English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 July 2018, 11:52   #741
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,251
New Menu software released on saturday: http://wiki.icomp.de/wiki/ACA500plus...re#Menu_update

Robbie: No, the ACA2000 is not dead. However, I did a few changes on the ACA500plus design first, so I can keep on producing it: I had to change the LED display on the DisMo, as the small ones are not available any more, and I also made new PCB versions for different processors that I bought over the past few months (68HC000 and 68SEC000). As you may know, CPUs are harder and harder to find, but the good news is that the design of the ACA500plus works with pretty much any kind of 68000 variant. The functionality is identical to the version that is in the field already. There's still some work to do until the new production run of the ACA500plus can be considered "running", but with the work on the design, I also had a nice idea how everything can fit the A2000 without case modifications. This will require the second ("left") floppy drive to be removed.

Rockwater: If you plan to make such a case for the new version of the DisMo, you might want to make the position of the button configurable; it has moved to the far-left of the DisMo in order to make space for the new, bigger double-digit display.

The X-Surf-500 is also taking shape; the prototype arrived on the programmer's desk, and the hardware test routine works nicely. It will come with a TCP/IP stack included, and this will be embedded in the automatic installation procedure of the ACA500plus. Installing network will be as easy as installing the OS with the ACA500plus. Ideally, you don't even notice that you're online: If physical link works and getting an IP address through DHCP worked, no window will be opened. You're just online, and accesses to the bsdsocket.library will just work silently.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 July 2018, 17:10   #742
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 807
Nice! What stack will be included? Roadshow?
spudje is offline  
Old 02 July 2018, 20:09   #743
Rockwater
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Missoula, MT
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
Rockwater: If you plan to make such a case for the new version of the DisMo, you might want to make the position of the button configurable; it has moved to the far-left of the DisMo in order to make space for the new, bigger double-digit display.
Questions here since you've disabled PMs on this forum:

If you find the opportunity, could you throw down a metric ruler or grid next to the new dismo daughter board and post a photo so I can plan ahead for the new design?

And would it be possible to order one of the specific vga header cables you're supplying along with your Indivision boards? I'd like to see about planning for it to be in the case design if possible.

I still need to work out venting/cooling too, especially for the top end CPUs. When you indicate "active cooling" does that mean heatsink and fan, or would just a heatsink be sufficient if it were somehow exposed to the case surface? (I know, this might just be an educated guess.)
Rockwater is offline  
Old 02 July 2018, 22:06   #744
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,251
Rockwater,

case design for ventilation is an art in itself. You first need to make a choice about the direction that your air flows, and ideally, the funnel effect will help you move the air. Just adding vent holes may not be enough - you need to carefully place them, making sure that you don't add too many, as a venting hole "too much" (or in the wrong spot) may mean that you do get air flow inside your case, but it does not touch the heat-generating components.

I've had such a situation with a contractor before: My task was to find out why their device overheats if they *remove* a power-consuming add-in card from the case. I was hired to re-design their DC-DC converters, but ended up making a new ventilation concept. That's what happens if a software company starts making hardware :-)

Will publish dimensions of the new DisMo and X-Surf-500 in a few days.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 03 July 2018, 02:13   #745
alpine9000
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 575
What’s new in the menu update?
alpine9000 is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 09:52   #746
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by alpine9000 View Post
What’s new in the menu update?
Lots of stuff!


- added experimental support for Z2-expansions, fixes autoconfig chain if another Z2 card is installed. This is purely experimental and only in preparation of the ACA2000. It does NOT mean that we now support adding a Zorro card to your setup!

- Shift+F7 will now mount the install disks, but it will not launch the automatic installer and not boot from any of the disks. This is a convenience-function for those who want to copy a single file from one of the disks. THe function was previously there, but broke in a previous update.

- If there is not enough memory configured for the virtual OS floppy disks, they will not be mounted and a warning will be displayed. This function actually had a bug in V0.120, which was fixed yesterday night and now works properly in V0.122.

