English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 July 2017, 21:03   #1
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 242
Exult RTG freezes

Hey guys,

I am having an issue getting Exult RTG to work. It freezes with gray screen and fails to run all together and need to reboot Amiga. But exult AGA works fine. Any idea how to make exult RTG to work?

Thanks in advance.
xboxown is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 July 2017, 23:24   #2
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 831
Did you run the prefs?
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 24 July 2017, 23:48   #3
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 242
I can double click prefs until my finger fall off...nothing happens.
xboxown is offline  
Old 25 July 2017, 00:24   #4
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 831
Fix that first.
Also this you give you +100XP in baking, just remember like I said you have to use duck eggs.
http://hoglundshomemade.blogspot.com...g-brioche.html

Oh wait, I think I know what's wrong. Let me send you this file.

Last edited by grelbfarlk; 25 July 2017 at 00:59.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 25 July 2017, 01:07   #5
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 242
hey man! Missed ya! Come back to the #apollo-team channel man I missed your comments !

What file? You did not send me file.
xboxown is offline  
Old 25 July 2017, 05:05   #6
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxown View Post
Hey guys,

I am having an issue getting Exult RTG to work. It freezes with gray screen and fails to run all together and need to reboot Amiga. But exult AGA works fine. Any idea how to make exult RTG to work?

Thanks in advance.
That's because Exult AGA rocks!

I wonder why I didn't bother to do an RTG version too, must have got lazy in my old age
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 25 July 2017, 05:26   #7
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
That's because Exult AGA rocks!

I wonder why I didn't bother to do an RTG version too, must have got lazy in my old age
We missed ya in the Amiga community. Please come back! We need that brain of yours!!
xboxown is offline  
Old 25 July 2017, 05:28   #8
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
Fix that first.
Also this you give you +100XP in baking, just remember like I said you have to use duck eggs.
http://hoglundshomemade.blogspot.com...g-brioche.html

Oh wait, I think I know what's wrong. Let me send you this file.
Hehe! I loved your messages you left for me in IRC. I laughed at everyone. The reason I did not reply instantly because I was not at home. I was at work. I did not come back home until 7:20 PM to be honest. - sniff -.

I extracted the files as you said and placed them in the root directory of exult...i.e,

Exult/<files>

and still no result. Prefs fails to open...-sniff- and exult refuses to go beyond freeze mode. I mean, it is nice to stop my disk drive from ticking but I could do the same thing with just inserting a floppy disk inside of the drive as well.

Sowwy
xboxown is offline  
Old 25 July 2017, 13:48   #9
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 831
Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxown View Post
Hehe! I loved your messages you left for me in IRC. I laughed at everyone. The reason I did not reply instantly because I was not at home. I was at work. I did not come back home until 7:20 PM to be honest. - sniff -.

I extracted the files as you said and placed them in the root directory of exult...i.e,

Exult/<files>

and still no result. Prefs fails to open...-sniff- and exult refuses to go beyond freeze mode. I mean, it is nice to stop my disk drive from ticking but I could do the same thing with just inserting a floppy disk inside of the drive as well.

Sowwy
You need to put them in Exult/Data/.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 25 July 2017, 18:15   #10
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
You need to put them in Exult/Data/.
heheh

Nice....erm....iff...uh.......yeah!! The prefs worked - coughs - uh...ahem....but the main exult itself still freezes....erm. However, I did manage to uh increase it's resolution and assign where the game data is..but still freezes.
xboxown is offline  
Old 25 July 2017, 23:20   #11
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 831
Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxown View Post
heheh

Nice....erm....iff...uh.......yeah!! The prefs worked - coughs - uh...ahem....but the main exult itself still freezes....erm. However, I did manage to uh increase it's resolution and assign where the game data is..but still freezes.
You probably want to try running in windowed mode first, that's what I always have to do on first launch.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 26 July 2017, 06:14   #12
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 242
It opens in windows mode then gurus and reboots, I tried again..it opened in windows mode but black screen no activity and when I rebooted the third time and went full screen, froze again in gray screen and no activity.

The entire thing is garbage and unstable. It needs a new look into the source code and optimized better with a new version.
xboxown is offline  
Old 26 July 2017, 13:39   #13
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 831
Works fine here, you did install AMIDI and all that right? Once you have that set up you can test it with the PlayMIDI application included in the archive.

Maybe that FPU-Emulator isn't so great.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 26 July 2017, 17:40   #14
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
Works fine here, you did install AMIDI and all that right? Once you have that set up you can test it with the PlayMIDI application included in the archive.

Maybe that FPU-Emulator isn't so great.
The FPU Emulator is as good as WinUAE emulating it's FPU and as great as real FPU in 030/040/060 accelerators as good as real chipset you buy online.

I did not install AMIDI and don't know nothing about it.
xboxown is offline  
Old 26 July 2017, 23:28   #15
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 831
Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxown View Post
The FPU Emulator is as good as WinUAE emulating it's FPU and as great as real FPU in 020 accelerators as good as real chipset you buy online.
Riiiight.


Quote:
I did not install AMIDI and don't know nothing about it.
It's in the system requirements, did you disable MIDI?
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 27 July 2017, 03:25   #16
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
Riiiight.




It's in the system requirements, did you disable MIDI?
I will look into it.
xboxown is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exult (Ultima VII) Amiga Version Chris1965 request.Apps 2 13 August 2012 16:58
Exult macce2 request.Old Rare Games 38 21 June 2009 19:12
Exult for Amiga oldpx request.Apps 19 23 July 2007 23:30
WinUAE still freezes with "Faster RTG mode" enabled StingRay support.WinUAE 4 13 April 2007 09:34
Exult for Amiga macce2 Retrogaming General Discussion 8 13 May 2005 20:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20580 seconds with 15 queries