English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 August 2019, 15:17   #1
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,175
Diablo Porting On WinUAE

Hi Toni I'm testing Devilution X (porting Diablo) on WinUAE finding some oddities maybe because of the porting still not perfect.

I noticed that it only works with WinUAE v3.6.1 and WinUAE v4.0.0 but it happens that without changing anything then no longer works even on these versions, then maybe I try again later and it works again.

The Devilution X 040/060 are the versions that work, 060 only on WinUAE v3.6.1

Functional version The Devilution Build #256 (27-ago-2019 13.58.40)
(Next version 29-8-2019 generates RAM error)


Attached Log and Config UAE of WinUAE 4.2.0

Porting Devilution X:
https://jenkins.amigadev.com/job/Dev...nX/job/master/


Working Video Test: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Jq...eJotZaqgpF3pJ9

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 07 September 2019 at 22:39.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 31 August 2019, 09:55   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,120
Hmm.. Too many unknown variables.

Did you make sure AmigaOS stack is large enough?
Did you really only change CPU model and everything else was 100% identical?

Your log shows weird file errors..

H=FFFFFFFF TYPE=ffffffff ERR=00000002 'C:\Users\Win7\Desktop\Share\Diablo\data\Diablo1RestrictedTest.foo'
FILESYS: 'data\Diablo1RestrictedTest.foo' illegal filename

2 = ERROR_FILE_NOT_FOUND. I have no idea what is going on here.. (I don't see any illegal win32 paths or characters, unless there is also _UAEFSDB.___ with mismatched contents)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 31 August 2019, 10:03   #3
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,175
Tones on the systems I use the Stack is automatic, then as I said many wanted everything works perfectly.

Then I try the same configuration the same files, almost all "identical" and the game no longer starts and generates those errors.

.foo files do not exist are created by WinUAE, even Diablo.ini is generated at each launch.

In some cases I can make the game work by deleting these files created and resetting WinUAE (reset to default and Clear Disk History)

I Diablo only works on one of the many systems I have and I don't understand why, i have and only with WinUAE 3.6.1 and WinUAE 4.0.0
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 31 August 2019, 10:25   #4
Aladin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: France
Posts: 309
https://www.ppa.pl/forum/strefa-gier...ier/93#m658840

I think we have to wait a bit to have a functional version
Aladin is offline  
Old 31 August 2019, 11:08   #5
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,175
Yes, but it worked for me even if sometimes it doesn't work anymore.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Jqs...aqgpF3pJ9/view
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 31 August 2019, 11:44   #6
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,175
Toni, if it can help I enclose "log and config" of Diablo that works well

I found that WinUAE 3.6.0 works best

Now when with WinUAE 3.6.0 the files "Diablo1ReadOnlyTest.foo" and "Diablo1RestrictedTest.foo" are created in the folder "Data" and not in the folder "Diablo" where the engine resides.

In addition, other files are generated in the "Data" folder named "dumphist.txt".

I enclose logs, configs and files generated by WinUAE

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 07 September 2019 at 22:40.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 31 August 2019, 11:47   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,120
You should know that I don't care about old versions. And this is almost certainly application bug (some buffer overflow, too long file path, stack overflow, note that automatic stack checks can miss some situations etc..)

EDIT: Better use usual debugging tools (MMU + enforcer and mungwall etc and contact the author if you notice something interesting)

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 31 August 2019 at 11:57.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 31 August 2019, 11:56   #8
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,175
Ok Toni, what you say is right, the engine is not very compatible with Amiga Standard systems and thanks for confirming it, the stack however I had set it in the icon and the results are always the same, it only works with particular version WinUAE and particular OS.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 31 August 2019, 12:28   #9
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 549
Yes, auto builds are not working atm.

Try this instead http://netsurf.baderman.net/devilutionx-68040-hf-O3
arti is offline  
Old 31 August 2019, 12:36   #10
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,175
Okay, this one works with all my OSs and with WinUAE 4.2.0.

You could have released it before you would have gotten me a lot of tests , if you like Diablo's Dual-PNG Icons, i can attach them here
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 31 August 2019, 13:27   #11
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 962
@Arti
thanks, now Diablo run with music and sound with every AmigaOS version and latest WinUAE version.
Seiya is offline  
Old 31 August 2019, 22:36   #12
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,175
Ok I confirm that this version released by Arti works perfectly on OS and all versions of WinUAE.
I enclose videos where Diablo runs on AfA One, present in the game animations, sounds and speech.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1vA...3WyaRRmLwM8z2j
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cuddly Diablo 3 thread gimbal OT - Gaming 12 08 January 2016 08:44
Diablo 1 like game for Amiga? diablothe2nd Amiga scene 6 24 May 2014 23:51
OT: X-Box and Diablo x lucadip Retrogaming General Discussion 28 18 September 2008 19:15
Diablo III Shoonay Retrogaming General Discussion 60 16 September 2008 03:39
REQ : Diablo (Bomico) ! RetroMan request.Old Rare Games 11 23 May 2002 01:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07766 seconds with 15 queries