English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 August 2006, 17:46   #1
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 43
Posts: 722
a1200 and direct SCSI

hi there,

i read somewhere that a1200 IDE controller supports scsi direct.

from the FFS 44.5 readme :
- supports HD_SCSICMD for non-TD64-aware devices, so almost
everyone with a working Direct SCSI interface can use hard
disks larger than 4 GB without any device update (which
may be impossible for older hardware).
ATTENTION:
Don't create partitions greater than 2GB(Dos Limitation)

it means that a1200 ide drives larger than 4Gb and smaller than 8Gb should be handled correctly by FFS 44.5 right ? without any NSD or IDEfix patch....can you please confirm that? i just want to be sure that i can use partitions over 4Gb safely...thx.
pbareges is offline  
Old 07 August 2006, 22:05   #2
pjhutch
Peter
pjhutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sowerby Bridge,UK
Age: 53
Posts: 95
Smile Filesystems

FFS with Amiga 3.5 or later supports larger hard disks. The built in scsi.device does require patching using setpatch to support the larger disks.
Alternative file systems such as PFS and SFS have large disk support including direct SCSI.

http://www.xs4all.nl/~hjohn/SFS/

http://www.angelfire.com/amiga/greed/
pjhutch is offline  
Old 08 August 2006, 02:25   #3
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 43
Posts: 722
but from the ffs 4.5 readme file os3.0, a1200 (implying direct scsi) and ffs44.5 should be enough right?
pbareges is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PFS3 or PFS3 SCSI Direct xalakibaniou project.ClassicWB 105 27 July 2013 22:08
SCSI Direct Sample Code Vot Coders. C/C++ 2 04 July 2013 04:38
A1200 Scsi - setting up. asm1 support.Hardware 7 03 December 2009 11:08
Swap: A1200 040 PPC w/o SCSI for A1200 060 PPC w/o SCSI crispywotsits Swapshop 1 23 February 2009 15:20
Anybody need an a1200 with ramcard, scsi etc? ElectroBlaster MarketPlace 0 31 October 2003 00:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06374 seconds with 13 queries