English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 October 2018, 14:16   #201
xraynorm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: suffolk
Posts: 63
Hi Kipper2k

Will the a1200 Cherry MX keyboards require the original metal frame from the old keyboard to sit in?
xraynorm is offline  
Old 20 October 2018, 15:07   #202
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,679
I'd like one or three if available in Swedish/Finnish layout.

How is the profile compared to the original? Is it higher due to the extra size of the mechanical switches?
idrougge is offline  
Old 20 October 2018, 15:39   #203
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
I'd like one or three if available in Swedish/Finnish layout.

How is the profile compared to the original? Is it higher due to the extra size of the mechanical switches?
The A500 has already used a mechanical keyboard in some of the earlier models i believe (a HiTek one). the height is very similar


Quote:
Originally Posted by xraynorm View Post
Hi Kipper2k

Will the a1200 Cherry MX keyboards require the original metal frame from the old keyboard to sit in?
There is no frame required, the sandwiched plates provide a lot of strength
kipper2k is offline  
Old 20 October 2018, 17:25   #204
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 345
Kipper2K I want one too!! I have an A500. Please I want to order one for the A500 please......AND I WANT THE C= logo please that look like the one in the C64 please! I want a full keyboard replacement with the member, and the C= logo and OH ONE MORE THING....


If the PCB does not have kipper2k burned into the PCB I wish to cancel the order and ignore my post. I WANT THE KIPPER2K STICKER ON THE PCB...AND IF IT EXIST THERE THEN COUNT ME IN!

By the way...one more quest kipper2k

http://www.kipper2k.com/cherrymx/kb001.jpg

I couldn't help but notice the LEDs on the PCB on top. The power one is three tiny light greens ones and the disk drive is one light green on the left, on dark red on the middle and one dark green on the right. Can mine on the top be....one light red on the left, one dark red on the middle and one darkest possible red on the right but still red and the disk drive one is one light green on the left and on yellow on the middle and one bright orange on the right?

;D
xboxown is offline  
Old 20 October 2018, 18:01   #205
Crom
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: NJ USA
Posts: 33
Hi Kipper! great work count me in 2X a500 and 2X A1200 keyboards
Crom is offline  
Old 20 October 2018, 19:22   #206
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,749
Hi All,

Here is the link for preorders

http://amigaonthelake.com/blog/-preo...rom-kipper2k-/
kipper2k is offline  
Old 20 October 2018, 19:39   #207
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 45
Posts: 762
I'm interested in the pcb/membrane replacement for my A600.
What would be the estimated price for that board?
amiman99 is offline  
Old 20 October 2018, 19:43   #208
wizard66
FPGA Replay inside A590
wizard66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 52
Posts: 294
Nice job my A600 needs one
wizard66 is offline  
Old 20 October 2018, 19:58   #209
Mikerochip
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Ireland
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
Hi All,

Here is the link for preorders

http://amigaonthelake.com/blog/-preo...rom-kipper2k-/
A few questions on the keycaps:

Will they be single or doubleshot?
And, if single, are the keys going to be laser etched, printed (or similar) or stick on?

If doubleshot, will they be suitable for LED backlights?
Mikerochip is offline  
Old 20 October 2018, 20:33   #210
talybont
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 115
@kipper2k: is it possible to spin off a product that only replaces the controller board on faulty A500 keyboards?
talybont is offline  
Old 20 October 2018, 21:14   #211
Sim085
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lija
Posts: 463
Like all the others I believe first things first a big thanks to kipper2k are in order

I have a couple of questions mostly to understand better how to use (apart the obvious of putting it in case and type)

In one of the screenshots on your site I can see the keyboard attached to the A1200 with a ribbon but there is also what looks like a female USB port. For what is the female USB port used? For example to connect to a raspberry pi?

Are the A1200 and A500 boards the same apart from the additions for the A500 version? For example if I buy an A500 can I fit in an A1200? Same size, same key caps colours, etc?

Am I correct that Europeans are not to pre-order and wait until European stores are selected? Or still we should pre-order?
Sim085 is offline  
Old 20 October 2018, 22:39   #212
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sim085 View Post
Like all the others I believe first things first a big thanks to kipper2k are in order

I have a couple of questions mostly to understand better how to use (apart the obvious of putting it in case and type)

In one of the screenshots on your site I can see the keyboard attached to the A1200 with a ribbon but there is also what looks like a female USB port. For what is the female USB port used? For example to connect to a raspberry pi?

