English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 December 2011, 15:09   #2981
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,557
zipper is offline  
Old 13 December 2011, 15:39   #2982
mikele
Registered User
mikele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: poland
Posts: 301
Today I bought iMac powered by 1.9 Ghz G5 processor with 2 GBs of ram.
PowerPC for the win!
mikele is offline  
Old 13 December 2011, 16:48   #2983
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Bought a nice and cheap motherboard for a Core i5 2500 setup (it's also Ivy Bridge and PCI-E 3.0 compatible according to Biostar ).

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1406304796...84.m1423.l2649
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 13 December 2011, 19:45   #2984
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 41
Posts: 3,241
A2000 - I feel some OCD cleaning coming on this weekend followed by some serious upgrades at the start of 2012
Paul_s is offline  
Old 14 December 2011, 19:22   #2985
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Managed to get an OEM Intel Core i5 2500 CPU for Just £110 + £6 shipping (brand new ).... These are usually around £160 at other online retailers! It's not the 'K' version, but i don't care as i don't bother with overclocking

There's one left here in case anyone else is interested: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2307159790...84.m1497.l2649 (it automatically accepted my offer of £110... Maybe someone can get it lower? Worth a try ).
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 16 December 2011, 03:52   #2986
jimbob
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kilmacolm
Age: 41
Posts: 625
Here's my latest toy grabbing a picture of itself. A prograb 24RT with pcmcia interface. Back when I first had an A600, the mysterious PCMCIA slot promised such magical devices. Since I don't ever recall even seeing one though, I can't resist buying them now. This seems like it might be just a parallel port convertor, I'm gonna see if I can get it to work with my other frame grabber and sampler.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	prograb.jpg
Views:	165
Size:	218.3 KB
ID:	30105  
jimbob is offline  
Old 17 December 2011, 21:58   #2987
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 41
Posts: 5,518
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
Working Commodore 64-I with the light keyboard from "C", 1541-II, four joysticks, about 50 floppies, black datasette from older models adapted to C64 and about 20 cassettes. The price was equivalent of 16 Eur. I know it is a bit bastard set, but I will divide the whole lot to complete my other C64 setups.
Predseda is offline  
Old 17 December 2011, 22:23   #2988
Peter
Still an Amiga user
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 51
Posts: 2,692
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbob View Post
Here's my latest toy grabbing a picture of itself. A prograb 24RT with pcmcia interface. Back when I first had an A600, the mysterious PCMCIA slot promised such magical devices. Since I don't ever recall even seeing one though, I can't resist buying them now. This seems like it might be just a parallel port convertor, I'm gonna see if I can get it to work with my other frame grabber and sampler.

I'd be really interested in seeing what sort of things you can achieve with this and what you do.... be great to see you open a thread to show some examples of what you get up to jimbob.

Actually looks like some fun to play around with...
Peter is offline  
Old 19 December 2011, 22:21   #2989
jimbob
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kilmacolm
Age: 41
Posts: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter View Post
I'd be really interested in seeing what sort of things you can achieve with this and what you do.... be great to see you open a thread to show some examples of what you get up to jimbob.

Actually looks like some fun to play around with...
It is a lot of fun, I would certainly have wet myself with excitement if I'd had this back in 1992. If I achieve anything worthy of it's own thread I'll be sure to share. Meanwhile here is a rather excellent portrait of my dad gazing in wonder at the awesome power of amiga -



'course the A600 can't display all these colours but it looks great in HAM and greyscale. 16 colour portraits also look pretty cool, the capture software has assorted dither and palette selection algorithms. Haven't tried animation yet. Ought to be quite fast with ACA630 and PCMCIA versus 68k and parallel.
jimbob is offline  
Old 20 December 2011, 00:44   #2990
Peter
Still an Amiga user
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 51
Posts: 2,692
That's a really cool image! Your Dad looks like a Chess Grandmaster!

What are you grabbing this image from? A digital Camera?

I think I will start a thread when I get get some time to play with my Vidi device - perhaps I can get prowler to merge your two posts into it...
Peter is offline  
Old 20 December 2011, 03:14   #2991
jimbob
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kilmacolm
Age: 41
Posts: 625
hehe, I'll tell him you said that, he just complained about not really being that wrinkly

Yes, my digi camera has a PAL AV output. This is the actual live image captured by the amiga though, ie, not captured from a still on the camera.

It's a bit silly really, digitised by the camera, back to analogue for PAL output and then digitised again, then again he wouldn't have been their but to check out the new gadget. So even though the camera on it's own is superior in every way, I'm still just as impressed by this as I would be if Andy Warhol himself turned up and painted Debbie Harrys face blue
jimbob is offline  
Old 22 December 2011, 15:34   #2992
mikele
Registered User
mikele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: poland
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Yeah there is an Android UAE, runs well but it's biatch to use the touch screen controls. I have the HTC Desire HD. Games run great but unplayable due to touch screen
someone should add WiiMote support, just like it was done in some iPhone snes emulator.
mikele is offline  
Old 22 December 2011, 17:41   #2993
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,353
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Treated myself to an A604 to replace my A603/Kipper Combo

Oh also bought registrations for HS Math Libs & WarpDT

Last edited by fitzsteve; 22 December 2011 at 18:02.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 22 December 2011, 18:58   #2994
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,824
Thank you Steve, its now on its way to you..
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 22 December 2011, 19:02   #2995
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,353
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com View Post
Thank you Steve, its now on its way to you..
Awesome, thanks for the fast service
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 23 December 2011, 03:27   #2996
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
Part of the mass now.. I just purchase a registration to WHDLoad! Woot for me!

lost
lost_loven is offline  
Old 23 December 2011, 23:09   #2997
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,353
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by lost_loven View Post
Part of the mass now.. I just purchase a registration to WHDLoad! Woot for me!

lost
Nice one Lost_Loven

Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com View Post
Thank you Steve, its now on its way to you..
It's here already (arrived this morning)

Thanks for the speedy service, and in time for Xmas
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 24 December 2011, 00:19   #2998
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,824
I am glad it arrived safely in time for Christmas
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 24 December 2011, 00:22   #2999
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
Woot the key is in da house!!!!!!!

lost
lost_loven is offline  
Old 25 December 2011, 18:36   #3000
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 41
Posts: 5,518
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
Special forces for Amiga.
Predseda is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A4000T - to buy or not to buy? DPainter MarketPlace 33 30 January 2019 14:00
What would you like to buy today? Djay Retrogaming General Discussion 17 04 November 2015 00:51
15% from Farnell UK today! (29/10) xc8 support.Hardware 0 29 October 2009 16:25
Look what i've got today!!! BarrySWE Retrogaming General Discussion 23 19 March 2006 00:49
Dream17 Is One Today! squirminator2k Retrogaming General Discussion 5 20 March 2005 18:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.26218 seconds with 16 queries