 2005 20:51
Save States NPI support.Games 5 25 October 2004 22:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09750 seconds with 16 queries