Are the A1200 and A500 boards the same apart from the additions for the A500 version? For example if I buy an A500 can I fit in an A1200? Same size, same key caps colours, etc?

Am I correct that Europeans are not to pre-order and wait until European stores are selected? Or still we should pre-order?
Hi
- Yes, you can connect to a Pi/arduino, (the A500MX is the only version capable of this)
-the A1200 does not need a controller chip on board hence the cheaper cost. you should be able to plug in an a500MX version into your a1200 using a PLCC type connection or if you have a Rev2b you can connect to that header

Everyone can/should preorder, doesnt matter where you are, ultimately you will pay the shipping costs
kipper2k is offline  
Old 20 October 2018, 23:49   #213
pgovotsos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: US
Posts: 221
@kipper2k what layout are the pre-orders for? US / NTSC or something else?
pgovotsos is offline  
Old 21 October 2018, 05:12   #214
lmimmfn
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Mullingar
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
Hi All,

Here is the link for preorders

http://amigaonthelake.com/blog/-preo...rom-kipper2k-/
I'm a little confused, it states keycaps are closest to original colours as possible and says to state in the notes your colour, but there is no notes?
I'm looking for black ones and if possible red for the other keys in terms of the original 2 tone, like the k70 asdf ones - https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego.../CH-9000069-NA

Is this possible, or even just black?

Sorry just to be clear, I'm not looking for the moon on a stick , black would be perfect if possible as I have a black case.

Last edited by lmimmfn; 21 October 2018 at 05:26.
lmimmfn is offline  
Old 21 October 2018, 07:43   #215
Mr. Toast
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Roseville, CA, USA
Posts: 13
Geezus. I fall asleep from Amiga for 24 years and wake up just in the perfect time - all this exciting new hardware, cases, fun DIY and community energy! Phenomenal work going on here.
Mr. Toast is offline  
Old 21 October 2018, 09:53   #216
mr_a500
Amiga-based Cyborg
mr_a500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 804
Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxown View Post
Kipper2K I want one too!! I have an A500. Please I want to order one for the A500 please......AND I WANT THE C= logo please that look like the one in the C64 please! I want a full keyboard replacement with the member, and the C= logo and OH ONE MORE THING....
Maybe you want the full C64 key set (SA Retro), complete with PETSCII:



These are Cherry MX keycaps.
mr_a500 is offline  
Old 21 October 2018, 11:52   #217
Sim085
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lija
Posts: 463
Thanks for your quick reply kipper2k.

I happen to have an A1200 Rev2b so that is great

So the controller chip which comes with the a500MX works with both the A500 and A1200 (rev2b) pins?

Also, can the a500mx be modified (after purchase) to use a ribbon like the a1200mx?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
Hi
- Yes, you can connect to a Pi/arduino, (the A500MX is the only version capable of this)
-the A1200 does not need a controller chip on board hence the cheaper cost. you should be able to plug in an a500MX version into your a1200 using a PLCC type connection or if you have a Rev2b you can connect to that header

Everyone can/should preorder, doesnt matter where you are, ultimately you will pay the shipping costs

Last edited by Sim085; 21 October 2018 at 14:22.
Sim085 is offline  
Old 21 October 2018, 17:28   #218
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 870
Since AotL states worldwide exclusive retailer, is a European dealer not coming anymore?

Too bad shipping and tax wise
spudje is offline  
Old 22 October 2018, 01:16   #219
oscillik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 25
Yeah, unfortunately if AotL is the only place available, it counts me out — import duties and postage costs to the UK will mean this will be outside of my reach
oscillik is offline  
Old 22 October 2018, 02:44   #220
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,749
k, guys. please read the thread, i have mentioned the fact that boards will be available in the UK, same as the cherry switches.

The keycaps are basically part of a group buy and AOTL can feed UK distributors which will keep the cost down so the prices will not be insane.

Remember, it doesn't matter where you buy them from, you will pay taxes, either in the form of duties or VAT. they will get you!

Last edited by kipper2k; 22 October 2018 at 02:50.
kipper2k is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (1 members and 2 guests)
_dante_
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about A600 keyboards! hansel75 support.Hardware 4 01 November 2012 08:25
A1200, A600, A500+ and A500 maddoc666 MarketPlace 1 22 May 2011 10:11
A600 motherboards, cases and keyboards Nostromo MarketPlace 4 18 November 2010 09:48
A500 or A600 or A1200? emuola New to Emulation or Amiga scene 58 24 April 2009 00:43
Pre loved A500/A1200 keyboards Brass MarketPlace 0 10 November 2006 22:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09228 seconds with 13 queries