English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 April 2019, 18:28   #1
NotBooting500
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 16
Help getting an Amiga 500 to 'see' an original HDD

I'm still pretty new to all things Amiga (I'm old enough to know better, but never had Amigas back in the day)!

I have a fully working 500 with 8A.1 (500+) motherboard, upgraded 1mb chipram and 1.5mb slow ram. It has KS 2.05 ROM and boots reliably from a WB2.1 disk. It also has an extra real floppy drive and a Gotek. I've also successfully transferred adf images to actual disks using Amiga Explorer and a null modem cable.

I've obtained this monster of a HDD unit, made in Germany and called an Amigos. It has a side connector plug and the main unit contains a Seagate ST-250R hard drive. I'm not 100% sure if it even works, but it certainly looks clean and looked after and when powered up the HDD whizzes into life and sound like it's about to take off. The fan also spins, so there is certainly power there.

What are the basic things I need to do to get my Amiga to even see that it now has an HDD? When it's plugged in and turned on, the Amiga starts as normal but doesn't seem to know it has an addition. I'm sure it's something really basic. I found this page which has some info about my HDD:

http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/amigoshd

It states that the main unit and the expansion plug are compatible with FSE, Golem and Comspec. I downloaded and ran the ProMigos_30 file on my Amiga, but it doesn't seem to do or recognise anything.

Is there an idiots guide to getting original HDDs running on an Amiga!?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190418_163031_resized.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	602.9 KB
ID:	62830  
NotBooting500 is offline  
Old 18 April 2019, 19:34   #2
NotBooting500
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 16
In the device that attaches to the expansion port there is a board labelled Promigos with a couple of eproms.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	amigahdd.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	507.9 KB
ID:	62832  

Last edited by NotBooting500; 18 April 2019 at 20:24.
NotBooting500 is offline  
Old 18 April 2019, 21:24   #3
jbilander
Registered User

jbilander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 113
Don't know about amigoshd but what you normally do is you boot from your Workbench/install disk floppies and run HDTools->HDToolBox and click Change Drive Type->Define New->Read Configuration->Ok. Then you partition the drive and save changes to drive. When back in workbench you format the new partitions with selecting the icon(s) and choose format in the menu. Similar to this guide: [ Show youtube player ]
jbilander is offline  
Old 18 April 2019, 21:33   #4
NotBooting500
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 16
It doesn't seem to 'see' the drive at all. e.g. when I boot and hold both mouse buttons, it isn't shown.
NotBooting500 is offline  
Old 18 April 2019, 21:37   #5
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,288
This particular add-on is not familiar to me, but generally hard drive expansions (once Workbench is installed) should just boot up. It seems likely that this hard drive is not working, even if it is spinning. The Amiga Resource site had a couple of disk images for the drive, have you looked at what is on those? Perhaps there is a readme or a manual.
ajk is offline  
Old 18 April 2019, 21:49   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,349
Does WB Tools/ShowConfig or SysInfo (or similar) list any autoconfig devices?

Unfortunately I am not sure if controller is using autoconfig (even when autoboot ROM expansion board is installed). Some early HD controllers used "$f00000" diagnostics rom space.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 18 April 2019, 21:50   #7
NotBooting500
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 16
From what I can tell, those images contain compatible drivers and some other stuff but not specifically for this model hdd. I'll check for readmes now.
NotBooting500 is offline  
Old 18 April 2019, 21:59   #8
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,557
?can use FSE Boil or Elaborate Bytes ALF 2 driver software
So the Boil disk should work or install disk from http://amiga.resource.cx/search.pl?product=alf+2
zipper is offline  
Old 18 April 2019, 23:09   #9
NotBooting500
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 16
I tried the Boil disk. There is a thing on it to setup first but that has some important variables greyed out, like it doesn't even see there is an HDD present. And it won't go any further.

Am I right in thinking that whatever I need to do to configure it - first I need for it to be visible to the Amiga when I boot and hold both mouse buttons down?
NotBooting500 is offline  
Old 18 April 2019, 23:14   #10
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,975
Could it be that the module works but HDD is faulty? My A600 wouldn't detect HDD when it failed. It would spin up fine. However in PC's the HDD usually click, spin down and then spin up again.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 19 April 2019, 00:54   #11
NotBooting500
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 16
It could be I suppose. I don't have and nor can I find a known working HDD with those types of connectors (a 34 connector ribbon and an a 20 connector... what is that type of connection even called?!).
NotBooting500 is offline  
Old 19 April 2019, 01:47   #12
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 37
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by NotBooting500 View Post
It could be I suppose. I don't have and nor can I find a known working HDD with those types of connectors (a 34 connector ribbon and an a 20 connector... what is that type of connection even called?!).
ST506 Interface - https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/ST506/ST412
indigolemon is offline  
Old 19 April 2019, 13:19   #13
NotBooting500
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 16
Excellent thanks. That explains the ST412 on one of the eproms. If anyone has such a drive that works and I can borrow to rule it out, that would be great.

Today I'm going to disconnect the loud fan and see what noises the drive makes. On the HDD control board there is also a 2nd set of pins for another 20 pin connector, so I'll try running it from that one too. Can't hurt.
NotBooting500 is offline  
Old 19 April 2019, 18:31   #14
NotBooting500
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 16
Thanks to the help of another member who pm'd me, it seems the eproms in the interface that attaches to the Amiga port are toast! So my next mission is to try and find either the data to get 2 roms burnt, or to find replacement roms. Not easy for very old stuff like this! And of course even with that fixed, there's still no guarantee that it'll work.
NotBooting500 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alfadata Alfapower AT-Bus HDD for Amiga 500+ with cf card reader A-500 Plus support.Hardware 8 23 December 2018 16:12
Amiga 500 ***Restored, Retr0brite, Original, Mint*** cwingrove MarketPlace 9 05 July 2013 17:39
38 Original Amiga 500 songs! albert1970 Amiga scene 12 19 December 2012 22:43
WANTED: Hdd Ide Controller - Amiga 500 Luposole MarketPlace 10 07 November 2011 01:05
Amiga 500, 20 Mb hdd, WB Unregistered support.Hardware 1 22 October 2004 22:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09675 seconds with 16 queries