English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 March 2019, 20:04   #1
pubzombie
Registered User

pubzombie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: westmids
Posts: 885
checking A1200 battery and caps ?

Hi all,
Ive got three A1200s set up. And Ive never checked them for battery leak or capacitor leakage.
One has a 030 blizzard the others are unexpended.
Is there any particular place on the board I should be looking? a part particularly prone to problems?
cheers.
edit - all three year dates are 1978 that makes me suspect a battery is flat at least?
S
pubzombie is offline  
Old 30 March 2019, 20:33   #2
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,288
The capacitors you are looking for are little silver cans with black bases. The leakage would appear as oily residue around them, the solder joints may be dull instead of shiny and if it's really bad, the green solder mask might be flaking off too. Dust also tends to stick to the leaked electrolyte more than elsewhere on the board.

An A1200 does not as standard have a real-time clock, so it's normal that the date has dropped back to 1978. The one with the Blizzard should have a clock, so its battery is probably long since gone.

ajk is offline  
Old 30 March 2019, 20:39   #3
pubzombie
Registered User

pubzombie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: westmids
Posts: 885
ok - gonna check them ! Thank you ajk
pubzombie is offline  
Old 01 April 2019, 21:12   #4
pubzombie
Registered User

pubzombie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: westmids
Posts: 885
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajk View Post
The capacitors you are looking for are little silver cans with black bases. The leakage would appear as oily residue around them, the solder joints may be dull instead of shiny and if it's really bad, the green solder mask might be flaking off too. Dust also tends to stick to the leaked electrolyte more than elsewhere on the board.

An A1200 does not as standard have a real-time clock, so it's normal that the date has dropped back to 1978. The one with the Blizzard should have a clock, so its battery is probably long since gone.

the caps on my main A1200 seem dry and ok.
However, the battery on the 030 is indeed long dead - its not leaking as far as I can see but needs changing.
NOOB alert - how do I change it lol!! And do I need an exact replacement.
It seems to have a plastic surround and i cant seem to slide it out as there is a processor in the way (FPU???)
thanks for your time and help!!!
Steve
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2215.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	1,006.7 KB
ID:	62622   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2213.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	783.6 KB
ID:	62623  
pubzombie is offline  
Old 01 April 2019, 22:33   #5
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 37
Posts: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by pubzombie View Post
the caps on my main A1200 seem dry and ok.
However, the battery on the 030 is indeed long dead - its not leaking as far as I can see but needs changing.
NOOB alert - how do I change it lol!! And do I need an exact replacement.
It seems to have a plastic surround and i cant seem to slide it out as there is a processor in the way (FPU???)
thanks for your time and help!!!
Steve
Hi Steve,

To be honest even if the caps seem fine, if you know they have never been changed, I'd factor in plans to get them done at some point soon anyway. Commodore used cheap parts (no one expected us to be using these machines 20+ years later!), and ideally you want them swapped for quality parts before they leak - as that way you avoid any damage.

The battery on the Blizzard is soldered in place, however it's not prone to leaking so you don't have to worry about that. Its likely to be either a VL2020 (rechargeable) or a CR2032 variant (non-rechargeable). It would be worth checking which it is, and getting that swapped by someone handy with a soldering iron.

[edit] Your pictures show it's a VL2020 - BMW used these in their car keyfobs so they are pretty easy to get hold of

Graham
indigolemon is offline  
Old 02 April 2019, 07:09   #6
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,288
Indeed, that VL2020 is a rechargeable variant (although even they will of course eventually stop working) which is soldered in place. Even though it looks like the battery is clipped into a holder, those tabs are actually welded on so it can't be replaced other than by soldering. Not difficult to do, but if you don't have any experience with such things, best left to someone who does.
ajk is offline  
Old 02 April 2019, 19:03   #7
pubzombie
Registered User

pubzombie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: westmids
Posts: 885
ajk/indigolemon,
thank you! Im paranoid now - need to check the rest of my amigas, C64s and C128s!!!
I can build my own PCs but not touched a soldering iron for a long time. Will need to find somebody who knows what they are doing
Steve
pubzombie is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1200 memory expansion - Remove battery? sirlemonhead support.Hardware 6 24 June 2016 19:00
ACA1231 + A1200 + Battery = Clock not saved? Turran support.Hardware 8 18 June 2012 00:28
A1200 video caps beanz support.Hardware 6 07 April 2012 01:47
A1200 Turbo 1220 battery Questions support.Hardware 2 01 February 2012 04:30
Battery removal, hardware blueprint A1200 r0ber7 support.Hardware 3 24 August 2011 07:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06846 seconds with 16 queries