English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Misc > MarketPlace

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 June 2006, 09:21   #1
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,446
OS3.9 & 3.1 Rom

These Amiga suppliers over here are a lazy pack of idiots. Ive been enquiring about OS3.9 and the Roms for a while now, and they are just not being informative enough.. so it looks like the only way to get them is through you guys.

Is anyone on here interested in selling thier Original copy of OS3.9 or 3.1 kickstart Rom chips, or both!?..

I have my school holidays coming up soon ( working & studying ) and i will finally have free time to play around with my Amiga after 6 years of hibernation!.. I want to get all the bits before my study break starts!.. who can help me!??????
blade002 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 June 2006, 14:10   #2
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,542
I know..., Amigainnovations is a plonker, and the one (forget the name) in Brisbane has its website not working for like 6+ months..

Amigakit is Expensive for 3.1 Roms, but is a quick sender (Overcharges for postage too).

Vesalia.de have A1200 3.1 roms for the exchange rate of AU$30.35 (17.90 euro).., and 3.9CD for the exchange rate of AU$67.64 (39.90 Euro).

I would suggest ordering from them, forget the useless (swearword) amiga dealers here in Australia.
whiteb is offline  
Old 01 June 2006, 14:54   #3
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,446
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteb
I know..., Amigainnovations is a plonker, and the one (forget the name) in Brisbane has its website not working for like 6+ months..

Amigakit is Expensive for 3.1 Roms, but is a quick sender (Overcharges for postage too).

Vesalia.de have A1200 3.1 roms for the exchange rate of AU$30.35 (17.90 euro).., and 3.9CD for the exchange rate of AU$67.64 (39.90 Euro).

I would suggest ordering from them, forget the useless (swearword) amiga dealers here in Australia.
Yeah Amigainnovations are the ones that a pissing me off the most, so your definately not wrong there mate!. And yep, i will be surely ordering from Amikit.. I dont mind paying the extra if it means "actually" getting them!!!...

Thanks for the info whiteb.. as always you come through with the goods
blade002 is offline  
Old 01 June 2006, 15:04   #4
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade002
Yeah Amigainnovations are the ones that a pissing me off the most, so your definately not wrong there mate!. And yep, i will be surely ordering from Amikit.. I dont mind paying the extra if it means "actually" getting them!!!...

Thanks for the info whiteb.. as always you come through with the goods
Well i have been following some threads on A.org and Amigaworld and people swear by Vesalia.de too.

Amigakit, tend to bump up the postage (charged me 11 pounds, postage stamp was 1 pound).

And the prices for Vesalia are cheaper than Amigakit, i expect the postage to be less too.
whiteb is offline  
Old 01 June 2006, 15:11   #5
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,370
Vesalia gets the vote from me
kriz is online now  
Old 01 June 2006, 15:42   #6
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,715
@blade002

Airmail shipping of AmigaOS 3.9 bundle deal with A1200 3.1 ROMs is £4.28 to Australia

@whiteb

Thank you for your feedback.

You stated that we charged you £11, however our records say £2.85 for one order and £2.58 (USD 4.81) for the second order.

Last edited by amigakit.com; 01 June 2006 at 15:53.
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 01 June 2006, 17:08   #7
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
I would pay more postage and receive the item in good time, than pay cheap and wait 1 month to get it...
I have bought from vesalia a replacement 1200 keyboard and a 600 one, and despite my wish they were send as "economy" packet...
keropi is offline  
Old 01 June 2006, 18:26   #8
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteb
Well i have been following some threads on A.org and Amigaworld and people swear by Vesalia.de too.
There are more than just a few who don't either. Seems Vesalia has improved recently (perhaps in response to criticism), but as Keropi has said the Vesalia owner can still be quite slow filling orders....and more so if you're outside Europe. I've got a friend in Germany who has bought from them many times and even he admits that Vesalia can sometimes be slow sending stocked items to customers in Germany.

Quote:
Amigakit, tend to bump up the postage (charged me 11 pounds, postage stamp was 1 pound).
Haven't heard that about AmigaKit.

Quote:
And the prices for Vesalia are cheaper than Amigakit, i expect the postage to be less too.
Doubt it. German airmail is hugely expensive and sending packages (up to 2kg) to Australia costs a minimum of 13 EUR (AU$22).

@blade002
I'd recommend you go with Software Hut or AmigaKit (see above) if you don't mind paying a little more for faster service.

Last edited by DrBong; 01 June 2006 at 18:33.
DrBong is offline  
Old 31 December 2017, 04:14   #9
jimbobs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: leicester uk
Posts: 2
amigakit are good
jimbobs is offline  
Old 31 December 2017, 22:59   #10
pgovotsos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: US
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbobs View Post
amigakit are good
You do realize that you replied to a thread that has been dead for 11 years?
pgovotsos is online now  
Old 07 January 2018, 15:48   #11
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,446
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgovotsos View Post
You do realize that you replied to a thread that has been dead for 11 years?
Wow that's an old thread that I started, I was only 32 years old back then

11 years later though and a response
blade002 is offline  
Old 07 January 2018, 16:49   #12
dannyp1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 145
Hopefully they are never dead. Only hibernating.
dannyp1 is offline  
Old 08 January 2018, 02:44   #13
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,512
@blade002: So, who did you order from in the end, you never did reply back?
BarryB is offline  
Old 08 January 2018, 16:02   #14
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,446
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
@blade002: So, who did you order from in the end, you never did reply back?
I feel like a bit of dick now not getting back to you way back then

In answer to you question though 11 years later, I have no idea because it was so damn long ago?! I might just do more of this in case it jogs my memory
blade002 is offline  
Old 09 January 2018, 00:14   #15
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,715
I hope you ordered from us back in 2006
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 09 January 2018, 06:36   #16
Mrz
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 120
please note > for OS 3.9 you don't need 3.1 roms
(this is a urban myth)
having 3.0 roms OS 3.9 will work fine
fact is the workbench.library crash wickedly if roms 3.0 are detected

developers done it on purpose to sell rom 3.1 kits

you can install OS3.9 if you have roms3.0, then you must replace the original workbench library with version 45.132 version included in Boing bag 3 and boing bag 4 unnoficial packages, this remove the evil roms3.0 limitation
Mrz is offline  
Old 09 January 2018, 12:23   #17
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,455
You can say the same about any ROMs - just replace the parts that aren't compatible with the newer OS and it should be fine. Most people like to do that by either replacing the ROMs or softkicking it, but if it makes you happy to use some odd combination of libraries and modules just to stick it to "the man", then good for you.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 12 January 2018, 23:38   #18
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,512
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade002 View Post
I feel like a bit of dick now not getting back to you way back then

In answer to you question though 11 years later, I have no idea because it was so damn long ago?! I might just do more of this in case it jogs my memory
Yeah, just keep head banging man, you'll remember
BarryB is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Non Working CD ROM Drivers in OS3.9 roberthazelby support.Hardware 8 08 October 2010 01:51
Can't get my CD32-CD-Rom recognized in Amigasys4(OS3.9BB2) Ebster support.Hardware 24 28 September 2008 10:10
A1200 4-Way IDE Adapter: IDEfix & CD-ROM support in OS3.9 StevenJGore support.Hardware 8 01 June 2008 01:27
CD ROM Drivers With OS3.9 roberthazelby support.Apps 1 30 September 2005 10:34

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.48406 seconds with 14 queries