English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 August 2010, 02:45   #1
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
WinUAE wont allow some HardDisks as Read/Write: Why?

Hello there my fellow forum chummies,


Now normally I dont have any problems with WinUAE its pretty much awesome in my most humble of opinions, but I have this problem that I am hoping you can help me with.

I have on numerious occasions prepped up Harddisks for the Amiga using WinUAE and my USB external IDE adapter.

This has served me well and I am pleased with its performance, however I am having some problems when adding a Samsung 2.5" 40GB HDD and a Hitachi 20GB 2.5" HDD to WinUAE.

basically it WONT let me make tick the read/write box, hence although the OS under WinUAE can see the drive etc, it wont save anything like changes / partitions to it.

As always do I prepared the disk in windows using diskpart

cleaned the disk
created a primary partition
assigned a drive mount letter

very simple stuff to be honest, from here I do a quick format and then I start up WinUAE like so

"c:\program files\winuae\winuae.exe -disableharddrivesafetycheck"

I have used this line so many times I have a batch process so the moment I open a CON window I type "uae-nosafe" and it does the above - infact this works fine a few seconds ago with a Hitachi 20GB HDD and I was able to select the disk as readable/writeable.

So why cannot I not select this option with either the 40GB Samsung unit or the 20GB IBM/Hitachi Harddisks?

Both these drives work perfectly fine in the PC, these have been checked out with drive tools to be "A OK"

So what am I missing here?


Using XPSP3 & WinUAE 2.2.0
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 03 August 2010, 08:17   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
created a primary partition
assigned a drive mount letter
Don't do this. Drive must be completely empty.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 03 August 2010, 15:44   #3
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
@Toni

my sincere thanks - that solved the problem =)

1. opened CON
2. ran diskpart
3. slected the disk
4. cleaned
5. exit
6. fired up winuae "-disableharddrivesafetycheck"

its not copying data accross =D (very pleased)


Now, can I ask as to why some disks require just to be cleaned (empty) to work where other drives can have partitions on them?

cheers =)
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 03 August 2010, 17:06   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,047
-disableharddrivesafetycheck does nothing in recent versions. Previously it did override "non-FAT PC partitions still detected, do not mount as read/write" safety setting but not anymore.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 03 August 2010, 19:22   #5
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
@Toni

my thanks again for the explination.
Zetr0 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
read/write error? backtoskooldaze support.Hardware 3 07 September 2011 15:22
read/write Cd error help amigang support.WinUAE 1 30 July 2010 22:57
read but wont write Dave_wb support.Hardware 0 09 December 2006 14:04
Read/Write error? one1 support.Games 8 04 June 2003 23:23
CD Read Write Errors Stom support.WinUAE 2 07 June 2002 18:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07119 seconds with 13 queries