- If you launch automatic OS-install, the FAT-handler will not be activated, as it's not required anyway. Saves a bit of memory and speeds up things.

- Action Replay II/III is now partially 68020+ compatible: Freezing works, but most of the debugger-fuctions don't (like trace).

- If you are using a 68060 accelerator, a software emulation for MOVEP will be added very early in system startup. Action Replay III uses this instruction, but it may also make floppy-based software more compatible.

- 68060 was only recognized as "real" 060 if it was the full version (not EC or LC). Only the TAB-infoscreen showed the correct version of the CPU. Fixed.

- New F8 68020+ VBR Move option: NMI Protect. This one moves the VBR and directs all vectors back to the old values of VBR=0, only re-directs the NMI vector to the routines of the ACA500plus. Action Replay/HRTMon will now stay active if you boot from floppy and that software wipes all vectors as one of it's first init-actions. In 68000 mode, this function does nothing, which is OK, as the ACA500plus hardware will catch the NMI in hardware - AR/HRTmon will be active anyway.

- Some configs with A1200 Turbokarten were buggy in terms of "memory adding to the system". Fixed.

- Bugfix: It was not possible to re-enter HRTmon after a reset.

- Bugfix: Max Trapdoor memory config caused a crash with almost every ACA500plus-related software-patch, if there was no fastmem with higher priority enabled.

- MMU Libraries updated

- added new Fastmem options: 512k, 1M, 2M, 2M+2M und 4M (2M+2M and 4M are aligned to a fixed start-address and get smaller if Action Replay or HRTmon are activated)

- EEPROM can't be erased any more if a crashing software is accidentally executing ACA500plus ROM code. This fixes a bug that lead to overwriting the first saved profile.

That's it for 0.120 and the 0.122 hot-fix.However, there's still a few things on the Todo-list:

- Superfloppy Support for AUXPort and the file systems that the ACA500plus provides

- automatic installation of the TCP/IP Stack if the X-Surf-500 is present

- saving network-related settings in EEPROM (DHCP/static IP, nameserver(s), domain names, Samba-credentials or kind of a Master-password, so a stolen CF card (e.g. at a demoparty) will not reveal all your passwords of your home LAN.

We also have a nice-to-have-list (things that may or may not be added, depending on available time and personal drive of involved people):

- fix for wrong PAL/NTSC recognition under Kick 1.3. A ROM patch would be very intrusive, and we still lack a good idea of how to solve it more elegant.

- automatic checking and installing of updates if X-Surf-500 is present

Special thanks goes to Jasmin68k, who continuously made excellent bug reports (properly-described reproduction paths!), and also made a few feature requests that we were able to implement.

Jens


Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 19 July 2018, 21:49   #747
softiron
Registered User

softiron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Katowice / Poland
Posts: 16
What do I need to do to see my boot card under HDToolbox?
I can see AUX card but not boot card...
its a 16GB Sandisk.
softiron is offline  
Old 19 July 2018, 23:29   #748
E-Penguin
Banana

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
- added experimental support for Z2-expansions, fixes autoconfig chain if another Z2 card is installed. This is purely experimental and only in preparation of the ACA2000. It does NOT mean that we now support adding a Zorro card to your setup!
I'll give this a go with the z-500 Zorro-Adaptor & Matze graphics card and report back (next week). Unsupported though it may be...
E-Penguin is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aca500 cfaux elpiloto support.Hardware 0 30 December 2014 23:35
ACA500 in A2000 - possible or not? amigoun support.Hardware 3 21 November 2014 20:09
ACA500 slowdown DonutKing support.Hardware 0 15 April 2014 13:50
ACA500 install gurth support.Hardware 19 23 March 2014 23:16
ACA500 - Who Will Sell This? Smakar support.Hardware 6 01 March 2013 10:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07872 seconds with 14 queries