English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 November 2019, 01:54   #1
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,990
Multiple Amiga's in one case

Hello all!

Just a thought, may be someone has already done this, but has anyone tried to combine several Amiga's into one base unit/case/custom 3D printed thingy etc?

The idea I have is having a tier system in order of how they would be 'stacked':

A3000
A1200
A600
A500

Would this be possible utilising a form of 'KVM' to enable one set of keyboard/mouse to control all of these machines and a selector switch to choose which Amiga to boot? The PSU may require some work, but effectively using a modern PSU to connect the relevant voltages individually to the Amiga's (in parallel so they all have their 'own circuit' so that one PSU can potentially be used to power any of them).

This may be just be wishful thinking, but I like to think of it as how Amstrad Mega PC combined a PC and Mega Drive in one unit.

Your thoughts welcome, and pictures too if you have already embarked on achieving this!

Lesta_SMSC
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 09 November 2019, 10:14   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,450
3d printing probably can be used for some small parts, but the case itself would have to be totally custom.

A mechanical KVM can easily switch between all of these. One of those four printers in one things with custom cables could be a reasonable choice if you use 15kHz video.

What would you do with such a computer though? The A3000 is already in a nice stackable case. The wedge machines could be recased into some rack cases or something like that.
Jope is offline  
Old 09 November 2019, 10:21   #3
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,477
It’s not several amigas in one case... but with a bridge board you can have an Amiga and a pc in one case, and with shapeshifter a mac too.

This is what I do with my 3000.

But I’m not sure I see the point in more than one Amiga in a single case. What would you do with them at the same time?
trixster is offline  
Old 09 November 2019, 12:05   #4
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
Hello all!

Just a thought, may be someone has already done this, but has anyone tried to combine several Amiga's into one base unit/case/custom 3D printed thingy etc?

The idea I have is having a tier system in order of how they would be 'stacked':

A3000
A1200
A600
A500

Would this be possible utilising a form of 'KVM' to enable one set of keyboard/mouse to control all of these machines and a selector switch to choose which Amiga to boot? The PSU may require some work, but effectively using a modern PSU to connect the relevant voltages individually to the Amiga's (in parallel so they all have their 'own circuit' so that one PSU can potentially be used to power any of them).

This may be just be wishful thinking, but I like to think of it as how Amstrad Mega PC combined a PC and Mega Drive in one unit.

Your thoughts welcome, and pictures too if you have already embarked on achieving this!

Lesta_SMSC
Actually A1200 with CPU card and FastRAM alone is enough, for what reason You need multiple mainboards?

Eventually for some compatibility issues A500, but what gives You rest? With proper A1200 configuration (with HDD) it will ends earlier or later with using only A1200 config.

Last edited by Solo Kazuki; 09 November 2019 at 12:11.
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 09 November 2019, 14:55   #5
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 41
Posts: 5,521
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
Yes, I have solved that. It is named : WinUAE.
Predseda is offline  
Old 09 November 2019, 15:51   #6
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,990
In terms of why have lots of Amigas. I would prefer the original hardware not having to play via compatibility of patches. Hence WinUAE akin to having RetroPi, not for this project lol.

It's just a thought and yes it would be machines out of their original cases rather than stacking each one. Hence, motherboard stacking.

It's just an idea...
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 10 November 2019, 02:32   #7
voyager_1701e
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Maitland / AUSTRALIA
Posts: 187
I was intending to try stuff an A500 and an A1222 together into the new Checkmate case. Seeing the A1222 is a unicorn, it'll just be a pipe dream

But multiple Amiga's in one case is a cool idea. And some ask why.....because you can (try)

If you manage any example make sure you show us...good luck!
voyager_1701e is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga and multiple IRQs at the same time. ross Coders. Asm / Hardware 14 15 May 2019 18:31
Want to use multiple drives in amiga 1200 Mstone support.Hardware 22 18 October 2018 06:33
Running multiple drives/Devices on 44-Pin IDE - Amiga 1200 antiriad76 support.Hardware 8 28 December 2017 01:58
Multiple HDD/CF in Amiga 1200 BanisterDK support.Hardware 7 11 February 2017 15:53
AMIGA CASE : New computer case for classic Amiga 1200, Thin Mini-ITX and Raspberry PI Schuimpy Amiga scene 141 13 June 2016 13:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06534 seconds with 15 queries