English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 March 2007, 18:37   #1
Aljrob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 14
.info files

Not sure if this is the right forum for this question, but here goes:

It's been a loooooong time since my Amiga days, and I've forgotten a lot. I'm trying to organise my HD in WinUAE, but when I create a new drawer in Workbench, it doesn't seem to be creating a .info icon file.

1) How do I create these easily?

2) How can I easily organise icons in generel? Any tips / programs to try?

Thanks,

Aljrob
Aljrob is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 March 2007, 19:23   #2
UncleSpam
Registered User
UncleSpam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 151
Did you check the "Icons" option when you create a new drawer?

Regards,
Bogdan
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	new_drawer.png
Views:	201
Size:	11.3 KB
ID:	13374  

Last edited by UncleSpam; 10 March 2007 at 19:26. Reason: Add image
UncleSpam is offline  
Old 13 March 2007, 20:40   #3
Aljrob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 14
Oooo, not sure - I'm using WB 3.1 - is this checkbox in that OS version?
Aljrob is offline  
Old 13 March 2007, 21:35   #4
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aljrob
Oooo, not sure - I'm using WB 3.1 - is this checkbox in that OS version?
No, Thats not WB 3.1

The default requesters do not have that option.

To get the .info, you need to use the dropdown menu "New Folder", it will create a DEFAULT icon for you. If you do it through CLI, it will not.
whiteb is offline  
Old 14 March 2007, 12:38   #5
Aljrob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 14
Ok, I'll try that. With respect to my second question, is there a good icon management package that I can use to help me maintain my files? Features like copying icons to multiple target files / directories etc, adding default icons to non-iconed drawers etc?

I seem to remember something like this existing, but I've been away from the Amiga for too long...!
Aljrob is offline  
Old 14 March 2007, 15:42   #6
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,314
Use DoOpus.

The one in ClassicWB is set so if you select files you like to create default icons for just rightclick 'Icon Info' button.



That's the easies as far as I know.

Also there are other Icon tools in this WB package.
Anubis is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to create .info files jimbobrocks92 support.Other 2 31 December 2011 08:03
using .info files in toolmanager docks stefcep2 support.Other 2 12 June 2011 09:11
How to Create .info Files? AmigaFan support.Other 6 25 January 2009 20:18
info on creating info files icons ? Dimlow New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 16 July 2008 19:28
New here with a question about .info files jobro Amiga scene 14 24 November 2005 22:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18872 seconds with 13 queries