English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 July 2016, 22:05   #141
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 702
Does anyone know where I can download that black cat theme (wallpaper) used in AKreal8?
trydowave is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 July 2016, 23:53   #142
seb132
Happy Life
seb132's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 197
Send a message via MSN to seb132 Send a message via Yahoo to seb132 Send a message via Skype™ to seb132
I suppose inside the free distribution of AKreal8...
seb132 is offline  
Old 10 July 2016, 00:28   #143
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 37
Posts: 606
I guess he's too lazy to install it just for the wallpaper.
Michael Sykes is online now  
Old 10 July 2016, 14:23   #144
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by trydowave View Post
does anyone know where i can download that black cat theme (wallpaper) used in akreal8?
dont know if this the one you mean or the actual AKR cat logo but here is the Black cat in AKR 8.6 in Amikt/Prefs/presets/ Backgrounds/ folder

Click image for larger version

Name:	Cateyes.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	204.6 KB
ID:	49095

Last edited by supaduper; 10 July 2016 at 14:36.
supaduper is offline  
Old 10 July 2016, 14:30   #145
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,121
Yes, in the current version of AmiKit it seems to be no more, you can find the Black Cat in Real AmiKit, see the path in the screenshot attached:

@
supaduper

Your image of black cat is not quality!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Black Cat.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	219.5 KB
ID:	49098  

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 10 July 2016 at 14:37.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 10 July 2016, 15:09   #146
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 37
Posts: 606
Naaa...
I guess that one has much better quality.^^
http://www.tapetus.pl/obrazki/n/7604...k-kot-oczy.jpg
Michael Sykes is online now  
Old 12 July 2016, 13:05   #147
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 702
i can find black cat online, but when i use it as a background on my A600 it crashes. Even if its saved as an iff.
trydowave is offline  
Old 13 July 2016, 03:02   #148
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,241
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Try converting it to 24 bit instead of 32.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 13 July 2016, 13:28   #149
voxel
Amiga Nuts!
voxel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Le Mayet d'Ecole, 03800, FRANCE
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
I'm sorry but I've got to update my latest answer. Unfortunately I only have now my laptop and it gets very hot while compressing a lzx under WinUAE, so it just shuts down.
seems your laptop is stuffed with dust, if you open it near the main fan exaust holes it should be there a big pile of dust closing the hot air way to out (between the end of the pipes coming from the cpu heatsink and the output... usually there is a black plastic sticked on the two part to joint it, the dust is there, you will have to disconnect the fan from the mobo and unscrew it to reach that,) clean all parts and your machine should not get too hot ^^)
25
voxel is offline  
Old 16 July 2016, 02:51   #150
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,241
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
For what I've seen HP laptops are designed to get hot. Acer laptops don't. I don't have more laptops to talk about.

(I've got to say that I've received for free an old ACER one).

Also it would be very easy to get access to the fan or to the processor in my Acer laptop, but it is very, very hard to make the same in my HP ones (I've got two).

And offtopic: There is a problem with MorpheuZ in the last update, but as nobody complains, I have no hurry to fix it (I've got it fixed). Anyway it isn't so important by now.

I'm also now a bit out of the scene, sorry to say. That's what happens without enough input, positive feedback .

.
.
.


Edit (August, 15): I'm actually making a Full Install for AKReal 8.7. I'm trying to use original AmiKit icons, as a large amount of them were changed to the 3.5 format with the updates and so (to use and snapshot the original icons you only can use AfAOS that wasn't implemented at the beginning). The original format is very nice (you better use RTG), but if you want to have lighter and faster icons you can always use "Icons to 3.5 format" in Tools.

The 8.7 update will add by now some improvements and a fix in MorpheuZ, a new wallpaper, a new streaming radio and a new and easy option to use ScummVM AGA in a real Amiga when booting just pressing the right button of the mice.

I will see what else

Last edited by Retrofan; 18 August 2016 at 23:53.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 10 October 2016, 21:07   #151
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,241
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
AKReal 8.7 Update and FULL install Released

We are happy to announce the release of the new update of AKReal – the unofficial conversion of AmiKit for real Amiga machines-. Now you also have a Full installation available for AKReal 8.7.

The on-line update is delivered to your AKReal installation via its Live Update feature. Simply boot your AKReal and the new update will be found automatically. Just confirm and install.

Full installation archive is available for free from http://real.amiga.sk/

WHAT'S NEW ON AKREAL 8.7?

AKReal 8.7 by Retrofan (October - 2016).
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

