English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 June 2019, 00:50   #1
Sgt Jack V
Registered User
Sgt Jack V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 25
Lightbulb Good suggestion: Separate controller configurations

First, should this go here? If this is the wrong forum, please move it to the appropriate one.


Anyways, let's say I wanted to play Turrican in FS-UAE. I use a PS4 controller, a Bluetooth dongle and DS4Windows. I set the controller mapping to this:

Once I'm done with Turrican, I go to play Zool (the CD32 version) next. However, the configuration I used for Turrican is not ideal for Zool. Using reference images, I have to change it to this:


While it seems simple on paper, it's a bit tedious in practice. So I propose a more efficient solution: A menu, be it drop-down or an inner window, containing separate configurations. Below is a mockup of what I mean:


Honestly, I think this would work very well.
Sgt Jack V is offline  
Old 08 June 2019, 13:42   #2
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 3,548
Yes, I understand what you want to do, but no, I don't intend to solve it like this!

The point of that configuration dialog is to let FS-UAE/Launcher know how the physical layout of your device is, and only that. So that should never change.

Instead, if I want to create a function where you can add game or platform-specific configurations (like you want to do here), there would be a separate configuration dialog where you map the logical buttons (e.g. "south_button") to emulation button (e.g. "fire" or "blue", etc).

The advantage of doing it this way is that - say that you want to change to an 8Bitdo controller - the game-specific changes would still remain the same, even if you have created dozens or hundreds of different configurations. The only thing you would need to do is to use the (currently existing) mapping tool to let FS-UAE/Launcher know the button numbers of the Xbox Controller. And actually, you would probably not need to do even that, since the Launcher already comes with a layout mapping for many popular controller
FrodeSolheim is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Separate controller configs for different games/configs using the same controller Sgt Jack V request.UAE Wishlist 2 03 February 2018 15:09
Separate controller setups for seperate games and configurations? Sgt Jack V support.FS-UAE 0 23 November 2017 16:41
How to assign two separate game directories amigappc project.ClassicWB 2 24 December 2015 14:49
Separate PPC mritter0 support.WinUAE 8 18 September 2014 00:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.05911 seconds with 15 queries