English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 January 2006, 18:22   #1
HardStep
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 151
ATX power supply and Amiga 1200

Hi guys,
Can i use a ATX PSU with A1200 and turn the machine off by software?
HardStep is offline  
Old 25 January 2006, 19:53   #2
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 45
Posts: 1,536
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
atx psu can be used for sure, but software switching "will needs some relay on paralel/whatever port" - just my idea howto do it
Chain is offline  
Old 26 January 2006, 09:12   #3
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,437
It needs a circuit that toggles it's state when you press a pushbutton connected to it..

Then you can make the Amiga's parallel port also toggle the pushbutton momentarily and it will shut down.
Jope is offline  
Old 26 January 2006, 17:01   #4
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 57
Posts: 2,372
Perhaps if you look at the Form Factors site you can get all the info you need on how to do this. Please note section 3.3.2 and the PS_ON# signal, this is an active low signal that tells the power supply unit to turn on from idle or standby mode.

Then go to page 36 to view the main ATX power connector, note the PS_ON# signal pin and any ground pin. Just use an old reset or power switch from a PC chassis, the momentary on kind of switch, to connect them up and there you go
jmmijo is offline  
Old 26 January 2006, 23:18   #5
billy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: US / A
Age: 44
Posts: 134
Aminet has docs on how to wire up a dual flip-flop and a momentary switch for the control of an ATX power supply. It wouldn't be that hard to extend that to a parallel port. Of course you would only have poweroff at shutdown, but how cool.

I use an old 250 watt ATX to power my A600's. She's got an AC switch on her, so all I had to do was jumper the power good signal to ground.

Good luck!
billy is offline  
Old 02 February 2006, 22:06   #6
Dizzy
Pirate
Dizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,395
I just found this guide

he also got some other nice guides http://www.ianstedman.co.uk/Amiga/amiga.html
Dizzy is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATX Power Supply for A4000T Calgor support.Hardware 17 06 October 2018 14:52
Wanted: A1200 power supply or ATX adapter (in London) Akira MarketPlace 5 28 December 2011 18:40
Amiga 1200 UK-US Power Supply Questions..... batfatty New to Emulation or Amiga scene 11 04 December 2008 22:34

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06570 seconds with 13 queries