English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 June 2019, 00:48   #1
oggie
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Quispamsis
Posts: 46
play cd32 games on cd32 with sx-1 and games on cf card

So I have a cd32 with a non-working cd-rom drive that I don't know if I'll ever fix or get a replacement for.... But I do have an sx-1 expansion for it.

So I was wondering if it's possible to somehow add a compact flash to the sx-1, copy the cd32 games to it, and play the games from there with whdload or some other loader, and still have the buttons mapped correctly from the cd32 contoller?
oggie is offline  
Old 14 June 2019, 07:40   #2
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 596
Well... there are even games which have CD32 joypad support added thanks to WHDLoad. List is here.

But You must have at least mouse to run them. I suppose You have just joypad and no mouse or keyboard?
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 14 June 2019, 11:09   #3
Rochabian
The Big White Cat
Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 40
Posts: 495
With WHDLOAD setup, you will loose the audio tracks from the original CD32 games that have music playing from CD ( not so many). If you use a CD32 game installed with WHDLOAD, controls are the same on the CD32 pad. Perhaps you can copy an unnofficial CD32 compilation like AmigaJay 50 games on HDD or CF card and boot it directly from Hdd with good assign, so no need to have a mouse on the CD32 to play
Rochabian is offline  
Old 14 June 2019, 13:02   #4
oggie
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Quispamsis
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rochabian View Post
With WHDLOAD setup, you will loose the audio tracks from the original CD32 games that have music playing from CD ( not so many). If you use a CD32 game installed with WHDLOAD, controls are the same on the CD32 pad. Perhaps you can copy an unnofficial CD32 compilation like AmigaJay 50 games on HDD or CF card and boot it directly from Hdd with good assign, so no need to have a mouse on the CD32 to play
Ok. I was told by someone that the cd32 controller buttons are remapped to keyboard commands in whdload since it's assumed you're not using a cd32 to play them.
oggie is offline  
Old 14 June 2019, 19:52   #5
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 596
It depends on slave itself - some have joypad remapped to keyboard, some opposite. It's set with appropriate options, nothing is "assumed". Remember that You can use CD32 joypad with A1200.
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 14 June 2019, 22:37   #6
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,348
The latest JST can run WHDload games and has joypad=>keys remap.

https://jotd.pagesperso-orange.fr/amiga.html
Retro1234 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I play CD32 games (with audio) on my A1200 with a CDrom trydowave support.Hardware 48 17 October 2013 09:54
Can I play CD32 games on my 4000T? videofx support.Hardware 6 23 February 2013 21:00
Copy FDD amiga games to CD to play on CD32? esclipse Amiga scene 68 30 April 2008 15:56
Is it possible to play cd32 games on an a600? Smiley support.Hardware 21 15 March 2005 21:50
How to play CDTV/CD32 games on A1200 with CDrom ???? HiFiBeliver New to Emulation or Amiga scene 12 14 August 2002 16:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06208 seconds with 13 queries