- ADDED: GetMouseInput v1.4 by Tim Jackson. Now pressing the right button of the mice while booting starts ScummVM AGA.
- ADDED: "wp_beach" and "WorkingC64C" wallpapers.
- ADDED: "Nostalgia" radio streaming and also to the menus.
- ADDED: New option to the "Better Config" program with a new "AKReal 1024" RTG AfAOS setup.
- ADDED: New gif image from Miikka Lehto for ReqAttack.
- FIXED: MorpheuZ script.
- FIXED: Simon the Soccerer in ScummVM AGA menu had a bad path.
- UPDATED: Icon.library 46.4.436 by Peter Keunecke.
- UPDATED: NetSurf AGA 3.6 Dev. NetSurf AGA no fpu is now used as the main one from the docks.
- UPDATED: Docks.
- UPDATED: AmigaJournal 0.9716 Beta by Richard H. Poser II.
- CHANGED: MUI 5.0 2016R2 instead of MUI 4.
- CHANGED: FullPalette Prefs by PeterK, June 2016.
- CHANGED: SongPlayer MUI preferences.
- CHANGED: MorpheuZ script. New "Better Config" option, better amount of colors in AmiModRadio and
new Songplayer option so you can select among several skins with MUI 5.
- CHANGED: "Random Skin" for AmiModRadio when using 64 or 128 colors.
- CHANGED: AmiStart in the WBStartup now is a script. It will detect if you are using or not AfA to change.
- CHANGED: MacLikeDock script from the WBStartup.
- CHANGED: Images in the Workbench2000 docks to look right from 16 colors.
- CHANGED: Startup-Sequence
- DELETED: "Beatles" radio Stream icon-script. No longer available.
- DELETED: WBPattern prefs option in Start Menus.
- DELETED: Startup-Sequence.SAFEMODE

And some other minor changes to make it all working perfect.

The Full install is the best option just because it will use the original AmiKit icons and all of them will be in the right places.

The icons packs have also been updated: The Mattahan's icons and the 16 Colors Ken's Icons if you need faster icons.

Remember to use a booting partition with enough room. By now at least 1GB for a Full Install and a bit more for the update, so you better make it larger for future updates.

These are two screenshots using WinUAE and the "Better Config" option now included in MorpheuZ showing a new setup: "AKReal1024". On WinUAE you can boot AKReal using a Display 800x600, add the Picasso rom to WinUAE and a Picasso IV Zorro III as RTG board. Then opening MorpheuZ and selecting to use Better Config you don't have to change the display from 800x600, but you'll get an AKReal like this:





And this is a video I made a week ago about the WIP:

[ Show youtube player ]

Many thanks to Tim Jackson for GetMouseInput, Thore Böckelmann for his MUI5 development, fixings and help with many questions, to PeterK also helping a lot, James Stalham that always helps with something and also to Thomas Rapp just for standing so many questions.

Have Fun !!


AKReal is free, but you can contribute with whatever amount you feel it is worth.
http://real.amiga.sk/donations.htm

Last edited by Retrofan; 11 October 2016 at 01:47.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 10 October 2016, 23:12   #152
apex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 248
great work, just promoted it on a1k again.
apex is offline  
Old 10 October 2016, 23:47   #153
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,241
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by apex View Post
great work, just promoted it on a1k again.
Many thanks. I don't speak german, so I rarely enter there, but I know for sure that there is really interest on this in Germany, just for the amount of visits to the site.

That's why now I also attach a video. It won't be the best video, but it shows you that this isn't only -at all- for a real Amiga with few colors. That was years ago, now it is a distro that allows you on WinUAE with MorpheuZ and then selecting "Better Config" to switch for example to AfAOS in seconds and then you can return again with Better Config to an AGA or RTG setup.

Better Config isn't thought -at all- to be used in a real Amiga as it changes a lot of configurations: RTG or AfA or SuperPlus... So you better use it on WinUAE just like I make in the video. MorpheuZ will tell you about that as you can see.

Last edited by Retrofan; 11 October 2016 at 00:24.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 11 October 2016, 00:05   #154
apex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 248
Posted also the link to the video, maybe this will solve some questions on user side.
apex is offline  
Old 11 October 2016, 00:55   #155
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,121
Good job Retrofan, did the review on Italian Amiga sites.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 11 October 2016, 00:57   #156
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by apex View Post
Posted also the link to the video, maybe this will solve some questions on user side.
If not enough there would also be one of my videos made some time ago

[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 11 October 2016, 01:02   #157
apex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 248
Also posted. It would be great if more users would use it instead of asking stupi questions what they should install.
apex is offline  
Old 11 October 2016, 22:11   #158
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,241
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Many thanks.

I would like to talk about the icons packs. They have changed a bit the installer. Now it will check for the main programs that you have in the WBStartup, it will move them, change the icons and then it will move them again to where they were.

That way you can use for example "Better Config" that uses (moves) different programs in the WBStartup and even then now you are able to install the icons packs.

But if you have already installed new programs (external programs) to your WBStartup, it will Delete them. It is advised very clearly when you are going to install them.

So, if you've installed another program to your WBStartup, make a bakup of it before installing any of the icons packs.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 13 October 2016, 23:15   #159
Exit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland/The netherlands
Age: 42
Posts: 139
@Retrofan, this looks real nice, but what are the specs for it to run a bit fast? i have a blizzard 1230 IV is that fast enough?
Exit is offline  
Old 13 October 2016, 23:23   #160
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,241
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Yes. Use 16 colors only and you better install also from the site the 16CKen's icons pack. You can also switch to Workbench instead of DOpus5 using MorpheuZ, or you also can use Copper instead of images (with MorpheuZ too) to make it faster.
Retrofan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AmiKit Real Support Thread Retrofan support.Other 672 25 November 2016 12:29
AmigaSYS 4 AGA - for real Amiga 1200/4000 computers is now released! Dary News 66 21 November 2009 08:13
AmiKit 1.5.0 released! Codename: Chat Noir ma693541 News 1 08 September 2008 16:26
amikit on a real classic amiga rigardie_gr Amiga scene 10 28 January 2007 21:03
AmiKit has been released! glwxxx News 82 02 May 2006 19:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24817 seconds with 15 queries