English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 November 2019, 11:43   #1
liquidsmoke
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 79
Some questions about Gotek drives.

- can you copy an ADF from your amiga onto the gotek drive?


- can you use ISO images with a gotek drive?


- how does a gotek handle games that save to floppy disk?
liquidsmoke is offline  
Old 05 November 2019, 11:55   #2
Gordon
Settler
Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Serf City
Posts: 1,408
1. Not directly. You can in theory have a blank adf on the gotek and write an adf located on your amiga to the blank disk on the gotek.

2. No

3. Same a a normal disk drive. Change your gotek slot number to one containing an adf you want to use. You can use winuae to create blank adfs or overwrite an old adf you have
Gordon is offline  
Old 05 November 2019, 12:26   #3
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 616
Quote:
Originally Posted by liquidsmoke View Post
- can you copy an ADF from your amiga onto the gotek drive?
There might be different interpretations of what you mean here. Give an exact example of what you are trying to do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by liquidsmoke View Post
- can you use ISO images with a gotek drive?
No. The Gotek is for emulating a floppy drive, not a CDROM drive.

Quote:
Originally Posted by liquidsmoke View Post
- how does a gotek handle games that save to floppy disk?
You can have a 'blank' image file and you switch to. Depending on the game, you will need this in a specific format - either a blank AmigaDOS formatted disk, of the game will format it for you.

However, please bear in mind that some games require an extended ADF image file (HFE) - like Cannon Fodder for example.

There is a Cannon Fodder Save disk image that can be readily downloaded from:

https://github.com/keirf/FF_Images/b...ster/README.md
solarmon is offline  
Old 05 November 2019, 12:47   #4
liquidsmoke
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarmon View Post
There might be different interpretations of what you mean here. Give an exact example of what you are trying to do.



create an ADF of my old amiga data disks on my a1200

plug gotek into amiga
transfer adfs to the gotek
liquidsmoke is offline  
Old 05 November 2019, 12:59   #5
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 616
Quote:
Originally Posted by liquidsmoke View Post
create an ADF of my old amiga data disks on my a1200

plug gotek into amiga
transfer adfs to the gotek
OK, so you can't transfer direct to the USB stick of the Gotek drive on the Amiga.

You can 'copy' the ADF file to a 'blank' ADF file on the Gotek using something like TSGui, but this will be bit cumbersome and slow for more than 1 file.

I would suggest you use a CF card in the PCMCIA slot to transfer the ADF files on to a PC/Mac and copy the ADF files to the USB stick from there.

Alternatively, have a look at the Greaseweazle project by Keir Fraser - the same author as for FlashFloppy (used on the Gotek) and Amiga Test Kit. This allows you to use a low cost PC floppy drive connected to your PC/Mac/Linux machine (via a low cost Blue Pill STM32 board) and you can read your Amiga disks from there, and then convert to ADF to be used on the Gotek. For bulk processing of floppy disks, this might be a better option.

https://github.com/keirf/Greaseweazle

Last edited by solarmon; 05 November 2019 at 13:05.
solarmon is offline  
Old 05 November 2019, 13:06   #6
Gordon
Settler
Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Serf City
Posts: 1,408
Dont listen to this mug. Get this
https://amigakit.amiga.store/product...oducts_id=1213
Take your USB drive out of your gotek, plug it into this. Transfer the files. Plug it back into the gotek and have plenty of fun!
Gordon is offline  
Old 05 November 2019, 13:24   #7
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon View Post
Dont listen to this mug. Get this
https://amigakit.amiga.store/product...oducts_id=1213
Take your USB drive out of your gotek, plug it into this. Transfer the files. Plug it back into the gotek and have plenty of fun!


I'm a £112.96 better off mug!

Edit: Oh, don't forget the £9.95 for the A1200 backplate too!
solarmon is offline  
Old 05 November 2019, 16:32   #8
liquidsmoke
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 79
the rapidroad looks very good, but i feel £112 for just transfering a handful of adfs is a bit excessive and i cant really justify the expense.



i think ill try the blank adf method as its the cheapest.



cant use my pcmcia slot anymore with 8mb of ram unless im constantly flipping the jumpers around. which is inconvenient tbh.
liquidsmoke is offline  
Old 05 November 2019, 17:01   #9
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 616
Quote:
Originally Posted by liquidsmoke View Post
cant use my pcmcia slot anymore with 8mb of ram unless im constantly flipping the jumpers around. which is inconvenient tbh.
For my 4MB/8MB memory card, I connect the pin headers to a toggle switch using some Dupont cables/connectors. It doesn't really need to be mounted anywhere, just accessible through the trapdoor slot.

The problem with the blank ADF method, is that you can't rename the ADF file from the Gotek itself, so you'll eventually need to get the USB stick back to a PC/Mac/Linux machine anyways.
solarmon is offline  
Old 13 November 2019, 08:05   #10
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,989
Quote:
Originally Posted by liquidsmoke View Post
the rapidroad looks very good, but i feel £112 for just transfering a handful of adfs is a bit excessive and i cant really justify the expense.



i think ill try the blank adf method as its the cheapest.



cant use my pcmcia slot anymore with 8mb of ram unless im constantly flipping the jumpers around. which is inconvenient tbh.
Depending on the board (as I have seen some without), a jumper as mentioned by solarmon can help with the PCMCIA issue for switching between 4MB/8MB, although was this not only an issue with KS 3.1 (as apparently there is no issue with memory allocation in KS 3.0). My preference would be to attach a switch to points instead of the jumper and simply run the wires to come out of the vents at the top of the Amiga (or you could drill the case and attach it properly at the back (like how people used to put a switch for their dual kickstarts)...
lesta_smsc is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FlashFloppy - new firmware for Gotek drives, open source Akira News 962 26 November 2019 13:05
Gotek and Floppy Drives oundfire99 Hardware mods 5 22 November 2018 00:32
using 2x Gotek drives on one Amiga loading floppy images into both of them turrican9 support.Hardware 11 04 January 2016 01:46
If you like Gotek drives and A500s I think you'll be interested in this. Mounty Retrogaming General Discussion 61 30 September 2014 01:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07311 seconds with 13 queries