English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 January 2020, 15:34   #141
Matt020
Registered User
Matt020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: West Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 177
I am using an A2000 with a megachip 2mb chipmem, and I think the A500 version would foul the megachip.

So, I believe an A600 version would suit me.

Is there an expected launch date for an A600 version?

Cheers.
Matt020 is offline  
Old 14 February 2020, 04:07   #142
eristocratic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Brainerd MN USA
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by katarakt View Post
Is the romulator compatible with wicher 500i in A500 ?
Not for me, sadly.
eristocratic is offline  
Old 15 February 2020, 20:45   #143
katarakt
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 151
Thanks for info! Very very bad news

Any idea why this is not working? Maybe the creators can fix this with a romulator FW update ?

Luckily i haven't ordered the romulator yet, but now i don't know what to do. I prepared my case with an ext. USB port especially for the romulator
katarakt is offline  
Old 15 February 2020, 20:47   #144
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 37
Posts: 759
Does the witcher have a rom onboard, or hold the machine in reset in any way?
indigolemon is online now  
Old 19 February 2020, 08:52   #145
eristocratic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Brainerd MN USA
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by katarakt View Post
Thanks for info! Very very bad news

Any idea why this is not working? Maybe the creators can fix this with a romulator FW update ?

Luckily i haven't ordered the romulator yet, but now i don't know what to do. I prepared my case with an ext. USB port especially for the romulator
Well to be fair, it "works" as in it gets into the selection menu, but whatever rom you select isn't often the rom it will load - it seems to load one at random.

Based on my generally faulty memory (I purchased it in Nov 2019 so it's been a bit) and a paltry 3 use cases, it seemed to be a general incompatibility with anything that's not a stock 68000... Not exactly conclusive but that's all I had/have to test with. I pulled the Wicher out and put a 68000 back in and worked great. I next tried it with a TF534, and it behaved similarly to the Wicher.

I haven't used it since I bought it, as AmigaOnTheLake never replied to my queries and kipper2k doesn't actually have a webpage that I'm aware of with any kind of support. Personally I wonder just how much testing on accelerated machines this potentially wonderful device got, but maybe I'm just thinking out of frustration... Hopefully there will be a firmware update posted someday somewhere.

BTW these were legit roms I captured from my working machines, not that I think it really matters. If you get lucky and it picks the right rom it seems to work fine, as I recall.

Quote:
Originally Posted by indigolemon View Post
Does the witcher have a rom onboard, or hold the machine in reset in any way?
Nope, unless there's something going on of which I am unaware. Technically it works, but not in a predictable way.

If anyone's got something they would like me to test I'd be happy to try if I can, but my resources are a bit limited in that respect as I don't have a lot of A500 stuff to play with.

Last edited by eristocratic; 19 February 2020 at 09:20.
eristocratic is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 16:26   #146
mkstr
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by eristocratic View Post
Well to be fair, it "works" as in it gets into the selection menu, but whatever rom you select isn't often the rom it will load - it seems to load one at random.
This is a useful data point.

The firmware was developed on an unaccelerated A500+, for that is the only 68000 machine I have, and although it has been tested on a range of other 16-bit machines they were probably all stock configurations.

If someone wants to loan me a "known bad" accelerator I'm happy to spend some time on it, and you can update the firmware in the Romulator easily provided you are prepared to butcher a USB cable to connect to it. Obviously it would be best if the loan accelerator was already in the UK, or at least Europe.

Either way I will check its operation with our FPGA accelerator once we have the hardware. The prototype board is too cumbersome to allow the Romulator to be installed at the same time unfortunately.

Mike
mkstr is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 20:56   #147
eristocratic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Brainerd MN USA
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkstr View Post
This is a useful data point.

If someone wants to loan me a "known bad" accelerator I'm happy to spend some time on it, and you can update the firmware in the Romulator easily provided you are prepared to butcher a USB cable to connect to it. Obviously it would be best if the loan accelerator was already in the UK, or at least Europe.

Mike
That's great news! Unfortunately I'm in the US so shipping costs would be prohibitively high to send one of my accelerators out... Hopefully someone else can step in and help to get this solved.

Sometime this week I think I'll break out the Romulator and retest the behavior a bit more closely, in case I can provide a better explanation of its behavior. When I get that done, I'll chime back in here - probably over the weekend.

Thanks Mike
eristocratic is offline  
Old 20 February 2020, 19:51   #148
katarakt
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 151
This sounds very good. I hope someone can provide an accelerator card to get the problem solved from Mike
katarakt is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted : Amiga A500/A600/A1200 Power Connectors Zetr0 MarketPlace 2 21 April 2014 12:53
A1200, A600, A500+ and A500 maddoc666 MarketPlace 1 22 May 2011 10:11
Ian "tinkering with Amiga's since 1986" Stedman's A500/A600/A1200 ATX power adaptor Paul_s MarketPlace 0 05 October 2010 23:39
Amiga SVideo Adapters A500 / A600 / A1000 / A1200 / A4000 Zetr0 MarketPlace 194 12 December 2009 21:48
A500 Vs A600 MoonStone-500 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 03 June 2002 00:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07227 seconds with 16 queries