English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 October 2018, 14:23   #1
Higgy
Registered User

Higgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Back in Somerset
Posts: 468
Original XBOX? - remove Clock Cap now, PCB killer!

Hi,


I hope this helps someone. I read the other day that the Clock Capacitor leaks on the original XBOX (I guess if a battery was used we could still have the same situation!).


Anyway I opened up my XBOX and sure enough it had started to leak. Thankfully there was no PCB damage.


Loads of info/guides on Web/Youtube.
Higgy is offline  
Old 17 October 2018, 14:30   #2
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 37
Posts: 741
Well, that's what I'll be doing tonight then
indigolemon is offline  
Old 17 October 2018, 20:59   #3
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 950
Erk. What to replace it with? I do like the time set correctly.
rare_j is offline  
Old 17 October 2018, 21:09   #4
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 47
Posts: 2,849
Shit... another thing to worry about...

Thank you!
Anubis is offline  
Old 17 October 2018, 22:00   #5
spiff
Oh noes!
spiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Neverland
Posts: 708
No worries, I've got a X360 that's backwards compatible. Those things are built to last!
spiff is offline  
Old 17 October 2018, 22:20   #6
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,352
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiff View Post
No worries, I've got a X360 that's backwards compatible. Those things are built to last!
Except when they melt their own innards
Daedalus is online now  
Old 17 October 2018, 22:47   #7
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 3,404
I did this years ago, I thought it was common knowledge.

If it's modded and have a custom dashboard it's not an issue, clock/date will be set automatically on each boot as long as it's connected to the interwebs.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 17 October 2018, 23:10   #8
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 950
A quick google suggests this is less of an issue for v1.6 xboxes, where microsoft used higher quality caps.
rare_j is offline  
Old 17 October 2018, 23:22   #9
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 3,404
Correct, also v1.6 boxes needs a cap in place or else they wont boot.
It'll have to be replaced with a similar cap (if needed) and not just removed.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 18 October 2018, 00:14   #10
Higgy
Registered User

Higgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Back in Somerset
Posts: 468
1F 2.5v is orignal value.
I can't see why you cant fit in a lower capacitance value, but yeah it won't hold the time long after unplugging it.
A 1.6 boots with a 3300uF 10V cap.
Higgy is offline  
Old 18 October 2018, 01:08   #11
nexus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 727
you can always use a cap that has more than the rated volts of the original
always ok to go over on the volts never under
nexus is offline  
Old 18 October 2018, 01:13   #12
nexus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiff View Post
No worries, I've got a X360 that's backwards compatible. Those things are built to last!
lol that cant be farther from the truth
just fyi the PHAT old models are just fine if you fix the shroud
they fucked up and design it wrong so the air wasnt forced through the heatsink blades
i figured that out over 10 years ago when i was repairing them in my shop
every unit i would just use cardboard to extend it both on cpu and gpu
never once have i ever had someone bring any back after that mod
and no 12v fan mod etc ever needed
as a matter of fact the fan will never go high unless it is clogged by dust etc
nexus is offline  
Old 23 October 2018, 18:46   #13
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 627
Good thing I saw this thread. I have a 1.0 Xbox and after reading this I opened it up last weekend to check. The cap leaked all over, so I pulled it and cleaned the board with baking powder + water, then a final cleaning with rubbing alcohol. Everything still works on it (minus the clock now).
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 30 October 2018, 02:08   #14
Retro_71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 31
More things to look out for will be looking at my Xbox tonight.
I wonder what other problems are out there for all the different consoles and stuff.... time to search..
Retro_71 is offline  
Old 03 February 2019, 05:30   #15
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,561
Can't we use a Lithium battery (es. CR2032 + socket + diode) somehow?
Supamax is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
original xbox for retrogaming? mikele Retrogaming General Discussion 37 02 September 2017 20:18
For Sale: Unmodified Original Xbox with Extras davideo MarketPlace 0 31 January 2011 23:58
Original Black Xbox XBMC scrappysphinx MarketPlace 32 18 January 2011 20:57
Original modded Xbox For A1200 jailer Swapshop 4 23 December 2009 01:22
Remove empty clock battery? viddi support.Hardware 27 25 September 2007 21:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08023 seconds with 15 queries