English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 June 2019, 17:43   #1
Kai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Brighton, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 112
Lightbulb 1MB CHIP RAM replacement board for A500+

Just done a total respin of this, based around newer 40-pin SOJ ISSI DRAM chips - IS41C16257-35's and using SMD 1206 capacitors

This will give a total of 1MB (8Mbit) of CHIP RAM and shouldn't impinge on anything in the trapdoor slot - literally a 1:1 replacement of all the 256k x 4 DRAM chips. Gerbers are all updated as well.

Again - GPL v2 on all of my projects, to fork them, play with them, whatever you'd like. Remember to grab A500 Parts symbols, which have been updated, too.

https://github.com/kr239/A500-DRAM-Board


Last edited by Kai; 02 June 2019 at 18:00. Reason: Replaced image
Kai is offline  
Old 02 June 2019, 23:56   #2
Kai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Brighton, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 112
Added this to PCBWay for people wanting to just order PCB's quickly:

https://www.pcbway.com/project/share...ent_Board.html
Kai is offline  
Old 03 June 2019, 00:08   #3
jediknight
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: bolton
Posts: 144
awesome but how do i install it?
jediknight is offline  
Old 03 June 2019, 01:00   #4
Kai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Brighton, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 112
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by jediknight View Post
awesome but how do i install it?
Step 1) Get PCB
Step 2) Install components
Step 3) Remove the IC's from their sockets
Step 4) Plug this in to the IC socket space

I'm assuming you'll have removed the IC's, or will have soldered IC sockets in place, as there's no reason for you to use this board, unless you have faulty RAM and you don't want to go trawling through eBay for chips from dodgy chinese sellers.

It was originally designed for the soon-to-be-released A500++ boards.
Kai is offline  
Old 03 June 2019, 12:59   #5
Mick
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kai View Post
It was originally designed for the soon-to-be-released A500++ boards.
The what now?
Mick is offline  
Old 03 June 2019, 13:19   #6
talybont
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kai View Post
Step 1) Get PCB
Step 2) Install components
Step 3) Remove the IC's from their sockets
Step 4) Plug this in to the IC socket space

I'm assuming you'll have removed the IC's, or will have soldered IC sockets in place, as there's no reason for you to use this board, unless you have faulty RAM and you don't want to go trawling through eBay for chips from dodgy chinese sellers.

It was originally designed for the soon-to-be-released A500++ boards.

I'm also struggling with how this connects to the motherboard. In the BOM it says "16 x 10-pin SIL Headers (Harwin M20-9771042)", but where on this board do you solder that many pin headers? I can't find the holes for them. Or are this to be soldered on the motherboard?
talybont is offline  
Old 03 June 2019, 13:34   #7
Monkey
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kai View Post
don't want to go trawling through eBay for chips from dodgy chinese sellers.

Just been through this very exercise... only had 1 bad chip out of 25... luckily I only needed 16 chips! All tested and working fine.... did take 2 hours to run through all 99 tests though.. and I still have 8 good chips as spares.
Monkey is offline  
Old 03 June 2019, 16:59   #8
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by talybont View Post
I'm also struggling with how this connects to the motherboard. In the BOM it says "16 x 10-pin SIL Headers (Harwin M20-9771042)", but where on this board do you solder that many pin headers? I can't find the holes for them. Or are this to be soldered on the motherboard?

That info is clearly wrong.. The address lines are the same for all ram chips, so they are taken from one of them. Each chip then has 4 data lines which have to be brought in, and left over is just a few ras/cas signals. This board is thus for an Amiga with 4 OE ram chips, and not 16.
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 03 June 2019, 20:26   #9
Kai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Brighton, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 112
It's for an A500+ - with both RAS0 and RAS1 lines. You're correct - all RAM chips have A0 to A8 being fed in but as the originals are 4 bits wide, you need 4 to deal with D0 to D15 - plus there's the upper CAS and lower CAS to consider, too.

The info is not 'wrong' either - you just don't need to add loads of redundant pins to the board - as long as you have:

A0 to A8
D0 to D15
GND
VCC
UCAS
LCAS
RAS0
RAS1
WE

then you're good to go. There are a few redundant GND and VCC pins just because i felt that a single GND and VCC wasn't enough.
Kai is offline  
Old 03 June 2019, 23:07   #10
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kai View Post
The info is not 'wrong' either

Let's agree to call it misleading then, if the BOM specifies 16x10 header pins
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 04 June 2019, 00:18   #11
Kai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Brighton, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 112
16 strips of 10 then, however you want to phrase it.
Kai is offline  
Old 04 June 2019, 01:13   #12
robinsonb5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kai View Post
16 strips of 10 then, however you want to phrase it.

But why 16 strips? I count 38 through holes on the picture in your first post - surely 4 strips would be sufficient? Or am I missing something obvious?
robinsonb5 is offline  
Old 04 June 2019, 01:51   #13
jediknight
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: bolton
Posts: 144
werent that a500++ board coming out in 2011?
jediknight is offline  
Old 04 June 2019, 10:17   #14
Kai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Brighton, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by robinsonb5 View Post
But why 16 strips? I count 38 through holes on the picture in your first post - surely 4 strips would be sufficient? Or am I missing something obvious?
...you know what - you're absolutely right! XD

I was looking at the BOM and the mouser cart for the rev1, which did use all the original DIP socket pads - so apologies for getting that wrong, i'll update that later today
Kai is offline  
Old 04 June 2019, 10:23   #15
Kai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Brighton, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by jediknight View Post
werent that a500++ board coming out in 2011?
a1k.org released an A500+ board, but once they sold them all, and ran out of parts to sell with them, they stopped the run.

The new A500++ has been reverse engineered by Rob Taylor and looks like this:



This will be available soon.
Kai is offline  
Old 04 June 2019, 13:18   #16
project23
Used Register

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Liverpool
Age: 36
Posts: 427
Oooooooh sh^tballs... you mean to say this will be open?
project23 is offline  
Old 04 June 2019, 14:36   #17
Mick
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 439
Very nice!
Mick is offline  
Old 04 June 2019, 15:00   #18
Kai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Brighton, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by project23 View Post
Oooooooh sh^tballs... you mean to say this will be open?
Not initially - but they won't be expensive
Kai is offline  
Old 07 June 2019, 22:22   #19
Mick
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 439
When that's done has he considered doing a spinoff that supports 8372A Agnus? 2MB Agnus's are getting a bit hard to come by now. He could call it the Amiga 500+-
Mick is offline  
Old 10 June 2019, 14:20   #20
Kai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Brighton, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 112
Haha - this is mostly for the resurrection of A500+'s that have been killed off by VARTAAAAA
Kai is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2MB CHIP RAM replacement PCB's for A500+ and upcoming A500++ boards Kai Hardware mods 19 27 May 2019 00:18
A500 rev 6A, motherboard 1MB chip ram, question about slow ram expansion. x56h34 support.Hardware 6 25 April 2019 17:27
A500 1MB Chip Ram WildW support.Hardware 8 09 November 2018 20:25
A500 Rev5 1Mb Chip Ram Mod gurth Hardware mods 11 16 February 2018 12:13
A500 1MB chip RAM problems Nightfox support.Hardware 15 15 July 2016 21:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09606 seconds with 14 queries